SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8430 (MISSES' JACKET)

30 more reviews
Viewed 795 times 
Reviewed by:dingyadi
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About dingyadistar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/18/07
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/10/09 1:45 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryDB said...
Love the jacket! The felted fabric looks luscious, nice work. Thanks so much for the review.
10/10/09 2:20 AM
CissieW said...
That is so cute! Love the addition of the flower broach. Did you even have to hem the felted wool?
10/10/09 7:03 AM
RachelEsq said...
Looks like it'd be easy to thrown on over a dress or with jeans. Nice!
10/10/09 7:35 AM
Tiner W said...
So, so pretty! Now I want to try felting!
10/10/09 7:35 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
This looks fabulous, and it must be fun to wear!
10/10/09 8:03 AM
carolynw said...
Really lovely!!
10/10/09 9:34 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Lovely.. next question, with your VW Lav. wool jersey.. how much length did you start with and what length remained after the felting was completed and needle ready? I am just wondering how much I would need. Thanks! Beautiful jacket...
10/10/09 9:54 AM
DorothyK said...
Very nice. I've had this pattern for awhile and now I'm inspired to make it. I also have some of the same fabric, but never thought of felting it. Now you have me thinking...
10/10/09 12:24 PM
dingyadi said...
Hi Nancy - I started with a smidge more than 3 yards of the wool jersey and by the end I think I had about 2.25 yards x 45 " wide (should have remembered to measure it!). The pattern took 2 1/8 and I have a 15" x 30" chunk left if that helps. I note that felting instructions on the internet mentioned additional felting in the tumble dryer but I didn't do that step, so if you do that as well it may shrink a bit more.
10/10/09 11:44 PM
wildberrymom said...
What a fun jacket--look gorgeous! Appreciate the fabric measurements for felting. Looks like something I may want to try.
10/11/09 1:55 AM
wildberrymom said...
What a fun jacket--look gorgeous! Appreciate the fabric measurements for felting. Looks like something I may want to try.
10/11/09 1:57 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Dingyadi... thanks! I have been to fabric dot com and they still have one color of the VL wool left.. so I am gong to order it. Nothing like just one color to choose from to eliminate all the dithering over which color to choose! I am making use of your info and thank you! Thank You! for taking the time to respond.
10/11/09 10:29 AM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful jacket! Nice to read about your alterations to achieve your fit. I have this pattern as well and you encourage me to make mine soon. Thanks
10/11/09 10:42 AM
barbcl said...
A really wow! jacket! Thanks for the review!
10/11/09 10:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Butterick 4609

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-114

photo
by: BLT

Review
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Buy Now