Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2853 (Adult Gorilla, Lion, Bear and) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 286 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:JDHnz
photo
Friend of PR
About JDHnz
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/27/07
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/10/09 10:58 AM
Last Updated:10/11/09 6:35 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sew obsessed said...
Wow! Your first garment after a 25 year hiatus! Beautiful job! What a great Cowardly Lion. And, congratulations on your first review.
10/10/09 11:20 AM
jilly cooper said...
wow if a beginner who has not even sewn since high school jumps right in and makes a costume as good as this, with fake fur (I Heard it was not easy to work with), zipper, lining etc, then how come this sewing business is so hard for so many of us?????????????? are there some very talented people out there who are just born to sew:) Well done. Fantastic effort, would love pictures of the inside of the mask bit - please, and did you mainly use your overlocker or sewing machine and what stitches work best with the fake fur etc
10/10/09 11:52 AM
kkkkaty said...
super duper! I love it!
10/10/09 12:18 PM
birdmcfarland said...
You have every right to be happy - I'd be thrilled! THat is adorable and looks completely professionally done.
10/10/09 1:46 PM
Noeysmommy said...
That's great!
10/10/09 2:51 PM
dbsewer said...
I LOVE your costume and thanks for the picture. It came out great. You did a wonderful job. Welcome to the great world of sewing. Thanks for a really interesting review.
10/10/09 3:01 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
CAn you load a picture of the boots? I will be making this pattern too this week. You did a great job. Good tip about the tail. I agree about the ears...I've made a number of these hoods and it looks much better to attach while constructing the hood.
10/10/09 5:07 PM
JDHnz said...
Thanks for the comments everyone. I have added some photos to my flickr page for jilly cooper and Passion4Sewing. @jilly cooper, I used a sewing machine, for all of it as I don't have an overlocker. I think an overlocker would have been helpful when I was making the lining for the jumpsuit, as it was quite time consuming having to zigzag all of the edges to prevent them from fraying. As for the stitches used in the actual construction, I pretty much followed the recommendation of the pattern and used a straight stitch for everything. There wasn't a lot of hand sewing required -- the notable exceptions being the bottom edge of the lining in the hood, and of course sewing the spats to the shoes!
10/10/09 8:07 PM
katharin said...
This costume is amazing. It looks fantastic. I'm impressed that you even attached a lining to it. I hope that you'll have other occasions to wear it.
10/10/09 8:19 PM
Sandi S said...
Congratulations on tackling this project! You did a fantastic job and I can definitely imagine this was a hit at the party.
10/10/09 11:05 PM
jilly cooper said...
JDHnz - thank you so much for the photos and extra info. awesome
10/10/09 11:06 PM
pammieh said...
So cute!!!
10/11/09 0:48 AM
JEF said...
Great costume and great review! What an inspiring return to sewing. Did you add a link to your flickr page in the review? I don't see and would love to look at more photos.
10/11/09 9:40 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, SIMPLE, this ain't, I'd say -- ha! :o) Working with all the FAUX FUR is a challenge in itself, and this is SO NICE! It turned out PERFECTLY! :O) I love the LONG tail, and that HOOD is so neat. I thought you must have BOUGHT that to go with the costume, but then I read that you made THAT too. Bravo! Even your makeup is perfect. :o)
10/11/09 3:06 PM
Annette1 said...
And you even have the COURAGE medal to wear. :o) I love it!
10/11/09 3:08 PM
Kayseri said...
Fantastic costume, well done.
10/11/09 6:03 PM
JDHnz said...
Thanks for the lovely compliments everyone, you're giving me a huge ego boost! :) I've made the link to my flickr photoset more obvious in the review (it was just linked on the project photo before).
10/11/09 6:40 PM
RLL said...
I think this is absolutely amazing!
10/11/09 6:45 PM
Carolyn C said...
You're awesome! I just made some simple Burning Man leggings ("furries") with fake sherpa for a friend of mine and I thought I was going to lose my marbles trying to keep the fabric from slipping and sliding. And you made a whole lion. You rock.
10/11/09 8:51 PM
Kellie R. said...
You did a fabulous job on this! I can't believe that you haven't sewn in such a long time! I find fur exasperating! What a superb costume; I hope you have fun at the party!
10/11/09 9:13 PM
wreninrome said...
congratulations! I knew what it was the Cowardly Lion right away and it's such an amazing outfit. Are you entering into the Costume contest? You'd be a definite contender!
10/12/09 5:40 AM
JDHnz said...
Thanks wreninrome, I didn't realise there was a contest, so I went searching and checked out the rules. Unfortunately I started my costume back in August, although I did finish it within the competition period, so I don't think I'm eligible to enter. :(
10/12/09 7:02 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Kwik Sew 3694 Tops
photo
Review by Steffie on 1/29/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1687 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1687 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6864 Pattern
New Look 6864 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5171
photo
Review by KamiSue2 on 9/2/11
Read Review

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us