SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2805 (Misses Skirts)

4 more reviews
Viewed 258 times 
Reviewed by:pammieh
photo

 
 
About pammiehstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/21/07
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/09 1:30 AM
Last Updated:10/5/09 11:32 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jilly cooper said...
hey from one beginner to another - I know what it is like to NEED simple patterns to build confidence:) I tried a KS365 OOP, 4 gore skirt. It was my first ever knit skirt. On the packet it looks like a woven gore skirt so I thought I would give it a go but I was nervous that a knit on me would cling and show all the bumps. Anyway this skirt was super easy, 4 pieces, stitch/serge 4 seams, I put on swimsuit elastic around the waist and OMG it hung beautifully, looked like a tailored skirt in the way that it sat on the waist and hip then flowed beautifully to the bottom. There is hope that simple, knit, elastic waist skirts can deliver stunning results. PS: I won't upload a photo coz I am way too shy for that.
10/5/09 2:09 AM
pammieh said...
Thanks Jilly for the tip - I'll check it out!! I almost didn't post because of the simplicity but am trying to get into a sewing rhythm. I will check out KW 365. My next patterns are going to be TNT patterns Simplicity 2603 (cardi wrap) and the KW Yoga Pant. I've got orders from a brother and J. for some easy male projects too! Lastly, I'm trying to make two Elvis costumes for Halloween - that will be good practice! Thanks for the post!!
10/5/09 11:01 AM
marec said...
That is one cute skirt. The denim color and the length are perfect for each other. Wouldn't this be a great skirt for applique or patch pockets? Keep sewing and don't compare yourself to others. Just enjoy!
10/5/09 11:18 AM
marec said...
sorry...stupid computer!
10/5/09 11:18 AM
kidmd said...
I think it's cute! My favorite skirts are the basic elastic waist or wrap styles. I wear them all the time.
10/5/09 11:22 AM
pammieh said...
Thanks!! Marec - great comment - in fact, I have some eco-conscience large patches that could be used as pockets - I'm tempted to use them (they have messages like, "live green").........as pockets. . .
10/5/09 11:26 AM
jilly cooper said...
pammieh - whoa - you are going to be busy. Can't wait to see the yoga pant review, I am super keen to see how that turns out. Good luck with the Halloween costumes:)
10/5/09 11:51 AM
pammieh said...
Thanks Jilly! I have NO idea how I am going to make the Elvis Costumes (though I do have the pattern!). That is way above my skill level but hey, it's Halloween, right - doesn't have to be perfect:)
10/5/09 2:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Vogue Patterns 7387

photo
by: Cosso

Review
Butterick 4718

photo
by: dawn so ca...

Review

Pattern

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now