SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Contest> Wardrobe Contest Sep 2009 (Fall into Fashion)

37 more reviews
Viewed 3285 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 195 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/09 3:05 PM
Last Updated:11/27/09 12:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
73 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annie P said...
Fantastic wardrobe! Your styles and colour coordination are wonderful, and look great on you.
1/4/10 0:09 AM
missmumau said...
This is a beautiful collection. You are very stylish and clever.
1/3/10 9:05 PM
blockandtacklelady said...
Wow! This collection is so impressive. Classy, beautiful, amazing!
1/1/10 11:19 PM
MizLiz said...
Well deserved congratulations! You are a fashion maven. I love to see your reviews and your photos of the finished product. Thanks so much. Happy and Healthy New Year.
1/1/10 10:18 PM
anncie1 said...
well deserved win!
1/1/10 12:59 PM
dalias said...
I second PopoAgie! love it! u look like a MILLION bucks!
12/31/09 6:49 PM
marjenann said...
Stunning wardrobe, you look absolutely divine. Thanks for sharing your treasures with us.
12/31/09 4:26 PM
Suzie B said...
Great wardrobe Barbara. All my favorite colours wonderfully put together. You are an inspiration!
12/31/09 4:12 PM
Joanne624 said...
Beautiful work! You are such an inspiration! Congratulations!!
12/31/09 2:50 PM
Joanne624 said...
Beautiful work! You are such an inspiration! Congratulations!!
12/31/09 2:49 PM
NancyZL said...
WOW!! Lovely, beautiful and inspiring!
12/31/09 12:03 PM
Monabel said...
Your taste and execution are so elegant!
12/31/09 11:57 AM
mchick said...
I love averything about all your outfits. The colours, styles, your accessories, everything, and all beautifully sewn. Also compliments to the photographer, and even your setting suited the clothes! Very inspirational, congratulations.
12/31/09 11:50 AM
WhatSew said...
Fabulous outfits! Like the pattern, fabric and color choices.
12/30/09 8:53 PM
Olivia Sews said...
Absolutely beautiful!! All the pieces fit and flatter you, stylewise and color wise. Along with the boots, fab belt and jewelry, they really make a statement. That is the type of wardrobe I envision for myself, but I'm not sure if I have the capability of matching fabric and pattern like you do. This no doubt took some serious planning and the end results show it!! Congrats!!
12/30/09 8:14 PM
ryansmumAria said...
You are SO SO SO talented and possess fabulous taste. Be very proud of yourself!
12/30/09 4:39 PM
Tesla121 said...
Two words. Tres chic!
12/21/09 6:59 PM
bhockaday said...
WOW! I am impressed with how this is very fashionable.
12/18/09 2:08 PM
Barbara V said...
With the announcement of winners on the wardrobe contest discussion page I would like to say that I am thrilled to be voted first place! My congratulations to littlejazzbird for her award and all contestants for their beautiful wardrobes too. The process and experience was an enjoyable and rewarding endeavor filled with so many lovely and encouraging comments from sewists here on PR for which I am truly appreciative. My heartfelt THANK YOU for such a special honor!
12/15/09 10:38 AM
Christine B said...
Holy moley! You've inspired me to make a 10-pc wardrobe my goal for 2010. Great reviews of the individual pieces, too.
12/14/09 11:58 PM
FullertonRegan said...
I totally agree with Lily above. You're a gem, and I congradulate (did I spell that right?? I never spell that right.) you on such a stellar win and wardrobe.
12/13/09 7:41 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Barbara, are you the most chic woman in the world, or WHAT? Not only are your garments stunning, but you wear them with panache personified. Quite glorious, Lily
12/13/09 2:22 PM
RuthieSews said...
Congratulations!
12/13/09 11:30 AM
nancy2001 said...
Congratulations. Phenomenal wardrobe.
12/11/09 6:51 PM
Bonnie O said...
I love your entire collection! I would wear every piece. Sophisticated and stylish. L O V E I T!!!!!
12/11/09 8:42 AM
Em's Summer said...
This is such a chic wardrobe that looks absolutely gorgeous on you!!!
12/10/09 0:42 AM
kerrynw said...
