SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8548 (MISSES' COAT)

14 more reviews
Viewed 792 times 
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo

 
 
About Kellie R.starstar
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/12/09 2:34 PM
Last Updated:10/12/09 6:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bettysparkles said...
I found the same thing with the ease on the sleeve, it took me 3 attempts and I'm not still happy with them at all. I am fairly sure it is a fault with the pattern not the choice of fabric. Also I thought the shoulder does not sit in place very well, probably because the shoulder seam is so short. I am going to use cut-down shoulder pads to try and fix this.
7/25/10 7:55 AM
bettysparkles said...
I found the same thing with the ease on the sleeve, it took me 3 attempts and I'm not still happy with them at all. I am fairly sure it is a fault with the pattern not the choice of fabric. Also I thought the shoulder does not sit in place very well, probably because the shoulder seam is so short. I am going to use cut-down shoulder pads to try and fix this.
7/25/10 7:55 AM
carolinablue said...
Great coat - i've never been brave enough to tackle a coat
10/15/09 7:42 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
How fun! I bet someone already has stopped you to ask "where did you get that coat?".
10/15/09 1:40 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
How fun! I bet someone already has stopped you to ask "where did you get that coat?".
10/15/09 1:40 AM
Kellie R. said...
Thank you so much for all of your very kind comments! I shall wear this the next time I'm out, this evening. It's only to the boys' swimming lesson but it's a picture perfect autumn day today! Thanks so much!
10/13/09 10:38 AM
frame said...
Gorgeous!
10/13/09 10:30 AM
DorothyK said...
Kellie, this coat is fabulous. It has style, attitude, and pizazz. You look wonderful in it - perfect color, too. All your meticulous work paid off and, if there are imperfections, they're not noticeable to anyone but you. Congratulations on a job well done.
10/13/09 10:14 AM
Michelle L said...
Wonderful coat! I love the color, and fantastic workmanship!
10/13/09 9:19 AM
carolynw said...
Uber classy - the color is so right for you. Great work
10/13/09 8:23 AM
Karine said...
Love the coat. The color you chose looks wonderful on you. The pattern is fun - something a bit different. Your topstitching looks flawless. In fact, the whole coat looks to be beautifully constructed. Nice job!
10/13/09 7:56 AM
ryan's mom said...
Love it! So chic and classy.
10/13/09 6:42 AM
yorkshire lass said...
This looks stunning on you and was well worth the effort made with it. Red is such a cheerful colour for an autumn/winter jacket.
10/13/09 3:40 AM
Annette1 said...
WOW-WEE, you look SO PRETTY in this RED COAT! I LOVE it! And your HAIR is so pretty, too. :o) GREAT review, and the coat is JUST PERFECT.
10/13/09 2:54 AM
jilly cooper said...
comprehensive review, I like all the details and the coat looks great
10/13/09 1:47 AM
Jali said...
A stunning coat!
10/13/09 0:57 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Great review. This pattern is definitely coming out of it's hiding place. You will be turning heads and if you don't everybody must be blind. Great ensemble.
10/12/09 10:46 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow!! That is one beautiful jacket! The color and fabric are so perfect for this style and you have truly done a magnificent job!
10/12/09 10:40 PM
neverenoughtime said...
Kelly, I always enjoy seeing your projects. You keep me motivated. Your work is nice and you enthusiasm is fun. Thanks, Cindy
10/12/09 9:05 PM
ladybegood said...
Beautiful! Despite the difficulties, you were so right to use this fabric for this pattern... the result is very stricking. I love that you can rock the 60's just as well as the 40's and 50's!
10/12/09 8:47 PM
Aunt Gail said...
wow -- This is SO Retro Vogue. And your added touch of the longer gloves -- you ROCK! Great details in the Review as well!
10/12/09 8:25 PM
Lori V said...
Very chic coat, I really like the style and the color combination, great job.
10/12/09 8:16 PM
katharin said...
Your coat looks fabulous, very chic. I love it!
10/12/09 7:40 PM
harmony758 said...
You are absolutely right about the ease of the sleeves! I haven't posted a review of this pattern yet, but I had the same issue. I ended up just leaving it bunchy.
10/12/09 5:11 PM
CynthiaSue said...
I love it. "i'm not sewing a vintage pattern so I WILL use vintage fabric!!" you look like a little red siren in your coat. marvelous.
10/12/09 4:54 PM
nglalala said...
WOW!!! I love your coat!! It's so beautiful!
10/12/09 4:25 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty! I love the color and fit on you.
10/12/09 3:29 PM
Heatherrique said...
Kellie, consider this an invigorating and sensational jacket with flawless style! I adore this color and design on you. You are definitely going to get a lot of admiration WHENEVER you wear it. Thanks for a VERY helpful review!
10/12/09 3:15 PM
smoody said...
You've done a beautiful job! Color, style and construction! It looks great on you!
10/12/09 3:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now