SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2734 (Anna Sui Vogue American Design)

5 more reviews
Viewed 903 times 
Reviewed by:Catbird
photo

 
 
About Catbirdstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/10/09 9:01 PM
Last Updated:10/10/09 9:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Restart06 said...
cute jacket and I love the detailing.....can't wait till you make the next jacket and review it here now that you know all the ins & outs of the pattern. Thanks for sharing!
10/10/09 9:17 PM
KathleenS said...
I like yours much better than the pattern illustration. The plain fabric really shows off the seam details.
10/10/09 9:23 PM
Annette1 said...
This is SO cute, and I'm glad you included pictures of the pattern itself, because I could just ALMOST see it, but NOT QUITE. Now I remember it though. AND I noticed those jeans right off, too. This one is a winner all the way around. You may have been mortified trying to get out of the thing at the hairdresser's, but it's SOOOOOOOOOOO worth it, because the FIT is DIVINE. The PEPLUM and those zig-zagged INSETS just MAKE it. You look MAAAAAAAAAAAVELOUS! :o))
10/10/09 9:27 PM
Christas said...
Ooooooh! I sooo love this jacket! It is absolutely wonderful! All those pieces add up to a terrific looking jacket on a beautiful person! Your sewing is always so perfect. I always enjoy looking at your lovely creations.
10/10/09 9:34 PM
Christas said...
Where is the review of that cute little black top?! It was really cute, and you should review it!
10/10/09 9:37 PM
Athene said...
Great detailing - very nice jacket.
10/10/09 9:42 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Love love love this jacket and I hope I can find this pattern soon.
10/10/09 9:49 PM
Catbird said...
You're pretty spunky for a little PIPSQUEAK, and you know who you are! :-))
10/10/09 10:00 PM
Christas said...
Hmmmmmm..... I don't have a clue WHO you could be talking about! LOL!
10/10/09 10:06 PM
carolynw said...
Without your review (and AmyRose's) I would not have given this pattern a second look - all I can say is your jacket is wonderful -beautiful - love it and way to go with using an old loveseat cover!!
10/10/09 10:14 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
I adore your jacket!! It is wonderful.
10/10/09 10:41 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
This jacket is BEAUTIFUL!!! I absolutely LOVE all of the seaming!!! You did an EXCELLENT job on sewing it!!! It fits you SO WELL!!!
10/10/09 11:32 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Fantastic jacket, all that seam detail must have been really time consuming but the end result is definitely worth it.
10/11/09 0:48 AM
jilly cooper said...
this is what I love about PR, people re-use fabric, give OOP patterns a go and the result is one stylish jacket!!!!
10/11/09 1:49 AM
valerie sews said...
Lovely job on a lovely jacket. If your tester is this good I look forward to seeing the 'real' one.
10/11/09 1:57 AM
Peggy L said...
Great Jacket! I love all the details and it fits to a tee. Amazing that you used an old loveseat cover. I love the idea of this in old jeans.
10/11/09 6:37 AM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful jacket, really worth the time invested/needed.
10/11/09 8:00 AM
Lori V said...
Very cute jacket and great details.
10/11/09 8:12 AM
Margie T said...
Congratulations on a lovely jacket. Enjoy!
10/11/09 8:25 AM
Fran S said...
What a great jacket, but what a great sewing job as well!!
10/11/09 9:11 AM
jlg said...
Fabulous jacket. You did a great job on this.
10/11/09 9:40 AM
Twinset said...
What a great jacket! I didn't know this pattern existed, but now I need it! Your 'tester' looks fantastic, and I love the idea of it in denim!
10/11/09 10:11 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Now that is an OOP to BOLO (Be on the Look Out). Yours looks much better than the pattern envelope. I particularly enjoyed your comments about "large expanses of fabric for testers...." Made me smile! thanks for sharing an OOP great pattern
10/11/09 10:17 AM
barbcl said...
Beautiful jacket with great seaming!
10/11/09 10:34 AM
Jolet said...
The style looks great on you!! Very sporty and on the other hand classic. Next time better about the finishing of the seams, nobody will look inside. Great effort to put such a complicated jacket together. And this was only the "muslin".
10/11/09 11:34 AM
Barbara V said...
Great jacket - perfect fabric. What a jaw dropping surprise when I clicked on the Vogue pattern image. I've had this pattern for years in an un-sewn status. Now I really want to make it up. Thank you!
10/11/09 12:04 PM
merlette said...
Wow! I really love it!
10/11/09 12:04 PM
Amanda S. said...
Super cute! I love patterns with interesting construction lines and would make this is a heartbeat were it not OOP. You did a great job. I actually prefer yours in the solid color to the envelope picture. Maybe I will have to search this one out...
10/11/09 12:21 PM
DorothyK said...
Stunning jacket. I love it with jeans. I'll have to get this pattern somehow. Thanks for the review.
10/11/09 12:22 PM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful jacket. Now I want to make one just like it.
10/11/09 12:39 PM
becca a said...
Fabulous jacket!
10/11/09 12:58 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your "tester" jacket is delightfully marvelous. I had to double check what you mentioned for the fabric you used because I was still in disbelief. What a clever use of fabric to create a better-than-designer piece. "Catbird Creations" did it again with another stunner!
10/11/09 1:25 PM
Catbird said...
Well, "Catbird Creations" certainly gave me a chuckle! Thank you all for such nice (and funny) comments.
10/11/09 1:36 PM
Annette1 said...
I had the same thought about THE LITTLE PIPSQUEAK, but managed to keep my trap shut ... until NOW, I mean. :o)
10/11/09 2:33 PM
emeraldjul said...
Terrific jacket - what a clever reuse of fabric and the washed denim gives a great jacket and even better look!
10/11/09 2:33 PM
Birgitte said...
I so much prefer your version, just gorgeous! The solid color is what brings all the piecing come to life and more than justifies the labor involved. It also makes it timeless. Fabulous job, great review as always, and you look fantastic in it- congrats!!
10/11/09 2:49 PM
Mufffet said...
Excellent. I think you are "Advanced" not intermediate. The seaming work on this is so nicely done. Very well fitted and all together a fine garment.
10/11/09 3:17 PM
Kayseri said...
Oh boy, what a terrific jacket!
10/11/09 5:56 PM
RachelEsq said...
Super impressive. A real standout jacket.
10/12/09 11:35 AM
Karendee said...
You have completely outdone yourself with this jacket, Catbird. Your sewing is so precise and the fit is just beautiful on your lovely figure. The fabric acquisition was a thrifty solution to produce such a fine project. Both the denim and the velvet sound wonderful; think of the velvet with dress jeans during the holiday season! That would be a winner!
10/12/09 5:16 PM
Karendee said...
After reviewing this jacket, I went to find your former reviews. I read them thoroughly and am quite impressed with all of your garments. Thanks again for such educational reviews.
10/12/09 6:01 PM
SandraB said...
Beautiful jacket!
10/12/09 8:28 PM
cgHipp said...
Wow, this looks fantastic and completely professional. Great jacket!
10/13/09 9:11 PM
eugenia123 said...
Stunning jacket - I love all those interesting constructions lines and it looks amazing on you. I wish I had that pattern!
10/14/09 10:12 AM
lorrwill said...
Much better than the pattern photo! I wish I had picked this up while it was still in print.
11/29/10 0:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Simplicity 9158

photo
by: globalgran

Review
Vogue Patterns 8874

photo
by: Sewlful

Review
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now