Fantastic wardrobe! I love the way you have co-ordinated everything so perfectly!
12/9/09 3:45 AM
Sana said...
Beautiful pieces, all working together. This is a very successful wardrobe.
12/8/09 5:32 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Fabulous wardrobe. Every piece is a beauty. Congratulations on completing it and good luck!
12/8/09 2:32 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Gorgeous! I only wish I had such lusciousness lurking in my stash. Congrats on creating such a beautiful collection!
12/6/09 1:57 AM
Terri A said...
I would wear/sew/buy all of these lovely creations. Really classy and good quality.
12/3/09 2:58 PM
QuickFade said...
Barbara, your wardrobe is a true inspiration to me. I looked through the many wonderful wardrobes submitted, looking for one in which every outfit looked marvelous as pulled together, the colors and styles flattered the wearer, and where each piece coordinated well with others while still being unique and stylish. Yours won. It won over a couple of others I liked a lot as well because every outfit was a winner, because your use of accessories gave each outfit a finished look, because the colors and styles were particularly flattering to you personally, because the outfits were unique and yet very flexible for a variety of situations and easy to dress down or up with simple changes, like adding swapping a skirt for jeans or perhaps a satin or velvet skirt, and because your framing and background provided a very professional, attractive presentation. I liked that you pointed out that you used tried and true patterns and simpler patterns than you might otherwise use, as this has been stated as a key to success when sewing an entire wardrobe. With changes to accommodate my coloring and figure, I could use your wardrobe as a model for sewing up a work wardrobe for myself. For example, I may adjust the hemlines of skirts and tops to flatter my figure, incorporate a pair or two of pants, use only washable fabrics to fit my lifestyle, the climate, and my budget, and use deep jewel tones rather than rustic colors. I especially love the way you styled your rust colored wrap blouse as a classic wrap, a tucked in shirt, and a jacket. They don't even strike you as the same garment initially. You've done the hard work of selecting patterns and coordinating pieces. Your wardrobe earned a spot in my bookmark folder of Superior Wardrobe Examples! Thanks!
12/3/09 12:22 PM
CarolynGM said...
Ok, I want your entire wardrobe, or at least all the patterns and the same fabric. It is absolutely stunning. You have such a flair for choosing the right fabrics, styles, and proportions.
12/3/09 8:18 AM
Twinset said...
I've been wanting to leave a comment before but was too busy working on my reviews! You have achieved such a well coordinated, beautiful wardrobe. It exudes style and elegance, and you really know what are your colors! Fantastic job!!
12/1/09 11:48 PM
elily00 said...
beautiful work! your wardrobe is very elegant and so perfectly matched
12/1/09 9:44 PM
digs57 said...
Your wardrobe exudes style, elegance, and exquisite colour sense. Really gorgeous, and timeless.
12/1/09 10:42 AM
Rosesred said...
Beautiful colorchoices. Your wardrobe is one of the few in which all the pieces really compliment eachother, and can stand alone as well
12/1/09 9:08 AM
bell N said...
Your final presentation is very nice.
11/30/09 1:09 PM
RuthieSews said...
Barbara that is such a lovely collection and so elegant. You look radiant in your pieces.
11/30/09 2:59 AM
senaSews said...
Great wardrobe! I love your color - such warm tones!
11/29/09 12:59 PM
yummymummy38 said...
very stylish and elegant wardrobe, individual pieces have interest and character and very harmonious in combinations. One of my favourites!
11/29/09 7:25 AM
katharin said...
Your wardrobe is fabulous. The colors and the styles look so elegant on you.
11/28/09 11:48 PM
quixoticpixels said...
This is an incredibly elegant wardrobe! Well done :)
11/28/09 7:18 PM
craftylady66 said...
Great job on everything!
11/28/09 10:13 AM
voet said...
I have engoyed following your progress. You must feel great satisfaction at completing this ambitious project. Your color choices are perfect for your eye, skin and hair color. I also like the back drop you used for your photos. It goes perfectly with the clothes. Kudos!
11/28/09 7:56 AM
CynthiaSue said...
wow. you win!!! sorry, I got really excited. my jar dropped with this, the colors, the high fashion, the styling that you added (boots, gloves, belt, jewelery!!). This belongs on Project Runway. Just delectable fabrics too!! All the textures and colors are just phenomenal!
