SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8594 (MISSES' DRESS)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1190 times 
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/11/09 4:43 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gendun said...
Oh, and yes, you look FAB in it. The colour suits you perfectly, too! :)
5/28/12 11:11 PM
Gendun said...
Good advice, thanks. The muslin does seem like a great idea. Naturally we are all unique, and after looking at all these reviews it seems crucial to that smooth, slimming line that we cut the length of the top & waist pieces to fit our unique shapes. To that end I'm not sure this is rightly classed an "Easy" pattern, you know?
5/28/12 11:10 PM
elily00 said...
So gorgeous! I love it and it fits you perfectly!
11/6/09 4:15 PM
Jane S said...
Such a special dress on you, bravo! Great advice to make muslins although I dislike taking the time.
10/12/09 8:13 PM
ALY said...
What a pain to have to take out the stitching on those triangular waist pieces and redraft them, but I think it was worth the effort cause the fit looks great. It is very flattering on you.
10/12/09 7:27 PM
ClareinStitches said...
Beautiful; you and the dress! Message received loud and clear: I Shall make a muslin. Many thanks for the revue.
10/12/09 7:52 AM
becca a said...
This is a beautiful, flattering dress. I love the side seam detail.
10/12/09 7:37 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This is on my list to do. Thanks for review. I really love the look of the dress. Thanks for pointing out the back alignment or better non alignment.
10/12/09 5:26 AM
Sweetiebop said...
You look beautiful. This dress is just perfect.
10/11/09 5:11 PM
Sigrid. said...
Love it!
10/11/09 5:09 PM
Re Becca said...
Stunning! You did a great job on the fitting of this, it was certainly worth the unsewing and resewing.
10/11/09 2:14 PM
Jali said...
Nice work! I can imagine myself getting pretty frustrated trying to match seams like these. The seams and shaping maketh the dress and this is one flattering dress on you.
10/11/09 11:38 AM
wildberrymom said...
Beautiful dress! In spite of years to the contrary, I have become a fan of making muslins for most major projects too.
10/11/09 10:04 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Your version turned out great. I completely agree about making a muslin. I have this pattern and I think I'll make it up for a winter outfit.
10/11/09 9:32 AM
Lori V said...
Pretty dress, thanks for the review and heads-up on the muslin.
10/11/09 8:14 AM
Restart06 said...
Nice dress!! Thanks for the review
10/11/09 7:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns OOP 8261

photo
by: N_Vogue

Review
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

More Info
Advance Pattern Company 2847

photo
by: Terri A

Review