SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5478 

6 more reviews
Viewed 1297 times 
Reviewed by:trishapatk
photo

 
 
About trishapatkstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 12/10/07
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/09 7:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 35 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
51 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
chucklehead said...
SO beautiful! The piping is a great idea and looks fantastic.
12/1/10 8:46 PM
ejvc said...
I'm having trouble with the photos - they are all listed as private on Flickr. Too bad because I like the preview photo and your other jacket is TDF.
7/28/10 10:40 AM
Lokken said...
Absolutely love your details! Beautiful work.
1/1/10 8:14 PM
salsera7 said...
I'm making this jacket today and thought I might check here first. You did an absolutely wonderful job and it fits you very nicely. You are definitely one of the most professional seamstresses on PatternReview.
11/23/09 5:58 AM
KathleenS said...
This is very inspiring!
10/20/09 6:17 AM
nancy2001 said...
Congratulations on your win, Trisha. Your jacket is beautifully designed and constructed and reflects your artistic talents.
10/12/09 5:24 PM
TanyaMT said...
Very, very beautiful jacket that fits you nicely.
10/3/09 6:15 PM
catwoman7 said...
You're so talented, I can't imagine whipping this up in 2 days with all the alterations you made. Great job. The jacket looks gorgeous.
10/3/09 11:00 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Absolutely beautiful and a very helpful and thorough review. Thank you for the tip for the back of the bound buttonholes. Have you considered putting that in the tips section? (if it is there already I apologise... I did not see it when looking on Tuesday...can you guess I am doing bound buttonhole practices this week?)
10/2/09 3:44 AM
MBPaz said...
Haute Couture! Fabulous!
10/1/09 2:07 PM
Athene said...
Fabulous detailing - gorgeous jacket and lovely fit. Thank you for all the great photos of your work.
10/1/09 1:06 PM
Re Becca said...
Gorgeous! Love the way you used the plaid. Such and inspiration!
10/1/09 10:52 AM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful jacket and workmanship. The use of ties for piping tip is great.
10/1/09 10:25 AM
becca a said...
Beautiful jacket! Thank you for the detailed review. It is very helpful
10/1/09 7:57 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Your jacket is lovely. I love how you used the plaid fabric. Great job!
9/30/09 9:44 PM
Kayseri said...
Lovely looking jacket and beautifully finished.
9/30/09 6:21 PM
jent said...
I just love your reviews - your work is inspiring and your sewing talent is extraordinary. Thanks!
9/30/09 5:40 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Looks great, and fits you perfectly! I loved your purple jacket at the ASE show - the model was right in front of me in line.
9/30/09 4:02 PM
bebrown said...
Beautiful jacket and beautifully made. Thanks for the great tip about using old ties from a thrift store for bias strips.
9/30/09 4:00 PM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful and looks wonderful on you.
9/30/09 3:16 PM
digs57 said...
Congratulations on a very beautiful jacket, the details of your improvements, and suggestions for further ones, on the original pattern. Excellent work!
9/30/09 1:42 PM
Jolet said...
What a wonderful jacket!! Really stunning. Very interesting review. You've put so much effort in this jacket I hope you'll wear it with pride.
9/30/09 11:39 AM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely jacket. It looks beautiful on you.
9/30/09 11:33 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is beautiful in every way: fabric, style, fit... I too love the collar and that you made real pockets. Great jacket!
9/30/09 10:05 AM
carolynw said...
Yiou could not buy this in RTW unless you were willing to part with $$$$ - this is just gorgeous - terrific attention to detail!!
9/30/09 9:48 AM
Andreahg said...
Your jacket is amazing! It's too bad this pattern is OOP.
9/30/09 9:15 AM
Amanda S. said...
It's gorgeous! I love all the details you included. Great tip on neckties - I'll definitely be using that trick. I also LOVE the bound button holes!
9/30/09 9:06 AM
lynnewill said...
Thank you for this well written review. I especially love the tip about using the ties. You do an excellent job of describing your techniques, clear and concise.
9/30/09 8:56 AM
nancy2001 said...
Your jacket is stunning. It looks lovely on you.
9/30/09 8:23 AM
kittybishop said...
Very beautiful jacket, I love the details and I have some very similiar buttons that I scored in a thrift shop. Now all you need is some driving gloves and you're good to go.
9/30/09 8:18 AM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely beautiful - all of it. I would put a long-sleeved turtleneck top under this and wear it all winter.
9/30/09 5:47 AM
Michele19 said...
All I can say is WOW! I love everything about your jacket, esp. the beautiful finishing details. Brava!
9/30/09 4:43 AM
Heatherrique said...
Exceptionally darling jacket! Thanks for a wonderful review!
9/30/09 3:50 AM
Clareew said...
Wonderful jacket, brilliant review.
9/30/09 3:50 AM
Sigrid. said...
Gorgeous jacket, love the very detailed finishing too. Thank you for reminding me that I have this pattern.
9/30/09 3:13 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Lovely jacket and great review.
9/30/09 0:35 AM
lara900 said...
very pretty jacket! -- I am in awe. and very thorough review.
9/30/09 0:19 AM
elainemay said...
I have always thought the picture on the envelope looked ridiculous and costume-y and I never considered buying it. But I've completely fallen for yours and now I've bought the pattern too! Amazing, beautiful work, gorgeous jacket. Hope mine turns out half as well!
9/30/09 0:11 AM
Lori V said...
Stunning.
9/29/09 11:14 PM
Christas said...
EXTREMELY cute jacket!!!
9/29/09 10:10 PM
katlew03 said...
Forgot one thing. I hope you are entering this in the lined jacket contest currently running.
9/29/09 10:06 PM
katlew03 said...
Absolutely beautiful jacket. The details are perfectly done. Great workmanship. Thanks for all the details.
9/29/09 10:04 PM
susiestitcher said...
This is so lovely! I love the rounded collar and the back pleats. How neat that you were able to use your antique buttons. They are perfect for this project. You have sewn a beautiful jacket!
9/29/09 9:30 PM
cybermom said...
I like this really cute. You did a great job!
9/29/09 9:17 PM
Lili123 said...
wow!!!your jacket is superb!!!
9/29/09 8:58 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Absolutely beautiful!
9/29/09 8:33 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Wonderful! It looks great and you did a fabulous job.
9/29/09 8:32 PM
emcrorie said...
amazing! you are inspiration to the rest of us :)
9/29/09 8:17 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Divine, absolutely beautiful and impeccable attention to detail. Enjoy your treasure!
9/29/09 7:49 PM
AuntieShel said...
Your jacket is absolutely stunning on you! Meticulous work. Thank you for the great review. Will have to see if I can still get this pattern.
9/29/09 7:43 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Wow! Gorgeous!
9/29/09 7:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

McCall's 5806

photo
by: sew silly

Review
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

More Info
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

More Info