Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 3436 (formal dresses) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 2706 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Marie Hoge
photo
About Marie Hogestar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/1/02
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/06 0:11 AM
Last Updated:2/4/04 4:26 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Doris Stewart said...
Would love to see the picture - but can't :-( The dresses sound wonderful after all your hard work. Well done!
2/4/04 4:45 PM
sewgirl said...
You must have been the busiest bride ever!! Well done.
2/4/04 5:05 PM
kathi s said...
I am "forbidden" to view the picture. I would love to see it!
2/4/04 6:51 PM
KathleenS said...
I love the colour! Any chance you could make the picture bigger so we can see more detail, or is it just me (it's very small for me)? Sorry you had so much trouble. I've also found Mccalls patterns too big (hate it hate it hate it - what's the point of having measurements if the pattern doesn't stick to them), but I find that if you go down a couple of sizes in the first place the pattern is often shaped nicely.
2/5/04 1:46 AM
Ann C said...
I guess Kathleen saw the pic, but I get the "access forbidden" window.
2/5/04 1:22 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Marie, I keep trying, but get a "Photo not available due to maintenance" I didn't get this with the other pictures. Hmmmm -Ann
2/5/04 7:41 PM
moonfleur said...
If you look, the entire first sentence is tied to the picture name. Delete everything that occurs after the ".jpg" and you will see a tiny little picture of the lovely purple gowns!
2/18/04 10:00 AM
gellod said...
Any luck with the photo?
4/17/09 4:54 PM
mtcl said...
I found the exact same problem with the sizing; several inches too big, requiring a lot of time adjusting. Very disappointing.
8/3/09 11:24 AM
said...
Dear Marie, TI was not able to open the photo, but thanks for the frank and specific review. I had this pattern on the list to make for an evening event, but I may re-consider. If anyone knows of a similar style, but with a more successful pattern, I'd love to hear about it. ---Vlier
10/27/09 12:16 PM
stukawife said...
I am using this pattern for my own wedding dress...As I am working on it I too can see that the sizes are way off.
3/12/11 4:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

McCall's 5081
photo
Review by Denny1600 on 4/17/07
Read Review

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hailey Ruffled Up Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Hailey Ruffled Up Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6429
photo
Review by born2bead on 7/31/08
Read Review

Vogue 1378 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1378 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4020 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4020 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us