Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6788 (Vintage 1947 Shirtdress) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 329 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/7/09 10:32 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
heathercampbell29 said...
Cute, I love vintage patterns and I think this looks great on you! I think the japanese fabric is really fun for this dress.
10/7/09 11:00 AM
jilly cooper said...
wonderful. i love seeing the vintage patterns sewn up and the contrast is great too.
10/7/09 11:02 AM
Heatherrique said...
Your shirt dress is ultra chic! Your total look with the buttons, shoes, belts, and upbeat personality is totally fun and fabulous!
10/7/09 1:01 PM
Mufffet said...
Very very nice. :) Love your interpretation of this pattern and the contrasting fabrics.
10/7/09 2:48 PM
kittybishop said...
As always, your makes are so lovely and I really do love that sleeve detail.
10/7/09 5:05 PM
kittybishop said...
As always, you're makes are so lovely and I really do love that sleeve detail.
10/7/09 5:46 PM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for the useful lead on Hong Kong. I'm thinking of going to HK very soon so it's timely indeed. I could see your floral fabric from Tokyo (the middle one) in McCall's 5433 - see clin's review - or in Burda 2561.
10/7/09 5:52 PM
pammieh said...
I love it - I just returned from Tokyo and am jealous of your purchases:)
10/8/09 0:23 AM
pammieh said...
I love it - I just returned from Tokyo and am jealous of your purchases:)
10/8/09 0:23 AM
kiddo said...
You have such a wonderful sense of mixing fabrics. Thank you for sharing your Tokyo photos, they're wonderful! The extra fabric is probably style ease and your comments about bra construction also ring true. Remember Joan Crawford.
10/8/09 9:40 AM
Anniinbc said...
Super cute, I especially like the contrast facing for the sleeves and neck. Very unique garment.
10/8/09 11:43 AM
OP Gal said...
Very pretty dress. That contrast lining looks like printed Sashiko, which I've tried to do and failed. I can't see the detail on the fabric, but I bet the contrast fabric really really compliments it. Great review, too.
10/8/09 11:44 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8196
photo
Review by ladybegood on 8/1/07
Read Review

Vogue 1385 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1385 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6694 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6694 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4076
photo
Review by Sandi S on 2/27/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us