SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-127 (Petite cropped skinny pants)

3 more reviews
Viewed 619 times 
Reviewed by:Catbird
photo

 
 
About Catbirdstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/09 4:59 PM
Last Updated:9/26/09 5:05 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sew obsessed said...
Great jeans! Your workmanship is stellar!
9/26/09 5:14 PM
blessedtosew said...
Those are great!!!
9/26/09 5:16 PM
Twinset said...
Very nicely executed! Too bad you are not in love with them, but thanks for a very informative review!
9/26/09 6:04 PM
Christas said...
Janie, thanks for the wonderful and thorough review. Personally I think we all are our worst critics. These are WONDERFUL and no pair of RTW would ever look as perfect (or even come close to as nice as these are). Your sewing is absolutely FLAWLESS!
9/26/09 6:07 PM
Kay Y said...
I agree with Christa - these look fabulous! Your topstitching and finishing, especially the rivets, really make these pop!
9/26/09 7:12 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great job and they look great.
9/26/09 7:23 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
These jeans are so CUTE!! They fit BEAUTIFULLY!!!! Everything about these jeans is PERFECT!!! LOVE the rivets!!
9/26/09 7:50 PM
RLL said...
Gosh, my first response was 'why is someone reviewing a pair of RTW jeans?'. Wow you are good! Sorry you don't love them cause they sure look great.
9/26/09 7:58 PM
21wale said...
Wow, I'm impressed. They may not be tight, but they look great.
9/26/09 8:39 PM
Mufffet said...
These look absolutely great!
9/26/09 8:42 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Fabulous jeans!! :) If I may observe... I wonder if you are actually a bit smaller than size 38/12 (i.e. 19 in Burda petite). You seem to have quite slim hips (she says, sighing). To answer your question about the "cropped" wording, that didn't come from BWOF -- it's the wording used by a previous reviewer. You should be able to edit your description easily enough, if you like. I've done this sometimes.
9/26/09 8:48 PM
Patti B said...
Fantastic pants -- do make them again, perhaps a little smaller. They are a very good fit and flattering too.
9/26/09 9:16 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, you can never have too many "comfortable" pants, and even your COMFORTABLE pants are ULTRA-FLATTERING! GREAT review AND jeans. :o)
9/27/09 0:21 AM
Jali said...
Thank you for a very informative review. Your jeans look fantastic to me.
9/27/09 7:01 AM
susiestitcher said...
These jeans look fantastic! Your stitching skills are top-notch. THis was an excellent review. I might be tempted to try these, even though I'd have to do the tall alterations. You make it look so easy! Sigh!
9/27/09 7:25 AM
Peggy L said...
Janie - excellent review!! Your jeans are just awesome. The quality of your work is amazing. I hope you'll enjoy wearing this and decide that you do love them.
9/27/09 8:02 AM
Fran G said...
I just have to agree with what others have said..they appear to fir very nicely. Perhaps the back..which I really can't see completely..might benefit from Diane E's "clown butt" alteration, but I think they are really great as is. I suggest the clown butt alteration as it appears you are most unhappy with the back fit. But as someone commented, we are our own worst critic. I am going to check this pattern out. Thanks for the great review! Lots of effort put into your detailed review.
9/27/09 9:14 AM
touran said...
Wow. That's really very well made.
9/27/09 9:34 AM
Mahler said...
What a great review! Very informative. I like the front fit very well. For the back fit, humm German women must have stronger behinds ;-) If you go for a smaller size, are you certain you want the front and the back to be smaller ? I think, I would try a smaller back with the same front to see how it goes. Though those jeans are looser then what we regularly see you in, I think they are so nicely sewn. As Annette said, comfortable jeans are always needed in a wardrobe, though they are not the most flattering in our eyes. Thank you for this thorough review. Sorry for the big sigh ;-)
9/27/09 9:47 AM
eugenia123 said...
Thanks so much for a really informative review - when I finally get around to making my first pair of jeans this will be the review I turn to for help. Your jeans look amazing and the construction is impeccable - I am totally in awe!
9/27/09 9:52 AM
Heatherrique said...
Oooooh la la, Sasoon cannot make them any better! Kudos to you for achieving from what I see a fine fitting pair of pants. Thanks for your very informative (Debbie's tutorial will come in handy!) and entertaining review.
9/27/09 10:19 AM
cindyann said...
I think they look fantastic, but I understand that you didn't get what you were expecting. Fantastic workmanship!
9/27/09 12:56 PM
mylittleelephant said...
I too notice BWOF's fitting descriptions sometimes don't match to what actually are, most of the time they are OK but when it's wrong, they are really wrong. Anyway, even you don't love them and they are not skinny, they are definitely a great pair!
9/27/09 1:17 PM
Patzee said...
Great review! Thank you, thank you, thank you for mentioning where you purchased your rivets!
9/27/09 6:47 PM
kerrynw said...
Your pants look GREAT and so well made. Pitty you are not happy with the fit but I think you are too hard on yourself! Thank you for your inspiring and comprehensive review.
9/27/09 10:13 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great review! I agree with everyone that the front fit on these is terrific. I have had the same back fit issues on BWOF pants and am still trying to figure them out myself (I must not have one of those strong behinds that Mahler was talking about). I am going to try cutting the rear inner leg 1 size smaller on my next pair to see if that works. I think you did a fantastic job on those and it is nice to know that a non Petite could use that pattern too!
9/27/09 10:52 PM
Birgitte said...
They look great and your construction is impeccable- love the rivets- but sadly I know what you mean about the "slim" description. The same thing happened to a BWOF pair I made. "Handheld mirror above the shoulder" :)) That was me a year ago. Go for the 3-way! Great review as always, thank you.
9/28/09 6:21 PM
Maree P said...
Thanks so much for your informative review...I am thinking of making these and your comments are so helpful. I know it is two years since you made these ...but I think they look fabulous and your sewing is impeccable. Thank you Catbird.
11/11/11 5:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-103

photo
by: olgarosita

Review
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now