SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Design Magazine> 04-2009-14 

2 more reviews
Viewed 90 times 
Reviewed by:beangirl
photo

 
 
About beangirlstar
TX
Member since: 9/15/05
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/2/09 10:24 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
Still a very adorable top!
10/3/09 12:07 PM
keelyb1 said...
Cute and it will fit for a while. :) I wonder if starting with a teeshirt would be closer to the dress you show? Maybe Kwik Sew 2893?
10/3/09 5:13 PM
beangirl said...
Keely, I think the idea is probably ok, but I should have spent more time with the sleeves (my original idea was to make them narrower but I got lazy) and to maybe color block the body of the dress so it looks more like the original. I also probably shouldn't have taken in the side seam (or rather, curved the side seam in at the upper waist to fit the body, rather than making it a trapeze-dress shape). I think I might even have that KS pattern, I'll have to check. Part of the difference is that the Hannah Andersson dress isn't a raglan sleeve, although I didn't think that would make much difference when I started. If I get a better result for this concept I will definitely update this review or post a new one!
10/3/09 7:16 PM
TanyaMT said...
I don't think it looks that much like a swim coverup personally. I think you are being too hard on yourself. If you do want an alternative pattern that may not need so many modifications though, is maybe Otto Winter 2007 #27 what you are looking for? When I saw your review it reminded me of that one so thought I would mention it. I made the 2007 #27 for my niece last Christmas.
10/4/09 7:46 PM
beangirl said...
OK TanyaMT, you just made me LOL! That is the ONE issue I don't have from the past 3 years and it's the one that I consistantly find something I just HAVE to make. I'm ordering a back issue right now. Thanks for the -ahem- encouragment to purchase! :-)
10/5/09 11:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Vogue Patterns 2899

photo
by: Cosso

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2008-108

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now