Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8430 (MISSES' JACKET) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 785 times 30 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:dingyadi
photo
Friend of PR
About dingyadistar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/18/07
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/10/09 1:45 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryDB said...
Love the jacket! The felted fabric looks luscious, nice work. Thanks so much for the review.
10/10/09 2:20 AM
CissieW said...
That is so cute! Love the addition of the flower broach. Did you even have to hem the felted wool?
10/10/09 7:03 AM
RachelEsq said...
Looks like it'd be easy to thrown on over a dress or with jeans. Nice!
10/10/09 7:35 AM
Tiner W said...
So, so pretty! Now I want to try felting!
10/10/09 7:35 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
This looks fabulous, and it must be fun to wear!
10/10/09 8:03 AM
carolynw said...
Really lovely!!
10/10/09 9:34 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Lovely.. next question, with your VW Lav. wool jersey.. how much length did you start with and what length remained after the felting was completed and needle ready? I am just wondering how much I would need. Thanks! Beautiful jacket...
10/10/09 9:54 AM
DorothyK said...
Very nice. I've had this pattern for awhile and now I'm inspired to make it. I also have some of the same fabric, but never thought of felting it. Now you have me thinking...
10/10/09 12:24 PM
dingyadi said...
Hi Nancy - I started with a smidge more than 3 yards of the wool jersey and by the end I think I had about 2.25 yards x 45 " wide (should have remembered to measure it!). The pattern took 2 1/8 and I have a 15" x 30" chunk left if that helps. I note that felting instructions on the internet mentioned additional felting in the tumble dryer but I didn't do that step, so if you do that as well it may shrink a bit more.
10/10/09 11:44 PM
wildberrymom said...
What a fun jacket--look gorgeous! Appreciate the fabric measurements for felting. Looks like something I may want to try.
10/11/09 1:55 AM
wildberrymom said...
What a fun jacket--look gorgeous! Appreciate the fabric measurements for felting. Looks like something I may want to try.
10/11/09 1:57 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Dingyadi... thanks! I have been to fabric dot com and they still have one color of the VL wool left.. so I am gong to order it. Nothing like just one color to choose from to eliminate all the dithering over which color to choose! I am making use of your info and thank you! Thank You! for taking the time to respond.
10/11/09 10:29 AM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful jacket! Nice to read about your alterations to achieve your fit. I have this pattern as well and you encourage me to make mine soon. Thanks
10/11/09 10:42 AM
barbcl said...
A really wow! jacket! Thanks for the review!
10/11/09 10:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

McCall's 5838
photo
Review by rubbecca on 7/29/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )
Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2009-102
photo
Review by elily00 on 11/30/09
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6187 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6187 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 2902 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 2902 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us