SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8594 (MISSES' DRESS)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1186 times 
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/11/09 4:43 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Restart06 said...
Nice dress!! Thanks for the review
10/11/09 7:59 AM
Lori V said...
Pretty dress, thanks for the review and heads-up on the muslin.
10/11/09 8:14 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Your version turned out great. I completely agree about making a muslin. I have this pattern and I think I'll make it up for a winter outfit.
10/11/09 9:32 AM
wildberrymom said...
Beautiful dress! In spite of years to the contrary, I have become a fan of making muslins for most major projects too.
10/11/09 10:04 AM
Jali said...
Nice work! I can imagine myself getting pretty frustrated trying to match seams like these. The seams and shaping maketh the dress and this is one flattering dress on you.
10/11/09 11:38 AM
Re Becca said...
Stunning! You did a great job on the fitting of this, it was certainly worth the unsewing and resewing.
10/11/09 2:14 PM
Sigrid. said...
Love it!
10/11/09 5:09 PM
Sweetiebop said...
You look beautiful. This dress is just perfect.
10/11/09 5:11 PM
Danvillegirl said...
This is on my list to do. Thanks for review. I really love the look of the dress. Thanks for pointing out the back alignment or better non alignment.
10/12/09 5:26 AM
becca a said...
This is a beautiful, flattering dress. I love the side seam detail.
10/12/09 7:37 AM
ClareinStitches said...
Beautiful; you and the dress! Message received loud and clear: I Shall make a muslin. Many thanks for the revue.
10/12/09 7:52 AM
ALY said...
What a pain to have to take out the stitching on those triangular waist pieces and redraft them, but I think it was worth the effort cause the fit looks great. It is very flattering on you.
10/12/09 7:27 PM
Jane S said...
Such a special dress on you, bravo! Great advice to make muslins although I dislike taking the time.
10/12/09 8:13 PM
elily00 said...
So gorgeous! I love it and it fits you perfectly!
11/6/09 4:15 PM
Gendun said...
Good advice, thanks. The muslin does seem like a great idea. Naturally we are all unique, and after looking at all these reviews it seems crucial to that smooth, slimming line that we cut the length of the top & waist pieces to fit our unique shapes. To that end I'm not sure this is rightly classed an "Easy" pattern, you know?
5/28/12 11:10 PM
Gendun said...
Oh, and yes, you look FAB in it. The colour suits you perfectly, too! :)
5/28/12 11:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

KnipMode Magazine 08-2012-6

photo
by: treefrog

Review
Simplicity 9550

photo
by: Trephas200...

Review
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now