SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2006-114 (Long-sleeved T-shirt)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1049 times 
Reviewed by:Catbird
photo

 
 
About Catbirdstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/11/09 2:39 PM
Last Updated:10/13/09 2:16 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kiddo said...
Thank you for the double needle tip. Your T-Shirt turned out really well. It is one of the most useful items of clothing throughout the cold winter. It is the backbone of many wardrobes. Again thank you for the tip to building a better T!
10/11/09 2:52 PM
Annette1 said...
This is, INDEED, the perfect t-shirt: FITS perfectly and BEAUTIFULLY executed. I really like that neckline method you're showing, too. When I've done a tip in the past, I just put my photos on Flickr, then when you do the tip on PR, it has a link to go to a website, and you can link it to your Flickr page, see. You'd better hurry, before THE LITTLE PIPSQUEAK starts squawking about that, too! Heh-heh-heh. :o)
10/11/09 2:55 PM
Peggy L said...
This fits you so nicely The neckline finish is beautifully done. Thanks for the tips!
10/11/09 2:56 PM
Catbird said...
I KNOW, always putting her two cents in, like she's the BOSS or something! :-))
10/11/09 3:04 PM
Elona said...
Love that neckline tip, and boy, I don't think fit can get more perfect than what you accomplished!
10/11/09 3:06 PM
Christas said...
I don't have a CLUE who "Little Pipsqueak" is! She must be a mess!!! Your top looks so nice. The neckline looks perfect; the fit also looks perfect. You will get a lot of wear out of this. It's the perfect basic to wear with everything. Also..... I would like to commend you on your SPEEDY review writing!!! LOL!
10/11/09 3:29 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
This t-shirt looks AWESOME!!! It fits you PERFECTLY!! Janie, I will send you an email to explain how to add a tip.
10/11/09 3:30 PM
Annette1 said...
One-and-a-half cents, in her case. :o))
10/11/09 3:41 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Thank you also for the needle tip. Your top looks great and comfortable. Why did we both make black tops?
10/11/09 4:43 PM
Sigrid. said...
Good to have such a basic pattern. Fits you perfect.
10/11/09 5:07 PM
librarylady said...
Thanks for such a great review. The double needle tip is much appreciated. Your T-shirt is lovely.
10/11/09 5:20 PM
sewing for fun said...
Thanks so much for the great review and tips. I, too, have been seeking a simple long-sleeve T for winter and it looks like this will fit the bill nicely.
10/11/09 11:35 PM
LeahT said...
fabulous fit - well done!
10/12/09 4:04 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
Love your T-shirt. I haven't attempted but want to try making one. Going to use your idea of the double needle stitch. Nothing more classic than a great black T and jeans. You look fabulous.
10/12/09 8:09 AM
Kelly D. said...
Great tip about actually attaching the neck binding with the twin needle! I never thought of that and I can see it would have more give than a narrow zig-zag and less bulk than a pass with the serger. You really should write that one up!
10/12/09 9:38 AM
Fran S said...
Beautiful construction -- please, please write it up as a tip.
10/12/09 1:58 PM
Karendee said...
Catbird, you look amazing in your wonderful, classic black T. To me, this type of T is the most difficult to execute professionally; you certainly did that and more!!! You always write such thorough reviews and I learn so much from each one. Thanks again.
10/12/09 5:01 PM
Mahler said...
Thank you for this very instructive review. For the neck band. I am not certain that I get it all. How is it on the wrong side ? I guess I will have to read the article. Great T on you !!!
10/12/09 7:25 PM
Vintage Joan said...
A fabulous t-shirt and a great review!
10/13/09 2:38 PM
Andrea670 said...
You did a really nice job on this shirt. You can never have enough of this. I wear shirts like this pretty much through at least 3 seasons. Thanks for the tip. I only wish I had this particular issue.
10/13/09 4:29 PM
eugenia123 said...
This is absolutely the perfect t-shirt - everyone needs several of these little beauties in their wardrobe. It suits you so well and is beautifully executed. Thanks for the great review.
10/14/09 10:19 AM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking tee shirt, terrific tips, very helpful review.
10/15/09 7:32 AM
LindaCan2 said...
Where do you find T-shirt knit fabric that is high quality? Also, what do you use for the neck binding?
11/3/09 7:07 PM
Catbird said...
LindaCan2, I was able to find this black rayon/lycra knit at a JoAnn's near me, and I used the same fabric for the neckband as I did for the body of the garment. JoAnn's (at least the one I go to) has a very tiny selection of colors and I didn't see it listed on their web site. This one is lightweight, probably 11 oz.. You can find rayon/lycra online pretty easily. A few places to check are: fashionfabricsonline.com (good prices and usually reliable quality), emmaonesock.com (more expensive but excellent quality; they carry both 11 oz. and 14 oz. rayon/lycra) and gorgeousthings.com (I haven't ordered from them but have heard good things). You can try a search for either "rayon/lycra" or "rayon jersey" and I think you'll find lots of choices. I hope that helps!
11/6/09 8:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Vogue Patterns 1051

photo
by: SavageCoco

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now