Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5936 (Jacket with peplum) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 766 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:ghirsch
photo
About ghirschstar
NY USA
Member since: 10/22/04
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/09 4:35 PM
Last Updated:10/5/09 4:37 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RachelEsq said...
Saw this on your blog - I think it's really nice. It doesn't look ill-fitting. It does appear to be a lot shorter than the pattern photo, though. Great tip on making the shoulders narrower - thanks.
10/5/09 4:42 PM
geeklite said...
I think the jacket looks great and more than likely you're the only person thinking the peplum sticks out too much. BTW after looking at your blog, I think you could wear it inside out! I'm loving your choice for the lining.
10/5/09 5:28 PM
ClaireEmily said...
I love your jacket! I don't mind the peplum sticking out a bit myself and think it gives it flair. And the neckline and short sleeves really show off your body art! I think the whole outfit is fantastic =)
10/5/09 7:21 PM
lizpalmer said...
This just looks fabulous on you - and I think you should definitely give that beautiful lining an airing soon! I'll bet you get to like it more the more you wear it - I've had that with things I've not been delighted with at first. I also think the whole idea of a peplum is that it stands out a bit - that's what they do. Great job.
10/5/09 7:40 PM
marec said...
I love this jacket, and like others have said, you *could* wear it inside out. A question from another narrow shouldered woman: if you took out 3/4" from the shoulder, why was it necessary to add it back onto the sleeve cap? What am I missing here? ???? Anyway, cute, cute jacket.
10/5/09 8:36 PM
ghirsch said...
Aw, thanks, everyone! I actually wore it today and it's already grown on me quite a bit. In fact, I can't wait to make another so I get it *just* right. marec, here's the reasoning behind the sleeve alteration: when you narrow the shoulders of a garment, you change the shape of the armhole, and the sleeve won't fit in properly anymore. By adding the 3/4" back onto the sleeve cap, you're effectively just moving the shoulder seam up without affecting the fit of the sleeve into the armscye. Does that make sense?
10/5/09 9:10 PM
Lori V said...
Your jacket looks nice.
10/5/09 9:42 PM
blessedtosew said...
I love that jacket!!! It is soooo ladylike.
10/5/09 9:48 PM
Amanda S. said...
I'm sorry it didn't turn out as well as you would have liked. The style looks really nice on you, though. I just discovered your fabulous blog!
10/5/09 11:26 PM
smoody said...
great job!! love the lining you used- i enjoy your blog and love the time and craftsmanship you invest in your pieces! again beautiful job!!!
10/6/09 1:23 PM
marec said...
ghirsch, thank you for the explanation! That makes sense and explains why I have had some problems with sleeves fitting after that alteration.
10/6/09 2:47 PM
pammieh said...
I love your selections - wonderful - even though you're not that pleased with the peplum. . .
10/6/09 4:21 PM
Erica B. said...
Love it on you. I do agree that when I make this one over, I'll add length to the bodice too!
10/6/09 11:21 PM
nicegirl said...
Gorgeous! Love the silhouette and those short sleeves really are nice.
10/7/09 11:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2009-102
photo
Review by Heidi Ho on 1/12/10
Read Review

New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 18W-26W )
Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 18W-26W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's M5050
photo
Review by velosewer on 11/3/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us