SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8605 (Misses' Jacket, Skirt, Pants)

8 more reviews
Viewed 727 times 
Reviewed by:ITAdmin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ITAdminstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 103
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/09 2:40 PM
Last Updated:10/26/09 12:03 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
Those are sleek looking pants, IT! I like that it accentuates your long legs. The width of the pants are wonderful: not too narrow nor wide, just right. I hope you continue to use this pattern and make it your TNT. Good pants patterns are hard to come by.
10/26/09 8:45 PM
marec said...
I really like those pants with the front seam. They look sharp with the vest and tee.
10/26/09 8:11 PM
lmg said...
I totally disregarded the pants on this pattern since the jacket would not be good for me. A really cool pattern and the width of the pants are perfect. BTW if you have any other symptoms (nausea, fatigue, rash etc) with unexplained weight loss get it checked out with your doc.
10/26/09 12:49 PM
Terri K said...
Thank you for the review. I also bought this pattern, but only for the jacket for some novelty fleece in the stash. I appreciate the information on the sizing.
10/8/09 10:59 PM
moushka said...
The idea of the close-fitting bottoms and loose tops is just a reflection of current fashion thinking which dictates large volume over skinny, or vice versa, not all pieces either tight or loose. Whether it works on anyone but stick thin models is questionable! Great review of a very interesting pattern. I think the jacket has some good possibilities, too.
9/27/09 12:55 PM
Patti B said...
I can see why you were drawn to the skirt and pants patterns -- very nice. The jacket styling is a challenge; would it be better in a lightweight linen? Helpful review.
9/27/09 8:11 AM
Annette1 said...
Great review, as always! It sounds to me like a person would have to buy this one in TWO sizes, but it may well be worth it for those pants/skirt with the nice seaming. Even your "oversized" jacket looks very nice and has some interesting details.
9/27/09 0:07 AM
carolynw said...
Thanks for such a great review - you do have to wonder why the pants and skirt would be such a snug fit and the jacket so over-sized. Great thinking on Vogue's part as we will all likely need both size range - as said - great review and if I do get this pattern will certainly refer to it
9/26/09 4:21 PM
EleanorSews said...
Thank you for such a thorough review. You sure addressed a lot of issues with this pattern. Also, it's a pattern I have somehow missed but the styling of the pants and skirt are quite interesting. My guess is that if you wanted to make this as a mini wardrobe, many of us would want both sizes. Now, when is the next Vogue pattern sale at JoAnns?
9/26/09 3:32 PM
Athene said...
Thank you for the review. I have been interested in this pattern. I do like the jacket, but its frustrating when there is so much difference between the various garments in sizing - I guess its one way Vogue gets us to buy 2 patterns instead of one.
9/26/09 3:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1257

photo
by: mesewlot

Review
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

More Info
Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

More Info