Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1091 thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1125 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 34 people   
Reviewed by:Lee Ann Hawkins
photo
Friend of PR
About Lee Ann Hawkinsstar
IN USA
Member since: 1/11/03
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/09 2:18 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnitaJ said...
Great looking pants! "Comfortable" and "stylish" - can't get any better than that! Sounds like a must have pattern. :)
10/5/09 3:16 AM
meesa said...
These pants look awesome on you! I'm in love with my HP purchases.
10/5/09 3:25 AM
Athene said...
Really nice fit and nice drape.
10/5/09 4:06 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely pants! Very flattering and great fabric choice.
10/5/09 4:40 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very smart! I've got this pattern but haven't made it yet. You've made the pants look much smarter than I imagined they could be, having always thought of them as a more bohemian-slash-ethnic sort of look, so you've given me food for thought.
10/5/09 4:43 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Thanks for comparing it to the Soho - the basis for my TNT pants. Very helpful! The pants look beautiful - like a perfect-fitting pair you'd run across in a boutique once in a lifetime.
10/5/09 6:41 AM
Rebecca D said...
I believe you have sold this pattern to me. Great review and great pants!
10/5/09 6:56 AM
Renren said...
These remind me of Vogue 8584 except the HP has a front fly zipper. Also, the lower leg doesn't seem to be as wide as the V8584, a definite plus in my book. Also, the drawstring treatment is the same: elastic with turned elastic tubes at the ends. I just LOVE these pants--the stylishness and comfort factor. I can't believe these are a mere muslin and will be watching for the crepe ones you plan to sew.
10/5/09 7:10 AM
cindyann said...
Very nice looking. I'm not much of a Hot Pattern fan but I might have to try this one.
10/5/09 10:15 AM
Diane E said...
Lee Ann, these pants are beautiful. I'm expecting my pattern any day now and can't wait to make the pants, thanks to your wonderful review. I am particularly grateful for your description and picture of the changes to the back crotch curve.
10/5/09 10:25 AM
Meredith P said...
Thanks so much for the detailed review. They look absolutely wonderful on you. The illustration of the crotch curve comparisons was very helpful and interesting.
10/5/09 11:17 AM
marec said...
Those are beautiful in the fit, the fabric and the fluid drape of the pant. Love them! Thanks so much for the details on fit and the comparisons-always a learning experience for me to read reviews from those who are more experienced than me.
10/5/09 11:39 AM
Immelu said...
Love 'em!! I can't wait to get this pattern! Two questions...do you think it'd be okay to leave off the drawstring (and just have the elastic), and the pockets? I'm thinking about skipping those on my version.... I'm trying to emulate my favorite pair of express pants with this pattern. Do you see any pitfalls with doing that?
10/5/09 2:07 PM
michellep74 said...
Fabulous pants! I made these and love them, too, but keep forgetting to take photos when I'm wearing them.
10/5/09 3:07 PM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful and look great on you.
10/5/09 3:34 PM
jent said...
Great pants, great review! I really want this pattern!
10/5/09 3:46 PM
SewingBetty said...
Great Looking pants, I have to get this pattern. You did an awesome job.
10/5/09 8:45 PM
Pam Padilla said...
Thanks for the pictures.
10/6/09 1:28 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
thanks you guys! I am so happy Deepika has kept improving the template for writing reviews, especially the ease in adding links-- writing this was a breeze, and fun, and I am glad to be back in the loop! I must tell you I came home from a 10 hour day and couldn't wait to slip into these pants again BTW. Immelu, I believe you absolutely could adapt the waistband to elastic, but you may need to either just place it in the back from side seam to side seam, and/or stitch it down, either along it's length or just at the seams--as the waistband is curved and the elastic may tend to curl up against the top edge otherwise. You could also make the waistband a bit narrower, I suppose. Then again, may work just fine as is. Give it a try and let's see the result--that would be a great pair of pants and I think I will play with your idea as well! The pockets can easily be eliminated just by sewing up the side seam without any other adjustment.
10/6/09 1:28 AM
Margie T said...
Thanks for a great review. I love your pants. I have just ordered this pattern and can't wait to make them.
10/6/09 8:30 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive! Thanks for a super review. Hot Patterns should give you credit for the increase in sales of this pattern!
10/6/09 11:26 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thank you for the great review. Regarding your comment on the notch, I find the notch's printed on the HP patterns are printed really lightly and you have to really hunt to see them.
10/8/09 4:47 AM
Nancy K said...
Great looking pants! I don't know why you wouldn't tuck in your top, because you look fabulous. I have this pattern and I am looking forward to making them.
10/10/09 8:36 PM
diane s said...
I've been looking for a comfortable straight leg pant, and after reading your review, I found one. thanks!!!
10/14/09 12:05 PM
MaggieBob said...
You make a beautiful model for your pants, and thanks for the pattern comparisons view.
10/19/09 11:56 AM
snapdragonfly said...
simply fabulous.
10/26/09 10:32 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I don't know how, but I missed your review when I was making these. Yours turned out wonderful! I'm looking forward to making another pair soon - just have to decide on the fabric. Great review, lots of good details and photos.
11/16/09 7:26 AM
OP Gal said...
I'm checking these out before I make them. I appreciate your thorough review. Your pants look great and comfy! Good job.
6/30/10 4:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Burda 8479 Co-ordinates
photo
Review by Oziroo on 1/8/05
Read Review

Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern
Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Evelyn Dress and Swing Top Digital Pattern ( Size 18 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Evelyn Dress and Swing Top Digital Pattern ( Size 18 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3797
photo
Review by Gold on 6/10/09
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Paper Pattern
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3762 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 3762 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7214 Pattern
Burda 7214 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us