Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8594 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1181 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/11/09 4:43 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Restart06 said...
Nice dress!! Thanks for the review
10/11/09 7:59 AM
Lori V said...
Pretty dress, thanks for the review and heads-up on the muslin.
10/11/09 8:14 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Your version turned out great. I completely agree about making a muslin. I have this pattern and I think I'll make it up for a winter outfit.
10/11/09 9:32 AM
wildberrymom said...
Beautiful dress! In spite of years to the contrary, I have become a fan of making muslins for most major projects too.
10/11/09 10:04 AM
Jali said...
Nice work! I can imagine myself getting pretty frustrated trying to match seams like these. The seams and shaping maketh the dress and this is one flattering dress on you.
10/11/09 11:38 AM
Re Becca said...
Stunning! You did a great job on the fitting of this, it was certainly worth the unsewing and resewing.
10/11/09 2:14 PM
Sigrid. said...
Love it!
10/11/09 5:09 PM
Sweetiebop said...
You look beautiful. This dress is just perfect.
10/11/09 5:11 PM
Danvillegirl said...
This is on my list to do. Thanks for review. I really love the look of the dress. Thanks for pointing out the back alignment or better non alignment.
10/12/09 5:26 AM
becca a said...
This is a beautiful, flattering dress. I love the side seam detail.
10/12/09 7:37 AM
ClareinStitches said...
Beautiful; you and the dress! Message received loud and clear: I Shall make a muslin. Many thanks for the revue.
10/12/09 7:52 AM
ALY said...
What a pain to have to take out the stitching on those triangular waist pieces and redraft them, but I think it was worth the effort cause the fit looks great. It is very flattering on you.
10/12/09 7:27 PM
Jane S said...
Such a special dress on you, bravo! Great advice to make muslins although I dislike taking the time.
10/12/09 8:13 PM
elily00 said...
So gorgeous! I love it and it fits you perfectly!
11/6/09 4:15 PM
Gendun said...
Good advice, thanks. The muslin does seem like a great idea. Naturally we are all unique, and after looking at all these reviews it seems crucial to that smooth, slimming line that we cut the length of the top & waist pieces to fit our unique shapes. To that end I'm not sure this is rightly classed an "Easy" pattern, you know?
5/28/12 11:10 PM
Gendun said...
Oh, and yes, you look FAB in it. The colour suits you perfectly, too! :)
5/28/12 11:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Vogue Patterns 8386 Jersey dress
photo
Review by Blooms on 12/9/07
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )
Oliver   S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 02-2005-03 Fairy dress
photo
Review by EveS on 9/30/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 0172 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0172 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7185 Pattern
Burda 7185 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us