SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2734 (Anna Sui Vogue American Design)

5 more reviews
Viewed 904 times 
Reviewed by:Catbird
photo

 
 
About Catbirdstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/10/09 9:01 PM
Last Updated:10/10/09 9:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lorrwill said...
Much better than the pattern photo! I wish I had picked this up while it was still in print.
11/29/10 0:01 AM
eugenia123 said...
Stunning jacket - I love all those interesting constructions lines and it looks amazing on you. I wish I had that pattern!
10/14/09 10:12 AM
cgHipp said...
Wow, this looks fantastic and completely professional. Great jacket!
10/13/09 9:11 PM
SandraB said...
Beautiful jacket!
10/12/09 8:28 PM
Karendee said...
After reviewing this jacket, I went to find your former reviews. I read them thoroughly and am quite impressed with all of your garments. Thanks again for such educational reviews.
10/12/09 6:01 PM
Karendee said...
You have completely outdone yourself with this jacket, Catbird. Your sewing is so precise and the fit is just beautiful on your lovely figure. The fabric acquisition was a thrifty solution to produce such a fine project. Both the denim and the velvet sound wonderful; think of the velvet with dress jeans during the holiday season! That would be a winner!
10/12/09 5:16 PM
RachelEsq said...
Super impressive. A real standout jacket.
10/12/09 11:35 AM
Kayseri said...
Oh boy, what a terrific jacket!
10/11/09 5:56 PM
Mufffet said...
Excellent. I think you are "Advanced" not intermediate. The seaming work on this is so nicely done. Very well fitted and all together a fine garment.
10/11/09 3:17 PM
Birgitte said...
I so much prefer your version, just gorgeous! The solid color is what brings all the piecing come to life and more than justifies the labor involved. It also makes it timeless. Fabulous job, great review as always, and you look fantastic in it- congrats!!
10/11/09 2:49 PM
emeraldjul said...
Terrific jacket - what a clever reuse of fabric and the washed denim gives a great jacket and even better look!
10/11/09 2:33 PM
Annette1 said...
I had the same thought about THE LITTLE PIPSQUEAK, but managed to keep my trap shut ... until NOW, I mean. :o)
10/11/09 2:33 PM
Catbird said...
Well, "Catbird Creations" certainly gave me a chuckle! Thank you all for such nice (and funny) comments.
10/11/09 1:36 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your "tester" jacket is delightfully marvelous. I had to double check what you mentioned for the fabric you used because I was still in disbelief. What a clever use of fabric to create a better-than-designer piece. "Catbird Creations" did it again with another stunner!
10/11/09 1:25 PM
becca a said...
Fabulous jacket!
10/11/09 12:58 PM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful jacket. Now I want to make one just like it.
10/11/09 12:39 PM
DorothyK said...
Stunning jacket. I love it with jeans. I'll have to get this pattern somehow. Thanks for the review.
10/11/09 12:22 PM
Amanda S. said...
Super cute! I love patterns with interesting construction lines and would make this is a heartbeat were it not OOP. You did a great job. I actually prefer yours in the solid color to the envelope picture. Maybe I will have to search this one out...
10/11/09 12:21 PM
merlette said...
Wow! I really love it!
10/11/09 12:04 PM
Barbara V said...
Great jacket - perfect fabric. What a jaw dropping surprise when I clicked on the Vogue pattern image. I've had this pattern for years in an un-sewn status. Now I really want to make it up. Thank you!
10/11/09 12:04 PM
Jolet said...
The style looks great on you!! Very sporty and on the other hand classic. Next time better about the finishing of the seams, nobody will look inside. Great effort to put such a complicated jacket together. And this was only the "muslin".
10/11/09 11:34 AM
barbcl said...
Beautiful jacket with great seaming!
10/11/09 10:34 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Now that is an OOP to BOLO (Be on the Look Out). Yours looks much better than the pattern envelope. I particularly enjoyed your comments about "large expanses of fabric for testers...." Made me smile! thanks for sharing an OOP great pattern
10/11/09 10:17 AM
Twinset said...
What a great jacket! I didn't know this pattern existed, but now I need it! Your 'tester' looks fantastic, and I love the idea of it in denim!
10/11/09 10:11 AM
jlg said...
Fabulous jacket. You did a great job on this.
10/11/09 9:40 AM
Fran S said...
What a great jacket, but what a great sewing job as well!!
10/11/09 9:11 AM
Margie T said...
Congratulations on a lovely jacket. Enjoy!
10/11/09 8:25 AM
Lori V said...
Very cute jacket and great details.
10/11/09 8:12 AM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful jacket, really worth the time invested/needed.
10/11/09 8:00 AM
Peggy L said...
Great Jacket! I love all the details and it fits to a tee. Amazing that you used an old loveseat cover. I love the idea of this in old jeans.
10/11/09 6:37 AM
valerie sews said...
Lovely job on a lovely jacket. If your tester is this good I look forward to seeing the 'real' one.
10/11/09 1:57 AM
jilly cooper said...
this is what I love about PR, people re-use fabric, give OOP patterns a go and the result is one stylish jacket!!!!
10/11/09 1:49 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Fantastic jacket, all that seam detail must have been really time consuming but the end result is definitely worth it.
10/11/09 0:48 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
This jacket is BEAUTIFUL!!! I absolutely LOVE all of the seaming!!! You did an EXCELLENT job on sewing it!!! It fits you SO WELL!!!
10/10/09 11:32 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
I adore your jacket!! It is wonderful.
10/10/09 10:41 PM
carolynw said...
Without your review (and AmyRose's) I would not have given this pattern a second look - all I can say is your jacket is wonderful -beautiful - love it and way to go with using an old loveseat cover!!
10/10/09 10:14 PM
Christas said...
Hmmmmmm..... I don't have a clue WHO you could be talking about! LOL!
10/10/09 10:06 PM
Catbird said...
You're pretty spunky for a little PIPSQUEAK, and you know who you are! :-))
10/10/09 10:00 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Love love love this jacket and I hope I can find this pattern soon.
10/10/09 9:49 PM
Athene said...
Great detailing - very nice jacket.
10/10/09 9:42 PM
Christas said...
Where is the review of that cute little black top?! It was really cute, and you should review it!
10/10/09 9:37 PM
Christas said...
Ooooooh! I sooo love this jacket! It is absolutely wonderful! All those pieces add up to a terrific looking jacket on a beautiful person! Your sewing is always so perfect. I always enjoy looking at your lovely creations.
10/10/09 9:34 PM
Annette1 said...
This is SO cute, and I'm glad you included pictures of the pattern itself, because I could just ALMOST see it, but NOT QUITE. Now I remember it though. AND I noticed those jeans right off, too. This one is a winner all the way around. You may have been mortified trying to get out of the thing at the hairdresser's, but it's SOOOOOOOOOOO worth it, because the FIT is DIVINE. The PEPLUM and those zig-zagged INSETS just MAKE it. You look MAAAAAAAAAAAVELOUS! :o))
10/10/09 9:27 PM
KathleenS said...
I like yours much better than the pattern illustration. The plain fabric really shows off the seam details.
10/10/09 9:23 PM
Restart06 said...
cute jacket and I love the detailing.....can't wait till you make the next jacket and review it here now that you know all the ins & outs of the pattern. Thanks for sharing!
10/10/09 9:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Burda 9573

photo
by: Ms. Monica...

Review
No Pattern Used Shirred Maxi Dress

photo
by: Deepika

Review
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

More Info