SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> Wild Things (Newsboy Cap)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1955 times 
Reviewed by:MaryBeth
photo

 
 
About MaryBethstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews written: 103
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:2/3/04 5:26 PM
Last Updated:2/3/04 6:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
What a cool cap MaryBeth!
2/3/04 5:51 PM
AnneM said...
Great placement of the laser-cuts; very fashion-forward. Doesn't really like like their little sketch, does it!
2/3/04 6:34 PM
Patti-Jo said...
I. too, made this hat, out of a cotton black/white/gray cat print from equilter. I found errors in the instructions, also,and I agree, a little playing around is necessary to get your desired end results. Great job, Marybeth!
2/3/04 7:40 PM
MaryBeth said...
Patti-Jo, I sure would love to see a picture of yours! Did you manage to redo it to get a real newsboy shape? Do a review?
2/3/04 8:07 PM
Georgene said...
Cool cap MB! You're right, its a bit jockey shaped, but love the laser-cut pleather with the pink underneath. Hmm, where else can you use that trick?Especially love your goose-neck as hat stand.
2/4/04 0:50 AM
candyo said...
I LOVE your fabric choices! It looks more like a baseball cap than a newsboy, though.
2/4/04 1:20 AM
moushka said...
Cute cap, Mary Beth. I printed this pattern off for a DF (an experienced home-ec teacher). She said it made up into a beanie! NOT the look she was after. I think this pattern is more like a baseball cap than a newsboy cap. It certainly doesn't look like the drawing in the program. No one at WildGinger deigned to reply to my questions about the pattern so I have no idea what they had in mind when they drafted it. You definitely made lemonade where I only saw a lemon! Great review.
2/4/04 7:27 AM
Ann C said...
Thank you for reminding us of this offering from W.Ginger again. Neat hat.
2/4/04 9:01 AM
Lisa Laree said...
How cute! Frustrating that it didn't turn out like you were expecting, though... Maybe they confused newsboys w/the Pony Express? ;)
2/4/04 9:46 AM
MaryBeth said...
On the PMB list a lday suggested that the jockey only delivered papers in the evening after his day job-hehehe. This hat sure has produced some funny comments. Hope my friend will have a sense of humor about it too!
2/4/04 11:43 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Awesome. My DD would love this!
2/4/04 12:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now