Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 02-2009-12 ("Elegance" trousers) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 422 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:ejvc
photo
About ejvcstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 11/7/06
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/09 6:09 AM
Last Updated:10/13/09 6:21 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
VtMartha said...
These are some fantastic pants, Elizabeth! The review is great too. Thanks.
10/13/09 7:06 AM
Tez said...
The pants look terrific. I love those pockets -- I hadn't even noticed them in the magazine.
10/13/09 8:53 AM
said...
Excellent review. The pants look so RTW and those pockets are wonderful despite the construction challenge.
10/13/09 9:35 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Mufffet said...
Very nice. All that work, and it paid off.
10/13/09 9:46 AM
sarahinlafayette said...
Great review, and I agree with your idea of the Ottobre figure, which I also do not share! Your pants look great on you, but thanks to your fair warning, I think I'll steer clear of this pattern.
10/13/09 11:14 AM
Miranda said...
Great job Elizabeth! Well done! They're fantastic.
10/13/09 11:24 PM
Geordie Girl said...
They were well worth the trouble. The pockets look great. Thanks for a great reveiw
10/14/09 10:11 AM
StashPanache said...
Pants look great, Elizabeth. Great review, too. All that effort on the pockets paid off. They look fantastic. Thanks to your review I am thinking I might have an Ottobre behind and might try a pair of pants from them?
10/14/09 9:43 PM
RuthieSews said...
Wonderfully detailed review. Very helpful, and I am sure I can apply lots of your fitting tips to the Ottobre patterns I have. P.S. Did I say how fab they look? No? They look FAB!!!
10/15/09 6:16 PM
PJH said...
Thanks for the great review. Your pants look really good, especially the pockets. Interesting thoughts on the 'Ottobre figure'. Thank you.
10/17/09 3:20 AM
ejvc said...
Thanks everyone for the comments and I'm glad you like the pockets. I am wearing these trousers all the time. Regarding the Ottobre figure -- everything is relative. Tall - I'm 5'6", and I think they design for 5'7" or 5'8" - I take 4cm off the bottom typically. Large-busted - let's say a generous c-cup rather than the big-4 b cup. Tummy - they just have a lot of styles where the waistline is disguised rather than highlighted. I don't know if their actual *block* has "tummy" built in. Flat-bottomed -- this I do think, but I have the opposite, so I think this might fit the ordinary figure rather well. I really like their patterns so I keep using them. Their cutting and construction are very well done.
10/22/09 5:08 AM
ejvc said...

10/22/09 5:08 AM
21wale said...
Thanks for the review - I've been considering these pants for a while. And after all that work, you got a really nice fit.
10/25/09 8:30 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I found your review extremely helpful. One of the best reviews I've read for a while. Thanks!
1/17/10 5:35 AM
o3b said...
You made a great review of this pattern! I am printing it out to store with the magazine.
5/14/10 3:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

No Pattern Used No Pattern Used SiovhonCouture
photo
Review by Bonnie123 on 4/7/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4021 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4021 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5895 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 5895 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4440
photo
Review by emo on 9/10/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 302 Pattern
Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us