Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2006-114 (Long-sleeved T-shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1047 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Catbird
photo
About Catbirdstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/11/09 2:39 PM
Last Updated:10/13/09 2:16 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kiddo said...
Thank you for the double needle tip. Your T-Shirt turned out really well. It is one of the most useful items of clothing throughout the cold winter. It is the backbone of many wardrobes. Again thank you for the tip to building a better T!
10/11/09 2:52 PM
Annette1 said...
This is, INDEED, the perfect t-shirt: FITS perfectly and BEAUTIFULLY executed. I really like that neckline method you're showing, too. When I've done a tip in the past, I just put my photos on Flickr, then when you do the tip on PR, it has a link to go to a website, and you can link it to your Flickr page, see. You'd better hurry, before THE LITTLE PIPSQUEAK starts squawking about that, too! Heh-heh-heh. :o)
10/11/09 2:55 PM
Peggy L said...
This fits you so nicely The neckline finish is beautifully done. Thanks for the tips!
10/11/09 2:56 PM
Catbird said...
I KNOW, always putting her two cents in, like she's the BOSS or something! :-))
10/11/09 3:04 PM
Elona said...
Love that neckline tip, and boy, I don't think fit can get more perfect than what you accomplished!
10/11/09 3:06 PM
Christas said...
I don't have a CLUE who "Little Pipsqueak" is! She must be a mess!!! Your top looks so nice. The neckline looks perfect; the fit also looks perfect. You will get a lot of wear out of this. It's the perfect basic to wear with everything. Also..... I would like to commend you on your SPEEDY review writing!!! LOL!
10/11/09 3:29 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
This t-shirt looks AWESOME!!! It fits you PERFECTLY!! Janie, I will send you an email to explain how to add a tip.
10/11/09 3:30 PM
Annette1 said...
One-and-a-half cents, in her case. :o))
10/11/09 3:41 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Thank you also for the needle tip. Your top looks great and comfortable. Why did we both make black tops?
10/11/09 4:43 PM
Sigrid. said...
Good to have such a basic pattern. Fits you perfect.
10/11/09 5:07 PM
librarylady said...
Thanks for such a great review. The double needle tip is much appreciated. Your T-shirt is lovely.
10/11/09 5:20 PM
sewing for fun said...
Thanks so much for the great review and tips. I, too, have been seeking a simple long-sleeve T for winter and it looks like this will fit the bill nicely.
10/11/09 11:35 PM
LeahT said...
fabulous fit - well done!
10/12/09 4:04 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
Love your T-shirt. I haven't attempted but want to try making one. Going to use your idea of the double needle stitch. Nothing more classic than a great black T and jeans. You look fabulous.
10/12/09 8:09 AM
Kelly D. said...
Great tip about actually attaching the neck binding with the twin needle! I never thought of that and I can see it would have more give than a narrow zig-zag and less bulk than a pass with the serger. You really should write that one up!
10/12/09 9:38 AM
Fran S said...
Beautiful construction -- please, please write it up as a tip.
10/12/09 1:58 PM
Karendee said...
Catbird, you look amazing in your wonderful, classic black T. To me, this type of T is the most difficult to execute professionally; you certainly did that and more!!! You always write such thorough reviews and I learn so much from each one. Thanks again.
10/12/09 5:01 PM
Mahler said...
Thank you for this very instructive review. For the neck band. I am not certain that I get it all. How is it on the wrong side ? I guess I will have to read the article. Great T on you !!!
10/12/09 7:25 PM
Vintage Joan said...
A fabulous t-shirt and a great review!
10/13/09 2:38 PM
Andrea670 said...
You did a really nice job on this shirt. You can never have enough of this. I wear shirts like this pretty much through at least 3 seasons. Thanks for the tip. I only wish I had this particular issue.
10/13/09 4:29 PM
eugenia123 said...
This is absolutely the perfect t-shirt - everyone needs several of these little beauties in their wardrobe. It suits you so well and is beautifully executed. Thanks for the great review.
10/14/09 10:19 AM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking tee shirt, terrific tips, very helpful review.
10/15/09 7:32 AM
LindaCan2 said...
Where do you find T-shirt knit fabric that is high quality? Also, what do you use for the neck binding?
11/3/09 7:07 PM
Catbird said...
LindaCan2, I was able to find this black rayon/lycra knit at a JoAnn's near me, and I used the same fabric for the neckband as I did for the body of the garment. JoAnn's (at least the one I go to) has a very tiny selection of colors and I didn't see it listed on their web site. This one is lightweight, probably 11 oz.. You can find rayon/lycra online pretty easily. A few places to check are: fashionfabricsonline.com (good prices and usually reliable quality), emmaonesock.com (more expensive but excellent quality; they carry both 11 oz. and 14 oz. rayon/lycra) and gorgeousthings.com (I haven't ordered from them but have heard good things). You can try a search for either "rayon/lycra" or "rayon jersey" and I think you'll find lots of choices. I hope that helps!
11/6/09 8:14 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Simplicity 9505
photo
Review by SewersCoop on 9/11/10
Read Review

Wonder Wallet
Wonder Wallet

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S 2 2 Blouse & Pleated Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S 2   2 Blouse & Pleated Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4020 Knit Tops
photo
Review by saraflorey on 1/4/12
Read Review

Vogue 8920 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8920 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1416 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1416 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us