SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5936 (Jacket with peplum)

10 more reviews
Viewed 768 times 
Reviewed by:ghirsch
photo

 
 
About ghirschstar
NY USA
Member since: 10/22/04
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/09 4:35 PM
Last Updated:10/5/09 4:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nicegirl said...
Gorgeous! Love the silhouette and those short sleeves really are nice.
10/7/09 11:13 AM
Erica B. said...
Love it on you. I do agree that when I make this one over, I'll add length to the bodice too!
10/6/09 11:21 PM
pammieh said...
I love your selections - wonderful - even though you're not that pleased with the peplum. . .
10/6/09 4:21 PM
marec said...
ghirsch, thank you for the explanation! That makes sense and explains why I have had some problems with sleeves fitting after that alteration.
10/6/09 2:47 PM
smoody said...
great job!! love the lining you used- i enjoy your blog and love the time and craftsmanship you invest in your pieces! again beautiful job!!!
10/6/09 1:23 PM
Amanda S. said...
I'm sorry it didn't turn out as well as you would have liked. The style looks really nice on you, though. I just discovered your fabulous blog!
10/5/09 11:26 PM
blessedtosew said...
I love that jacket!!! It is soooo ladylike.
10/5/09 9:48 PM
Lori V said...
Your jacket looks nice.
10/5/09 9:42 PM
ghirsch said...
Aw, thanks, everyone! I actually wore it today and it's already grown on me quite a bit. In fact, I can't wait to make another so I get it *just* right. marec, here's the reasoning behind the sleeve alteration: when you narrow the shoulders of a garment, you change the shape of the armhole, and the sleeve won't fit in properly anymore. By adding the 3/4" back onto the sleeve cap, you're effectively just moving the shoulder seam up without affecting the fit of the sleeve into the armscye. Does that make sense?
10/5/09 9:10 PM
marec said...
I love this jacket, and like others have said, you *could* wear it inside out. A question from another narrow shouldered woman: if you took out 3/4" from the shoulder, why was it necessary to add it back onto the sleeve cap? What am I missing here? ???? Anyway, cute, cute jacket.
10/5/09 8:36 PM
lizpalmer said...
This just looks fabulous on you - and I think you should definitely give that beautiful lining an airing soon! I'll bet you get to like it more the more you wear it - I've had that with things I've not been delighted with at first. I also think the whole idea of a peplum is that it stands out a bit - that's what they do. Great job.
10/5/09 7:40 PM
ClaireEmily said...
I love your jacket! I don't mind the peplum sticking out a bit myself and think it gives it flair. And the neckline and short sleeves really show off your body art! I think the whole outfit is fantastic =)
10/5/09 7:21 PM
geeklite said...
I think the jacket looks great and more than likely you're the only person thinking the peplum sticks out too much. BTW after looking at your blog, I think you could wear it inside out! I'm loving your choice for the lining.
10/5/09 5:28 PM
RachelEsq said...
Saw this on your blog - I think it's really nice. It doesn't look ill-fitting. It does appear to be a lot shorter than the pattern photo, though. Great tip on making the shoulders narrower - thanks.
10/5/09 4:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Self Drafted Pattern Haltertop Hussy

photo
by: SavageCoco

Review
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8886

photo
by: Clareew

Review