SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 02-2009-12 ("Elegance" trousers)

4 more reviews
Viewed 431 times 
Reviewed by:ejvc

About ejvcstar
Member since: 11/7/06
Reviews: 13 (patterns: 7)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/09 6:09 AM
Last Updated:10/13/09 6:21 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past

vintage sewing patterns

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics

Natural & Organic Fabrics

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
o3b said... (5/14/10 3:27 AM) Reply
You made a great review of this pattern! I am printing it out to store with the magazine.
Sew4Fun said... (1/17/10 5:35 AM) Reply
I found your review extremely helpful. One of the best reviews I've read for a while. Thanks!
21wale said... (10/25/09 8:30 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review - I've been considering these pants for a while. And after all that work, you got a really nice fit.
ejvc said... (10/22/09 5:08 AM) Reply
Thanks everyone for the comments and I'm glad you like the pockets. I am wearing these trousers all the time. Regarding the Ottobre figure -- everything is relative. Tall - I'm 5'6", and I think they design for 5'7" or 5'8" - I take 4cm off the bottom typically. Large-busted - let's say a generous c-cup rather than the big-4 b cup. Tummy - they just have a lot of styles where the waistline is disguised rather than highlighted. I don't know if their actual *block* has "tummy" built in. Flat-bottomed -- this I do think, but I have the opposite, so I think this might fit the ordinary figure rather well. I really like their patterns so I keep using them. Their cutting and construction are very well done.
ejvc said... (10/22/09 5:08 AM) Reply

PJH said... (10/17/09 3:20 AM) Reply
Thanks for the great review. Your pants look really good, especially the pockets. Interesting thoughts on the 'Ottobre figure'. Thank you.
RuthieSews said... (10/15/09 6:16 PM) Reply
Wonderfully detailed review. Very helpful, and I am sure I can apply lots of your fitting tips to the Ottobre patterns I have. P.S. Did I say how fab they look? No? They look FAB!!!
StashPanache said... (10/14/09 9:43 PM) Reply
Pants look great, Elizabeth. Great review, too. All that effort on the pockets paid off. They look fantastic. Thanks to your review I am thinking I might have an Ottobre behind and might try a pair of pants from them?
Geordie Girl said... (10/14/09 10:11 AM) Reply
They were well worth the trouble. The pockets look great. Thanks for a great reveiw
Miranda said... (10/13/09 11:24 PM) Reply
Great job Elizabeth! Well done! They're fantastic.
sarahinlafayette said... (10/13/09 11:14 AM) Reply
Great review, and I agree with your idea of the Ottobre figure, which I also do not share! Your pants look great on you, but thanks to your fair warning, I think I'll steer clear of this pattern.
Mufffet said... (10/13/09 9:46 AM) Reply
Very nice. All that work, and it paid off.
said... (10/13/09 9:35 AM) Reply
Excellent review. The pants look so RTW and those pockets are wonderful despite the construction challenge.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Tez said... (10/13/09 8:53 AM) Reply
The pants look terrific. I love those pockets -- I hadn't even noticed them in the magazine.
VtMartha said... (10/13/09 7:06 AM) Reply
These are some fantastic pants, Elizabeth! The review is great too. Thanks.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2013-144

by: grays08

Vogue Patterns 8825

by: Sew Good

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Pattern Details