SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Design Magazine> 04-2009-14 

2 more reviews
Viewed 90 times 
Reviewed by:beangirl
photo

 
 
About beangirlstar
TX
Member since: 9/15/05
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/2/09 10:24 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
beangirl said...
OK TanyaMT, you just made me LOL! That is the ONE issue I don't have from the past 3 years and it's the one that I consistantly find something I just HAVE to make. I'm ordering a back issue right now. Thanks for the -ahem- encouragment to purchase! :-)
10/5/09 11:13 AM
TanyaMT said...
I don't think it looks that much like a swim coverup personally. I think you are being too hard on yourself. If you do want an alternative pattern that may not need so many modifications though, is maybe Otto Winter 2007 #27 what you are looking for? When I saw your review it reminded me of that one so thought I would mention it. I made the 2007 #27 for my niece last Christmas.
10/4/09 7:46 PM
beangirl said...
Keely, I think the idea is probably ok, but I should have spent more time with the sleeves (my original idea was to make them narrower but I got lazy) and to maybe color block the body of the dress so it looks more like the original. I also probably shouldn't have taken in the side seam (or rather, curved the side seam in at the upper waist to fit the body, rather than making it a trapeze-dress shape). I think I might even have that KS pattern, I'll have to check. Part of the difference is that the Hannah Andersson dress isn't a raglan sleeve, although I didn't think that would make much difference when I started. If I get a better result for this concept I will definitely update this review or post a new one!
10/3/09 7:16 PM
keelyb1 said...
Cute and it will fit for a while. :) I wonder if starting with a teeshirt would be closer to the dress you show? Maybe Kwik Sew 2893?
10/3/09 5:13 PM
Heatherrique said...
Still a very adorable top!
10/3/09 12:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1300

photo
by: Westy85

Review
Patrones Magazine 249-4

photo
by: tsedai

Review
SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern

SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

More Info
The City Bag

The City Bag

More Info