11/28/09 0:49 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Gorgeous, Barbara. Absolutely gorgeous. Would you be my stylist?
11/27/09 10:07 PM
sandramary said...
You have done a fantastic job, very very stylish. I love everything (including the accessories!).
11/27/09 10:05 PM
marec said...
Barbara, it has been such fun to watch each piece be showcased as it was done. Seeing the entire wardrobe together is a real treat!! Thank you for sharing your talent and enthusiasm.
11/27/09 8:35 PM
pammieh said...
Adorable - your choice of patterns and fabrics is fantastic!! What a great wardrobe for Fall/Winter!!
11/27/09 7:47 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Gorgeous wardrobe of clothes! Everything is so elegant and flattering. You really know your colours.
11/27/09 4:28 PM
Nan Kay said...
Outstanding!
11/27/09 3:11 PM
busymomof3 said...
What a beautiful wardrobe you have sewn for yourself!! Each in every piece look stunning on you and coordinate so very nice with each other. Congrats on it all!! I look forward to seeing what you do for the new grandbaby :)
11/27/09 2:23 PM
Christas said...
Barbara, you have made an outstanding wardrobe. I love each piece. Your choice of patterns & choice of fabrics is so perfect, as is your sewing.
11/27/09 2:17 PM
Mary Nanna said...
wow - that is just amazing - congratulations on a set of beautiful garments perfectly put together - I'm in total awe.
11/27/09 2:12 PM
Amanda S. said...
I love the entire wardrobe. Everything combines nicely and you have a great array of neutrals. Great job on this project!
11/27/09 1:56 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Very stylish!!
11/27/09 1:37 PM
Dale C said...
Wow that looks great!
11/27/09 1:08 PM
DorothyK said...
Wow. You are one, well-dressed lady. All these beautiful, new clothes, and a new granddaughter too! Congratulations on a job well done.
11/27/09 12:55 PM
nikarphar said...
Love love love it!!
11/27/09 12:55 PM
Andreahg said...
This is a fantastic wardrobe! Everything works together so nicely!
11/27/09 12:44 PM
Annette1 said...
This has to be one of the prettiest wardrobes I've ever seen, and I'm not kidding. It truly IS a "wardrobe," and yet every single piece stands on its own and is impeccably constructed. It's like buying an album without a single throw-away song on it. How often does THAT happen? :O) Brav-isimo!
11/19/09 6:40 PM
CTBarb said...
Your topper is wonderful and it really tops off a great wardrobe. Everything is very stylish and well coordinated.
11/19/09 10:07 AM
CTBarb said...
I love all of your garments and they are making a wonderful wardrobe. The color palette is beautiful
11/9/09 7:38 AM
alviana said...
great plan! i look forward to view the finish garments. Good luck!!
10/4/09 4:02 AM
sandramary said...
I love your combination of textures and prints - can't wait to see your topper, I have had this pattern on my wishlist since it came out!
9/30/09 7:58 AM
wreninrome said...
those are fabulous fabrics...love them!
9/30/09 6:54 AM
Heatherrique said...
Fresh and exciting colors for your wardrobe plan! Your pattern choices are also superb. Keep us posted.
9/30/09 3:58 AM
DorothyK said...
What a wonderful plan. I love your pattern choices and fabric choices. Amazing that all of them are from your stash. When you complete these pieces you'll have a good excuse to buy more fabric. :) Can't wait to see the finished products.
9/29/09 11:02 PM
Camerio said...
Very interesting selection of patterns and fabrics. I am looking forward to see your creations.
9/29/09 9:24 PM
Christas said...
This looks like a wonderful wardrobe. You have chosen beautiful patterns and fabrics!
9/29/09 6:06 PM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful choices! I'm really looking forward to seeing these made up.
9/29/09 5:07 PM
Rhoda K said...
I love your wardrobe plan choices of fabrics and patterns. I'll look forward to your reviews. Good luck and happy sewing.
9/29/09 3:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

brerrabbit.com Pantone Colors Contest

photo
by: mlsg

Review
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Buy Now