SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6952 (5 top variations)

18 more reviews
Viewed 2001 times 
Reviewed by:Rennie Ashby
photo

 
 
About Rennie Ashbystarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/8/02
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 84
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/02 1:49 AM
Last Updated:5/1/02 11:01 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
I like the New Look patterns and this looks like a great shirt. I like the placket and the shaping the darts give the pattern.
4/28/02 9:38 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I haven't used the New Look patterns yet, but I will have to try them. This looks like a very up to date style.
4/28/02 12:22 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Another winner. That's two out of two you must be pleased. The plackets must be really small on this shirt as I have always used 1/2" buttons on placket shirts without problems. Thanks for the heads up on this shirt placket
4/28/02 6:28 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, that's very beautiful. I'm glad to know you had a positive experience with New Look. I just got 2 of their patterns from the Monsterpattern.com sale, and I feel good knowing you got such a great result. Thanks!
4/28/02 10:24 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie - How do you feel about NL sizing? Did you use a pattern size comparable to the Big 4 (or are we down to Big 2 now?.....). I've heard suggestions that this sizing is more like Burda's. What do you think?
4/29/02 9:19 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, I love this blouse! The color is stunning and it's very pretty!
4/30/02 0:38 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for all the comments. I'm encouraged to try more New Look. I love their website which shows actual garments sewn. Karla, my experieced is so limited with New Look that I've yet to make pants but would agree with the tops, the sizing is more comparable to Burda than the Big 3. Makes sense, since these are British patterns sizing would be European. Penny pincher that I am I just realized my Walmart cuts JoAnns by 55 cents on these patterns.
5/1/02 9:42 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
After reading Rennie's great review , and taking a peek at the photo , I bought this pattern ! I made the sleeveless version. So cute , I really like it . The next time I'll make it a little higher in the armpit . Very easy , I liked that there was no facing and the bias arm hole is very RTW !
5/23/02 4:33 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I feel silly but I had a terrible time figuring out the placket and never did get it right. I modified the pattern to remove it and was pleased. Never did figure out why I couldn't understand the instructions for that! However, I plan to make another blouse with this flattering pattern.
6/27/02 1:17 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Twinkster said...
Great technique on the little ruffles at the hem! You did a beautiful job!
7/4/05 8:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Pink Fig 11

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2011-130

photo
by: valerie se...

Review
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now