SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5714 

11 more reviews
Viewed 503 times 
Reviewed by:Em's Summer
photo

 
 
About Em's Summerstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 2/16/06
Reviews written: 188
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 187
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/09 7:31 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireF in CA said...
Great review and beautiful jacket! I have this pattern in stash and it's been calling to me! Thanks for much for the tips on your design changes!
10/22/09 3:38 PM
Heatherrique said...
Two lovely jackets, Em! Thanks for the tips.
10/6/09 12:37 PM
Clareew said...
I have this pattern but had not made it up because I was worried about the gathers. What a great adaptation you made. You have inspired me.
10/6/09 3:52 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Both are super cute!
10/5/09 11:53 PM
MaryDB said...
Really turned out great. I never would have picked that pattern for knits - it's perfect!
10/5/09 10:57 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great jackets!! I think you really adapted this basic pattern nicely!!
10/5/09 10:09 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking jackets. I love the shaping you added.
10/5/09 8:09 PM
Nata said...
Love both of the jackets. They look comfortable but not too casual
10/5/09 3:45 PM
marec said...
Great review-thanks so much for all the deatil on what you did to get such wonderful results with these 2 jackets. I love both and am especially drawn to the deep purple one. Really, really nice work.
10/5/09 11:25 AM
RLL said...
I like that you used a med. weight knit and not fleece as shown on the envelope pics. Much nicer end result.
10/5/09 11:12 AM
frame said...
Your jackets look great. Great tips and ideas. Thanks.
10/5/09 10:49 AM
RachelEsq said...
Wow, these are really, really great jackets. They look so RTW. I want them!
10/5/09 10:45 AM
lizagm said...
Awesome review! This is a pattern I would have passed up, because I have a pear shaped figure, and I also don't look great in jackets with these type of gathers, but with your changes I LOVE it. I may have to try this one out! great job
10/5/09 9:54 AM
Sallygirl said...
Very nice, Em! Love the asymmetrical collar to this jacket.
10/5/09 9:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Butterick 5749

photo
by: Naehfreund...

Review
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Buy Now