Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8605 (Misses' Jacket, Skirt, Pants) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 723 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:ITAdmin
photo
Friend of PR
About ITAdminstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/09 2:40 PM
Last Updated:10/26/09 12:03 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
Thank you for the review. I have been interested in this pattern. I do like the jacket, but its frustrating when there is so much difference between the various garments in sizing - I guess its one way Vogue gets us to buy 2 patterns instead of one.
9/26/09 3:18 PM
EleanorSews said...
Thank you for such a thorough review. You sure addressed a lot of issues with this pattern. Also, it's a pattern I have somehow missed but the styling of the pants and skirt are quite interesting. My guess is that if you wanted to make this as a mini wardrobe, many of us would want both sizes. Now, when is the next Vogue pattern sale at JoAnns?
9/26/09 3:32 PM
carolynw said...
Thanks for such a great review - you do have to wonder why the pants and skirt would be such a snug fit and the jacket so over-sized. Great thinking on Vogue's part as we will all likely need both size range - as said - great review and if I do get this pattern will certainly refer to it
9/26/09 4:21 PM
Annette1 said...
Great review, as always! It sounds to me like a person would have to buy this one in TWO sizes, but it may well be worth it for those pants/skirt with the nice seaming. Even your "oversized" jacket looks very nice and has some interesting details.
9/27/09 0:07 AM
Patti B said...
I can see why you were drawn to the skirt and pants patterns -- very nice. The jacket styling is a challenge; would it be better in a lightweight linen? Helpful review.
9/27/09 8:11 AM
moushka said...
The idea of the close-fitting bottoms and loose tops is just a reflection of current fashion thinking which dictates large volume over skinny, or vice versa, not all pieces either tight or loose. Whether it works on anyone but stick thin models is questionable! Great review of a very interesting pattern. I think the jacket has some good possibilities, too.
9/27/09 12:55 PM
Terri K said...
Thank you for the review. I also bought this pattern, but only for the jacket for some novelty fleece in the stash. I appreciate the information on the sizing.
10/8/09 10:59 PM
lmg said...
I totally disregarded the pants on this pattern since the jacket would not be good for me. A really cool pattern and the width of the pants are perfect. BTW if you have any other symptoms (nausea, fatigue, rash etc) with unexplained weight loss get it checked out with your doc.
10/26/09 12:49 PM
marec said...
I really like those pants with the front seam. They look sharp with the vest and tee.
10/26/09 8:11 PM
Heatherrique said...
Those are sleek looking pants, IT! I like that it accentuates your long legs. The width of the pants are wonderful: not too narrow nor wide, just right. I hope you continue to use this pattern and make it your TNT. Good pants patterns are hard to come by.
10/26/09 8:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8317
photo
Review by otterine on 2/28/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-109 Striped blouse
photo
Review by Ghainskom on 6/25/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size )
Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us