SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3990 (K.Ali Plus Size Shirts)

9 more reviews
Viewed 329 times 
Reviewed by:sewinggeek
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sewinggeekstar
CO United States
Member since: 1/26/06
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/12/09 5:18 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mastdenman said...
I really like the blouse on you. I think you should let it rest for a couple of weeks in the back of the closet and then try it on again.
10/12/09 5:33 PM
Riesie said...
I think this would be lovely with a nice pair of dressy summery pants.
10/12/09 5:54 PM
JTink said...
You did a fine job on this blouse, even with all it's aggravations;-) I have this pattern too and just love the way it turns out. Not having to make an FBA is a real plus. The material is lovely. Did you ever find out what your "range" is? Do you need to start with a smaller size at the top? I have narrow shoulders too, and have learned to cut a size smaller in that area and take an inch out of the shoulder. This is a lovely blouse. Your Grandmother had a great eye for color.
10/12/09 6:50 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Thank you for the review. I've got the patttern but haven't started on it. I think --without you making a muslin- that you did pretty well considering the amount of changes you encountered. I really believe that if you work with this pattern again--using a cheapy material/mulin style You will soon be much happier. This isn't that bad - and the colors look very nice on you :)
10/12/09 8:29 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
Your blouse is pretty. I hope you'll like it better after a few wearings. I made the same pattern in the Set in Sleeves online class. Sarah Veblen was very helpful. Without her I would have really floundered. I had to adjust the bust quite a bit.
10/12/09 8:52 PM
sewtime said...
I love the blouse on you! Beautiful material!!
10/12/09 9:00 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Learning on a pattern that you want to work is a pain in the rumpus but you did a great job of sticking with it and making a nice blouse that (you may not think is wearable) is wearable and very nice on you.
10/12/09 9:37 PM
carolynw said...
You know I really like this blouse on you - the fabric is beautiful. The only little change I would suggest is that you make the sleeves a bit narrower but other than that - even with that - it looks very nice. Please don't give up on it - hang it in the "thinking about" closet for a week and I bet you'll like it a lot when you re-visit!!
10/12/09 11:07 PM
Renren said...
I agree with everyone else: I think this top looks better on you than you think it looks! I, too, am struggling with a steep learning curve with regard to fit. And even after 18 reviews, well dog gone it, I still don't know what size I am!!! (Okay, okay, some of the reviews were of things I sewed for my cats and dog . . . but still . . . ) Two people have suggested I change my rating from Beginner to Advanced Beginner, but I'm leery of doing that when I don't have a clue where I fall in a rather large size range!!! Even after I'm done with a garment, after all the alterations and modifications, I don't really know what size I ended up sewing. Frustrating . . . but we WILL get through this. In the meantime, I would say you have a fine blouse to wear!
10/12/09 11:29 PM
Janie Viers said...
It looks very nice on you.. The only thing I might suggest would be to shorten the sleeves. Sleeves really add the illusion of being wider than reality (and in my case reality is enough!)
10/13/09 0:43 AM
LornaJay said...
The size you sew is - your size! Seriously though, you're unlikely to ever get a pattern which comes out the box and fits, which is why it's often worth sewing several once you've got a pattern that *is* in your size after all the fiddling.
10/13/09 3:39 AM
sewinggeek said...
Thanks for all the nice comments. I think I will do something about the sleeves, but I was just so tired of this shirt that when it was done, it was done!
10/13/09 4:16 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I like it also. I think I want to try this pattern. Whichever size I choose will probably not be the perect one either.
10/13/09 8:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

StyleArc Polly Top

photo
by: michellep7...

Review
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8748

photo
by: PattyE

Review