SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8548 (MISSES' COAT)

14 more reviews
Viewed 789 times 
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo

 
 
About Kellie R.starstar
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/12/09 2:34 PM
Last Updated:10/12/09 6:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
smoody said...
You've done a beautiful job! Color, style and construction! It looks great on you!
10/12/09 3:13 PM
Heatherrique said...
Kellie, consider this an invigorating and sensational jacket with flawless style! I adore this color and design on you. You are definitely going to get a lot of admiration WHENEVER you wear it. Thanks for a VERY helpful review!
10/12/09 3:15 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty! I love the color and fit on you.
10/12/09 3:29 PM
nglalala said...
WOW!!! I love your coat!! It's so beautiful!
10/12/09 4:25 PM
CynthiaSue said...
I love it. "i'm not sewing a vintage pattern so I WILL use vintage fabric!!" you look like a little red siren in your coat. marvelous.
10/12/09 4:54 PM
harmony758 said...
You are absolutely right about the ease of the sleeves! I haven't posted a review of this pattern yet, but I had the same issue. I ended up just leaving it bunchy.
10/12/09 5:11 PM
katharin said...
Your coat looks fabulous, very chic. I love it!
10/12/09 7:40 PM
Lori V said...
Very chic coat, I really like the style and the color combination, great job.
10/12/09 8:16 PM
Aunt Gail said...
wow -- This is SO Retro Vogue. And your added touch of the longer gloves -- you ROCK! Great details in the Review as well!
10/12/09 8:25 PM
ladybegood said...
Beautiful! Despite the difficulties, you were so right to use this fabric for this pattern... the result is very stricking. I love that you can rock the 60's just as well as the 40's and 50's!
10/12/09 8:47 PM
neverenoughtime said...
Kelly, I always enjoy seeing your projects. You keep me motivated. Your work is nice and you enthusiasm is fun. Thanks, Cindy
10/12/09 9:05 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow!! That is one beautiful jacket! The color and fabric are so perfect for this style and you have truly done a magnificent job!
10/12/09 10:40 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Great review. This pattern is definitely coming out of it's hiding place. You will be turning heads and if you don't everybody must be blind. Great ensemble.
10/12/09 10:46 PM
Jali said...
A stunning coat!
10/13/09 0:57 AM
jilly cooper said...
comprehensive review, I like all the details and the coat looks great
10/13/09 1:47 AM
Annette1 said...
WOW-WEE, you look SO PRETTY in this RED COAT! I LOVE it! And your HAIR is so pretty, too. :o) GREAT review, and the coat is JUST PERFECT.
10/13/09 2:54 AM
yorkshire lass said...
This looks stunning on you and was well worth the effort made with it. Red is such a cheerful colour for an autumn/winter jacket.
10/13/09 3:40 AM
ryan's mom said...
Love it! So chic and classy.
10/13/09 6:42 AM
Karine said...
Love the coat. The color you chose looks wonderful on you. The pattern is fun - something a bit different. Your topstitching looks flawless. In fact, the whole coat looks to be beautifully constructed. Nice job!
10/13/09 7:56 AM
carolynw said...
Uber classy - the color is so right for you. Great work
10/13/09 8:23 AM
Michelle L said...
Wonderful coat! I love the color, and fantastic workmanship!
10/13/09 9:19 AM
DorothyK said...
Kellie, this coat is fabulous. It has style, attitude, and pizazz. You look wonderful in it - perfect color, too. All your meticulous work paid off and, if there are imperfections, they're not noticeable to anyone but you. Congratulations on a job well done.
10/13/09 10:14 AM
frame said...
Gorgeous!
10/13/09 10:30 AM
Kellie R. said...
Thank you so much for all of your very kind comments! I shall wear this the next time I'm out, this evening. It's only to the boys' swimming lesson but it's a picture perfect autumn day today! Thanks so much!
10/13/09 10:38 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
How fun! I bet someone already has stopped you to ask "where did you get that coat?".
10/15/09 1:40 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
How fun! I bet someone already has stopped you to ask "where did you get that coat?".
10/15/09 1:40 AM
carolinablue said...
Great coat - i've never been brave enough to tackle a coat
10/15/09 7:42 AM
bettysparkles said...
I found the same thing with the ease on the sleeve, it took me 3 attempts and I'm not still happy with them at all. I am fairly sure it is a fault with the pattern not the choice of fabric. Also I thought the shoulder does not sit in place very well, probably because the shoulder seam is so short. I am going to use cut-down shoulder pads to try and fix this.
7/25/10 7:55 AM
bettysparkles said...
I found the same thing with the ease on the sleeve, it took me 3 attempts and I'm not still happy with them at all. I am fairly sure it is a fault with the pattern not the choice of fabric. Also I thought the shoulder does not sit in place very well, probably because the shoulder seam is so short. I am going to use cut-down shoulder pads to try and fix this.
7/25/10 7:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Kwik Sew 3089

photo
by: vchan38

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2011-15

photo
by: jorth

Review
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now