Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8135 (Jacket) - Type:Mens - Jackets    printable version
Viewed 525 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:BrianSews
photo
About BrianSewsstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 2/16/08
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 84 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/09 2:22 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Picasa and You Tube!!! WOW!!! What a wonderful review!! And I don't think ANY ONE else has thought of this neat, creative way of presenting a pattern!! Kudos!!
10/4/09 2:47 PM
BrianSews said...
I hope I start a new trend! Almost everyone these days has a web cam, if a photo is worth a 1000 words... what's a video worth? Glad you liked it...
10/4/09 2:57 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great jackets and another great review. Video - what a great idea. Maybe you will start something.
10/4/09 3:27 PM
Aixoise said...
Great idea for a review! I enjoyed watching both the video and the slide show. Thanks for the info about this pattern and the instructions.
10/4/09 3:30 PM
sofietje said...
This is such a great review! Thank you for sharing your experiences in this creative way.
10/4/09 3:50 PM
Renren said...
Hard to believe anything in the sewing world ever could traumatize you!!! I'm glad you recovered enough to share your experiences. This is a great first attempt at a jacket, first attempt at bagging a lining, and second attempt with a zipper. I have the feeling that today may be a red letter date here at PR . . . The whole youtube video/embedding a slideshow is a highly effective way to present your review. Kudos to you!!!
10/4/09 3:59 PM
BrianSews said...
You know.... embedding this content was super easy. On both sites (picasa and youtube) you just click on embed and then copy/paste the code into the review. It would be awesome if people took my lead. The video doesn't even need to be long (I just like to talk...), a quick fashion show and spin around would be a great start.
10/4/09 4:04 PM
Andreahg said...
I LOVE the video! It was great for seeing all the details. Does the zippered view have the raw edge details if you don't make a lining? This is exactly the type of jacket pattern I've been looking for.
10/4/09 4:56 PM
Gecko said...
Great review! I kinda like the raw edges on the blazer- it's completely unexpected. I wonder if the interfacing could be trimmed just slightly smaller to hide it, or if you could maybe use a coordinating batiste or broadcloth instead of interfacing?
10/4/09 5:11 PM
Sharon1952 said...
I love a pioneer! This is an awesome descovery!
10/4/09 5:12 PM
nellc said...
Your jackets are great and I love the way you have presented your review with the embedded slide show and video, such a brilliant idea!
10/4/09 5:43 PM
mhk3boys said...
Your blazer looks really great! I know now not to get this pattern for my DH! I will stick with Kwik Sew! Great slide show and video!
10/4/09 6:48 PM
nancy2001 said...
I love your new zip up jacket -- it's a wonderful basic pattern that you can make many times. And the embedded slide show and videos are brilliant ideas.
10/4/09 6:55 PM
AnitaJ said...
Great review, Brian! Enjoyed the embedded media. Nice job on the jackets too! Looking forward to seeing your faux fur version as well. :)
10/4/09 7:06 PM
homejewel said...
Brian - great review and I, too, love the embedded slideshow and youtube videos. Did you try posting an embedded picture? I was able to post an embedded slideshow with Picasa, but not an embedded picture. I was wondering if you knew the trick for that? (I copied the embedded picture link, but there was an error message when I tried to post it.) The embedded pictures make it much easier to see the pictures.
10/4/09 8:34 PM
DaisyEsq said...
I love your idea of sandwiching the zipper between the outer jacket and lining with glue, and then stitiching. I'm so glad that you included a video review; worked great!
10/4/09 9:10 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Wow -- you are the king of multimedia! And the jackets are cute too, especially layered.
10/4/09 9:19 PM
meesa said...
I'm liking this stretch toward the 3-D review! Very thorough review! That zipped jacket looks great on you and I do kinda like the layered look.
10/4/09 10:19 PM
TracyB said...
This new advance for PR reviews is stunning! I know so much about Burda 8135 now that it would be a crime not to sew it up. The zipper one for sure.
10/4/09 11:22 PM
ryansmumAria said...
I love the slideshow! You are brilliant.. The jacket is fabulous.
10/4/09 11:28 PM
Athene said...
Great review. I find you absolutely fearless when it comes to sewing. You just dive right in and do it. I really enjoyed watching you and Nancy on You Tube. Look forward to watching all your other you tube sewing videos. I have this Burda pattern for quite sometime - always meaning to do view B for my hubby but have not yet done it.
10/5/09 3:35 AM
jilly cooper said...
one talented man!!!!! loved the video idea, so much easier to get details. It was so good to see how you looked in the jacket, when you moved about it gave insight into how the garment looked in "real life" rather than a static photo. Brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
10/5/09 5:26 AM
CathrynR said...
Great reveiw, wonderful format. Thanks for introducing video format. Hope it catches on and brings more like it, I really enjoyed watching.
10/5/09 5:49 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Brian...lookin' good! Here's a fix for your white interfacing edges-- Go to any art supply store and get a fabric pen (fine felt-tip marker). They come in countless colors, and work great not only for frayed-edge techniques but for interfacing show-through on buttonholes !
10/5/09 6:44 AM
susiestitcher said...
I liked the video review very much. What a personal touch to reviewing. You have really neat ideas. I would never be bold enough to try a raw edge finish!Anyway, here is an idea for the welt pocket bag showing on the jacket: If your pocket bag is cut all in one piece, you can cut about a 4 inch wide strip of jacket fabric that is a tad longer than the width of your pocket bag (from side to side). Serge or zigzag one long edge of the strip. Before you sew anything at all on your pocket, lay your pocket bag lining piece on the table and determine which edge is the one that is sewn to the top of your welt pocket, since that is the pocket lining that shows on the finished jacket. Now lay the fabric strip on top of the pocket bag (wrong side of strip to right side of bag) so that the raw edges of the strip match the seam edges of the pocket bag on that predetermined upper edge and so that the finished edge of the fabric strip is running across the pocket bag width. Baste the raw edges together. Stitch that finished edge down so that the pocket bag now has a "fabric overlay" on its top portion. Now you can construct the pocket bag as usual. When you finish, this lined portion will look like the jacket fabric and won't be as noticeable, if that is what you desire. If you have a two piece pocket lining, just cut the lining piece that attaches to the top of the welt from jacket fabric and proceed. I hope all that makes sense.
10/5/09 7:59 AM
Lynnelle said...
What a great review, Brian! I love the slide show and video. Great idea! I love the zippered jacket.
10/5/09 1:34 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Love the review B.
10/5/09 9:37 PM
donna mel said...
congrat's on pr's first video review! nothing like a live twirl to get the overall effect of a garment. can't wit to see your kk faux fur jacket.
10/7/09 7:09 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Butterick 5520
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 9/29/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2346 Men's Vests
photo
Review by HeidiBacca... on 5/26/13
Read Review

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3514 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3514 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7008 Pattern
Burda 7008 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us