SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> Wild Things (Newsboy Cap)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1955 times 
Reviewed by:MaryBeth
photo

 
 
About MaryBethstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews written: 103
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:2/3/04 5:26 PM
Last Updated:2/3/04 6:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
What a cool cap MaryBeth!
2/3/04 5:51 PM
AnneM said...
Great placement of the laser-cuts; very fashion-forward. Doesn't really like like their little sketch, does it!
2/3/04 6:34 PM
Patti-Jo said...
I. too, made this hat, out of a cotton black/white/gray cat print from equilter. I found errors in the instructions, also,and I agree, a little playing around is necessary to get your desired end results. Great job, Marybeth!
2/3/04 7:40 PM
MaryBeth said...
Patti-Jo, I sure would love to see a picture of yours! Did you manage to redo it to get a real newsboy shape? Do a review?
2/3/04 8:07 PM
Georgene said...
Cool cap MB! You're right, its a bit jockey shaped, but love the laser-cut pleather with the pink underneath. Hmm, where else can you use that trick?Especially love your goose-neck as hat stand.
2/4/04 0:50 AM
candyo said...
I LOVE your fabric choices! It looks more like a baseball cap than a newsboy, though.
2/4/04 1:20 AM
moushka said...
Cute cap, Mary Beth. I printed this pattern off for a DF (an experienced home-ec teacher). She said it made up into a beanie! NOT the look she was after. I think this pattern is more like a baseball cap than a newsboy cap. It certainly doesn't look like the drawing in the program. No one at WildGinger deigned to reply to my questions about the pattern so I have no idea what they had in mind when they drafted it. You definitely made lemonade where I only saw a lemon! Great review.
2/4/04 7:27 AM
Ann C said...
Thank you for reminding us of this offering from W.Ginger again. Neat hat.
2/4/04 9:01 AM
Lisa Laree said...
How cute! Frustrating that it didn't turn out like you were expecting, though... Maybe they confused newsboys w/the Pony Express? ;)
2/4/04 9:46 AM
MaryBeth said...
On the PMB list a lday suggested that the jockey only delivered papers in the evening after his day job-hehehe. This hat sure has produced some funny comments. Hope my friend will have a sense of humor about it too!
2/4/04 11:43 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Awesome. My DD would love this!
2/4/04 12:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 1549

photo
by: becca a

Review
Kwik Sew 3527

photo
by: A Beginner...

Review

Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now