SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5936 (Jacket with peplum)

10 more reviews
Viewed 768 times 
Reviewed by:ghirsch
photo

 
 
About ghirschstar
NY USA
Member since: 10/22/04
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/09 4:35 PM
Last Updated:10/5/09 4:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nicegirl said...
Gorgeous! Love the silhouette and those short sleeves really are nice.
10/7/09 11:13 AM
Erica B. said...
Love it on you. I do agree that when I make this one over, I'll add length to the bodice too!
10/6/09 11:21 PM
pammieh said...
I love your selections - wonderful - even though you're not that pleased with the peplum. . .
10/6/09 4:21 PM
marec said...
ghirsch, thank you for the explanation! That makes sense and explains why I have had some problems with sleeves fitting after that alteration.
10/6/09 2:47 PM
smoody said...
great job!! love the lining you used- i enjoy your blog and love the time and craftsmanship you invest in your pieces! again beautiful job!!!
10/6/09 1:23 PM
Amanda S. said...
I'm sorry it didn't turn out as well as you would have liked. The style looks really nice on you, though. I just discovered your fabulous blog!
10/5/09 11:26 PM
blessedtosew said...
I love that jacket!!! It is soooo ladylike.
10/5/09 9:48 PM
Lori V said...
Your jacket looks nice.
10/5/09 9:42 PM
ghirsch said...
Aw, thanks, everyone! I actually wore it today and it's already grown on me quite a bit. In fact, I can't wait to make another so I get it *just* right. marec, here's the reasoning behind the sleeve alteration: when you narrow the shoulders of a garment, you change the shape of the armhole, and the sleeve won't fit in properly anymore. By adding the 3/4" back onto the sleeve cap, you're effectively just moving the shoulder seam up without affecting the fit of the sleeve into the armscye. Does that make sense?
10/5/09 9:10 PM
marec said...
I love this jacket, and like others have said, you *could* wear it inside out. A question from another narrow shouldered woman: if you took out 3/4" from the shoulder, why was it necessary to add it back onto the sleeve cap? What am I missing here? ???? Anyway, cute, cute jacket.
10/5/09 8:36 PM
lizpalmer said...
This just looks fabulous on you - and I think you should definitely give that beautiful lining an airing soon! I'll bet you get to like it more the more you wear it - I've had that with things I've not been delighted with at first. I also think the whole idea of a peplum is that it stands out a bit - that's what they do. Great job.
10/5/09 7:40 PM
ClaireEmily said...
I love your jacket! I don't mind the peplum sticking out a bit myself and think it gives it flair. And the neckline and short sleeves really show off your body art! I think the whole outfit is fantastic =)
10/5/09 7:21 PM
geeklite said...
I think the jacket looks great and more than likely you're the only person thinking the peplum sticks out too much. BTW after looking at your blog, I think you could wear it inside out! I'm loving your choice for the lining.
10/5/09 5:28 PM
RachelEsq said...
Saw this on your blog - I think it's really nice. It doesn't look ill-fitting. It does appear to be a lot shorter than the pattern photo, though. Great tip on making the shoulders narrower - thanks.
10/5/09 4:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Other Drape Drape

photo
by: Cation Des...

Review
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

More Info