Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3990 (K.Ali Plus Size Shirts) thumbsup - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 328 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:sewinggeek
photo
Friend of PR
About sewinggeekstar
Member since: 1/26/06
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/12/09 5:18 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mastdenman said...
I really like the blouse on you. I think you should let it rest for a couple of weeks in the back of the closet and then try it on again.
10/12/09 5:33 PM
Riesie said...
I think this would be lovely with a nice pair of dressy summery pants.
10/12/09 5:54 PM
JTink said...
You did a fine job on this blouse, even with all it's aggravations;-) I have this pattern too and just love the way it turns out. Not having to make an FBA is a real plus. The material is lovely. Did you ever find out what your "range" is? Do you need to start with a smaller size at the top? I have narrow shoulders too, and have learned to cut a size smaller in that area and take an inch out of the shoulder. This is a lovely blouse. Your Grandmother had a great eye for color.
10/12/09 6:50 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Thank you for the review. I've got the patttern but haven't started on it. I think --without you making a muslin- that you did pretty well considering the amount of changes you encountered. I really believe that if you work with this pattern again--using a cheapy material/mulin style You will soon be much happier. This isn't that bad - and the colors look very nice on you :)
10/12/09 8:29 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
Your blouse is pretty. I hope you'll like it better after a few wearings. I made the same pattern in the Set in Sleeves online class. Sarah Veblen was very helpful. Without her I would have really floundered. I had to adjust the bust quite a bit.
10/12/09 8:52 PM
sewtime said...
I love the blouse on you! Beautiful material!!
10/12/09 9:00 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Learning on a pattern that you want to work is a pain in the rumpus but you did a great job of sticking with it and making a nice blouse that (you may not think is wearable) is wearable and very nice on you.
10/12/09 9:37 PM
carolynw said...
You know I really like this blouse on you - the fabric is beautiful. The only little change I would suggest is that you make the sleeves a bit narrower but other than that - even with that - it looks very nice. Please don't give up on it - hang it in the "thinking about" closet for a week and I bet you'll like it a lot when you re-visit!!
10/12/09 11:07 PM
Renren said...
I agree with everyone else: I think this top looks better on you than you think it looks! I, too, am struggling with a steep learning curve with regard to fit. And even after 18 reviews, well dog gone it, I still don't know what size I am!!! (Okay, okay, some of the reviews were of things I sewed for my cats and dog . . . but still . . . ) Two people have suggested I change my rating from Beginner to Advanced Beginner, but I'm leery of doing that when I don't have a clue where I fall in a rather large size range!!! Even after I'm done with a garment, after all the alterations and modifications, I don't really know what size I ended up sewing. Frustrating . . . but we WILL get through this. In the meantime, I would say you have a fine blouse to wear!
10/12/09 11:29 PM
Janie Viers said...
It looks very nice on you.. The only thing I might suggest would be to shorten the sleeves. Sleeves really add the illusion of being wider than reality (and in my case reality is enough!)
10/13/09 0:43 AM
LornaJay said...
The size you sew is - your size! Seriously though, you're unlikely to ever get a pattern which comes out the box and fits, which is why it's often worth sewing several once you've got a pattern that *is* in your size after all the fiddling.
10/13/09 3:39 AM
sewinggeek said...
Thanks for all the nice comments. I think I will do something about the sleeves, but I was just so tired of this shirt that when it was done, it was done!
10/13/09 4:16 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I like it also. I think I want to try this pattern. Whichever size I choose will probably not be the perect one either.
10/13/09 8:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-105
photo
Review by Sigrid. on 10/2/07
Read Review

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2599
photo
Review by BeulahBirt... on 4/30/13
Read Review

Checkbook Cover
Checkbook Cover

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The City Bag
The City Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1461 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1461 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4039 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4039 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us