Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6965 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1646 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Rennie Ashby
photo
About Rennie Ashbystarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/8/02
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 84
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/02 2:25 AM
Last Updated:5/1/02 11:04 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
This pattern looks like a great summer dress that can be casual or dressy. I just wish my computer would load up your pix, but I always have a problem?? Dunno why, and I sure would like to see the finished dress and your other stuff..... :-(
4/28/02 9:42 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Rennie: I'm sure your dress is gorgeous like all your work - but it is "forbidden" to me. I particularly wanted to see it as I have this pattern and am waistline challenged. I'm so glad you reviewed it - I'd love to see how it looks.
4/28/02 3:50 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I really like both of your New Look creations. Did you use the same size you would in an American pattern?
4/28/02 5:12 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the compliment,Janet,. I went with my usual size 12. I'm becoming a believer in tissue fitting as I'm seeing more and more how sizing varies even in the same pattern brand. Also, recommend cutting S.A.'s as much as 1" larger the first time I make a pattern for "fit insurance".
4/28/02 5:20 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
To clarify, cut just the side seam allowances larger for "fit insurance"
4/28/02 5:22 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This is such a cute dress. I have used New Look a few times with hit and miss results. So I am going to take your advise and learn to tissue fit, as muslins rarely fit my time schedule. Thanks for the review and advise
4/28/02 6:22 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very cute Rennie, I have this same pattern. What fabric did you make yours out of?
4/28/02 7:35 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow, Rennie, what a pretty dress! I will have to give this one a try.
4/28/02 7:48 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sue, I made it out of a silky feeling sueded rayon by Hi-Fashion from Fabric.com purchase a couple of years ago. Drape is key for the undulating look of the lotus.
4/28/02 9:01 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I too would love to see your finished garment but I too am "forbidden" from viewing the photo. Deepika tells me it's because I'm a non-Yahoo user. Any way to allow all access?
4/29/02 1:23 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very pretty dress, Rennie! By the way, if you're having trouble viewing the pic, copy the link to the clipboard and paste only the "http:..." address (without the javascript stuff)into the browser, and you can get in.
4/30/02 1:03 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for all your comments. I have the pics on Ofoto.com, not Yahoo so public viewing is permitted.. Try just clicking on the camera icon on the list of patterns reviewed. (Another Deepika hint I recieved).
5/1/02 9:33 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for switching the photos. The dress is lovely!
5/1/02 2:41 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
The dress is adorable! Now I really want to make it. It's kinda sexy, but doesn't reveal anything too risque. Great job!
5/1/02 9:18 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

New Look 6429
photo
Review by JuanitaVA on 7/3/11
Read Review

Burda 8501 Pattern
Burda 8501 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2890 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2890 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6284
photo
Review by Andreahg on 12/21/11
Read Review

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Couch Caddy
Couch Caddy

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us