Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2938 (Misses top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 717 times 33 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/09 11:55 AM
Last Updated:10/4/09 2:25 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
Very pretty. It goes with your spring suit very well, and it has just the right amount of ease.
10/4/09 1:07 PM
Annette1 said...
This is perfect, Kay, and even though it's sleeveless you can still wear it under your winter jackets. :o) Plus, it will GO with so many different things. REALLY a CUTE style on you.
10/4/09 2:23 PM
Christas said...
What a pretty top! It will be fun to have such a nice new top waiting in your closet when the weather turns warm again. I love the fabric.
10/4/09 2:24 PM
KarmenG said...
Love this top - looks terrific under a suit jacket. Armscye looks fine to me, but I know what you mean about wanting just a smidge more coverage when worn to the office.
10/4/09 2:34 PM
Rhoda K said...
I love your top and your fabric is gorgeous.
10/4/09 3:21 PM
EleanorSews said...
Your top is lovely. You never know when you need a little shell, even in the winter.
10/4/09 4:29 PM
marec said...
Beautiful fabric and perfect for this stylish shell. Thank you for such a great review...I always learn something when reading your reviews.
10/4/09 5:27 PM
AnitaJ said...
Lovely top! Thanks for explaining how you finished the armscye.
10/4/09 7:14 PM
Kellie R. said...
When I saw the pic of your pretty top, I had a feeling it was this pattern.. as I love it! Just lovely!
10/4/09 7:41 PM
carolynw said...
Hi Kay - love this top - love the fabric!!
10/4/09 8:04 PM
Catbird said...
This is such a pretty shell, with just enough subtle styling to set it apart from a plain shell. I like the lines - the scoop of the neckline and the armholes are very flattering on you. You've done a beautiful job, as I've come to expect!
10/4/09 8:13 PM
lmg said...
The pattern and fabric combo is lovely. Is there enough ease to wear on top of a blouse or t shirt for winter?
10/4/09 10:48 PM
Jane S said...
Great blouse in beautiful colors on you. The lines on this are so flattering. Thanks for reminding me to move it up on my to do list.
10/5/09 7:28 AM
Fran G said...
Lovely top, Kay..beautiful fit. Always excited to see "A new review by Kay Y" in my email!!
10/5/09 7:57 AM
barbcl said...
Love the print and this style. I have this pattern and plan to make all the pieces (soon>;). To me, "side zipper" means "lots of sewing guesswork." In the olden days, people used hooks and eyes on the side (a lot less guesswork and refitting?). There are lots of great tips about older sewing methods at http://www.vintagesewing.info/index.html, including a lapped opening that uses hooks and eyes. This "seams' to me to be a much more flexible way to shape a side opening for a better fit. Other than that, I JUST LOVE THE SITE --IT's FANTASTIC!!
10/5/09 12:08 PM
fryman said...
great great great
10/5/09 6:48 PM
loohoo44 said...
Love it!
10/5/09 7:45 PM
Mahler said...
What a great simple and versatile top! This poly charmeuse does the job wonderfully. I looks like silk on you. I really like it !!
10/6/09 12:46 PM
BMoyer said...
I love the looks of this top, You can never have enough shell tops, no matter what season!! Great job. I may pick this up at the next 99c joannes sale lol.
10/7/09 8:49 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty top and thanks for the helpful review. Especially the bit about the zipper.
9/1/10 0:03 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 3672
photo
Review by Katharine ... on 1/7/10
Read Review

Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at CopyShop)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at CopyShop)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5581
photo
Review by Tiki Val on 8/24/10
Read Review

J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6026 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 6026 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4967 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 4967 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us