SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8135 (Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 528 times 
Reviewed by:BrianSews
photo

 
 
About BrianSewsstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 2/16/08
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/09 2:22 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Picasa and You Tube!!! WOW!!! What a wonderful review!! And I don't think ANY ONE else has thought of this neat, creative way of presenting a pattern!! Kudos!!
10/4/09 2:47 PM
BrianSews said...
I hope I start a new trend! Almost everyone these days has a web cam, if a photo is worth a 1000 words... what's a video worth? Glad you liked it...
10/4/09 2:57 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great jackets and another great review. Video - what a great idea. Maybe you will start something.
10/4/09 3:27 PM
Aixoise said...
Great idea for a review! I enjoyed watching both the video and the slide show. Thanks for the info about this pattern and the instructions.
10/4/09 3:30 PM
sofietje said...
This is such a great review! Thank you for sharing your experiences in this creative way.
10/4/09 3:50 PM
Renren said...
Hard to believe anything in the sewing world ever could traumatize you!!! I'm glad you recovered enough to share your experiences. This is a great first attempt at a jacket, first attempt at bagging a lining, and second attempt with a zipper. I have the feeling that today may be a red letter date here at PR . . . The whole youtube video/embedding a slideshow is a highly effective way to present your review. Kudos to you!!!
10/4/09 3:59 PM
BrianSews said...
You know.... embedding this content was super easy. On both sites (picasa and youtube) you just click on embed and then copy/paste the code into the review. It would be awesome if people took my lead. The video doesn't even need to be long (I just like to talk...), a quick fashion show and spin around would be a great start.
10/4/09 4:04 PM
Andreahg said...
I LOVE the video! It was great for seeing all the details. Does the zippered view have the raw edge details if you don't make a lining? This is exactly the type of jacket pattern I've been looking for.
10/4/09 4:56 PM
Gecko said...
Great review! I kinda like the raw edges on the blazer- it's completely unexpected. I wonder if the interfacing could be trimmed just slightly smaller to hide it, or if you could maybe use a coordinating batiste or broadcloth instead of interfacing?
10/4/09 5:11 PM
Sharon1952 said...
I love a pioneer! This is an awesome descovery!
10/4/09 5:12 PM
nellc said...
Your jackets are great and I love the way you have presented your review with the embedded slide show and video, such a brilliant idea!
10/4/09 5:43 PM
mhk3boys said...
Your blazer looks really great! I know now not to get this pattern for my DH! I will stick with Kwik Sew! Great slide show and video!
10/4/09 6:48 PM
nancy2001 said...
I love your new zip up jacket -- it's a wonderful basic pattern that you can make many times. And the embedded slide show and videos are brilliant ideas.
10/4/09 6:55 PM
AnitaJ said...
Great review, Brian! Enjoyed the embedded media. Nice job on the jackets too! Looking forward to seeing your faux fur version as well. :)
10/4/09 7:06 PM
homejewel said...
Brian - great review and I, too, love the embedded slideshow and youtube videos. Did you try posting an embedded picture? I was able to post an embedded slideshow with Picasa, but not an embedded picture. I was wondering if you knew the trick for that? (I copied the embedded picture link, but there was an error message when I tried to post it.) The embedded pictures make it much easier to see the pictures.
10/4/09 8:34 PM
DaisyEsq said...
I love your idea of sandwiching the zipper between the outer jacket and lining with glue, and then stitiching. I'm so glad that you included a video review; worked great!
10/4/09 9:10 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Wow -- you are the king of multimedia! And the jackets are cute too, especially layered.
10/4/09 9:19 PM
meesa said...
I'm liking this stretch toward the 3-D review! Very thorough review! That zipped jacket looks great on you and I do kinda like the layered look.
10/4/09 10:19 PM
TracyB said...
This new advance for PR reviews is stunning! I know so much about Burda 8135 now that it would be a crime not to sew it up. The zipper one for sure.
10/4/09 11:22 PM
ryansmumAria said...
I love the slideshow! You are brilliant.. The jacket is fabulous.
10/4/09 11:28 PM
Athene said...
Great review. I find you absolutely fearless when it comes to sewing. You just dive right in and do it. I really enjoyed watching you and Nancy on You Tube. Look forward to watching all your other you tube sewing videos. I have this Burda pattern for quite sometime - always meaning to do view B for my hubby but have not yet done it.
10/5/09 3:35 AM
jilly cooper said...
one talented man!!!!! loved the video idea, so much easier to get details. It was so good to see how you looked in the jacket, when you moved about it gave insight into how the garment looked in "real life" rather than a static photo. Brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
10/5/09 5:26 AM
CathrynR said...
Great reveiw, wonderful format. Thanks for introducing video format. Hope it catches on and brings more like it, I really enjoyed watching.
10/5/09 5:49 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Brian...lookin' good! Here's a fix for your white interfacing edges-- Go to any art supply store and get a fabric pen (fine felt-tip marker). They come in countless colors, and work great not only for frayed-edge techniques but for interfacing show-through on buttonholes !
10/5/09 6:44 AM
susiestitcher said...
I liked the video review very much. What a personal touch to reviewing. You have really neat ideas. I would never be bold enough to try a raw edge finish!Anyway, here is an idea for the welt pocket bag showing on the jacket: If your pocket bag is cut all in one piece, you can cut about a 4 inch wide strip of jacket fabric that is a tad longer than the width of your pocket bag (from side to side). Serge or zigzag one long edge of the strip. Before you sew anything at all on your pocket, lay your pocket bag lining piece on the table and determine which edge is the one that is sewn to the top of your welt pocket, since that is the pocket lining that shows on the finished jacket. Now lay the fabric strip on top of the pocket bag (wrong side of strip to right side of bag) so that the raw edges of the strip match the seam edges of the pocket bag on that predetermined upper edge and so that the finished edge of the fabric strip is running across the pocket bag width. Baste the raw edges together. Stitch that finished edge down so that the pocket bag now has a "fabric overlay" on its top portion. Now you can construct the pocket bag as usual. When you finish, this lined portion will look like the jacket fabric and won't be as noticeable, if that is what you desire. If you have a two piece pocket lining, just cut the lining piece that attaches to the top of the welt from jacket fabric and proceed. I hope all that makes sense.
10/5/09 7:59 AM
Lynnelle said...
What a great review, Brian! I love the slide show and video. Great idea! I love the zippered jacket.
10/5/09 1:34 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Love the review B.
10/5/09 9:37 PM
donna mel said...
congrat's on pr's first video review! nothing like a live twirl to get the overall effect of a garment. can't wit to see your kk faux fur jacket.
10/7/09 7:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Vogue Patterns 2980

photo
by: moonshae

Review
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Buy Now
The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Downloadable 3197

photo
by: MiniandMer...

Review