Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4079 (Classic Fit Three Hour Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 268 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Bonny Dune
photo
About Bonny Dunestar
Member since: 1/21/03
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 10
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/10 1:41 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Wow! What a review! Thanks:-)
3/22/10 2:56 AM
zuzu_petal said...
Killer review. Thanks so much. Oh, and the shirt looks great, too!
3/22/10 6:17 AM
no7262 said...
You really have written a wonderful review! Thank you for all the great info! Nora :)
3/22/10 6:51 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Great looking shirt!
3/22/10 8:25 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Great review Great results.. You will have a sewing-porn movie if you watch DPC's shirt making video... so if you have not run to the library and grab a copy and settle in for some fun. His pants book/DVD is great too, but you can't just watch it end to end. I too have a DPC crush... Lets start a fan club!
3/22/10 10:07 AM
Bonny Dune said...
Oh I have that DVD, I have everything he puts out.
3/22/10 11:17 AM
Dynamo said...
Thank you for such a great review. Although I've been sewing for years I have just started taking a dressmaking class and so much of what you have said are things that my teacher has pointed out to us about what makes for a good pattern. Newbies often just assume they are at fault if something doesn't turn out .. doesn't occur to us that the pattern may be to blame! I will pick up this pattern next time McCall's goes on sale.
3/22/10 11:49 AM
voet said...
Thanks, Bonny Dune, for a great review. I sew many men's shirts, but I have never tried this pattern. I will have to pick it up. I like the French front on shirts, although I still use a button placket occasionally--it really depends on the shirt. One thing I noticed on your shirt is that you stitched down the folded edge of the front. I have a ready to wear Italian linen shirt that I bought in New York a number of years ago. They did not stitch down the folded edge. There was some light interfacing on the top front (left for men, right for women) inserted between the folds and they probably helped to hold it in place but no interfacing on the button side of the shirt. The buttons and the button holes were all that held things in place. It gives a really dressy appearance. I was also curious to see how the slight curve of the cuff worked with the stripes. It appears to work OK, although I would like to see that in more detail. Regarding the 3 hours to make the shirt. Professional shirt makers can make a shirt in that amount of time. However, as you correctly noted, they do not count the time to cut out the shirt, because in a commercial environment, that is done by a cutter. As you correctly pointed out, it takes time to cut out a shirt, especially when matching stripes or prints. The young man modeling your shirt seems really happy with it.
3/22/10 1:20 PM
Bonny Dune said...
Usually sewers who make this shirt complain that it takes much longer then three hours to make. I just wanted to point out what the three hours refers to, and to say don't let that turn you off. This is a great pattern and it deserves some accolades. Yes I did sew down the front edge. The guy who got the shirt requested that, and we all know the customer is always right. The slight curve does not effect the stripes at all. Sorry the shirt is more then 3000 miles away so I won't be getting anymore photos of it.
3/22/10 1:51 PM
FreyaStark said...
A nice shirt, and thanks for a useful review. I'm glad you drew attention to the timing detail. I think the timing giving on patterns is misleading for beginners and inexperienced seamstresses. Making a garment can take much longer if you include altering the tissue, cutting out and fitting.
3/22/10 5:48 PM
Renren said...
Based on this excellent review I have added you to my list of favorite reviewers (yes, the review is that good! Great looking shirt and this pattern's coming home with me next sale!
3/22/10 11:43 PM
Hilary said...
Love the shirt!!~thanks for taking the time to complete such a thorough review! I'll definitely pick this one up!
6/16/10 3:22 PM
Hilary said...
Love the shirt!!~thanks for taking the time to complete such a thorough review! I'll definitely pick this one up!
6/16/10 7:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2008-112 B
photo
Review by Birgitte on 1/10/08
Read Review

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5858
photo
Review by optimistic on 1/16/10
Read Review

Butterick 5613 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5613 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse City Dress
Loes Hinse City Dress

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us