Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5255 (Misses' Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2641 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/04 1:46 AM
Last Updated:2/22/04 11:54 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, Ann, your top turned out great! Beautiful marriage of pattern and fabric.
2/6/04 7:14 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
That looks lovey! I'll be picking this one up the next time it goes on sale.
2/6/04 7:23 AM
Mollykat said...
Gotta say, this top is really much more flattering on you and Gigi than on the pre-teen model in the photo. Goes to show that mature female curves are hot! It does, of course look cute on the model - but what doesn't look cute on the ones they use in their photos....
2/6/04 7:48 AM
Teri said...
Ann, what a darling top. Good job!
2/6/04 7:57 AM
Jackie M said...
Ahhhh, Ann, I have this same fabric from EOS and I had planned to use it for this pattern! I guess great minds think alike. :) Now I'll need to stretch a little creatively and come up with something different for that fabric and pattern -- shouldn't be too hard, as I'm expecting a shipment from EOS next week ;) Great job with this pattern, by the way!
2/6/04 8:07 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Oooooo! Pretty! Must add this pattern to my wish list. I have a similar print RTW top (w/out the twist) and it always gets raves when I wear it. I know yours will, too!
2/6/04 9:16 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I always look forward to your reviews! This looks great as usual.
2/6/04 10:27 AM
PattiK said...
Great job! I considered this top but with the preteen model on the envelope put it back. Thanks to your review I'll pick it up next sales.
2/6/04 9:42 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Darling top! It does look ravishing on you & Gigi. :) Would inserting elastic into the neckline make the it "modest" to bend over in? I'd want to do that in a fabric with more body, so the elastic doesn't look too thick.
2/8/04 6:19 AM
Ann Smith said...
Katharine, I had to insert elastic in the back neckline as it had stretched out during construction. The front v doesn't hang loose but stays close to the body so I don't think elastic there will make it more modest. It is just a very low cut vee.
2/8/04 1:01 PM
Joyfullife said...
What a flattering top. I love it!
2/23/04 0:18 AM
jlg said...
Very becoming, Ann.
2/23/04 5:14 AM
Rebecca D said...
Ann, both views of this top look stunning on you. All your lovely fabric/pattern choices make me want a tour of your closet!
2/23/04 7:52 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
I love this version, too! I appreciate the tip on adjusting the center front for extra length. I picked this pattern up last week and will have to try it now. Both of your versions look fabulous!
2/23/04 8:41 AM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful job matching the stripes in the sleeves with the bodice. Must agree with Mollykat that you look better in this top than the young model. I have a similar onionskin print in bluish hues. Thanks for re-posting your photo.
9/22/04 6:35 PM
kremmer said...
I have just ordered the pattern after having spotted the top on a fellow sewer. Just wanted to find out more while I'm waiting for it to arrive. Like the fabric that you have chosen! Updated 13 Dec. Guess what? Pattern is officially OOP but you can still get this from Simplicity in the US! SO happy.
12/10/04 1:42 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, three years later and this top still looks great! Nice job, Ann!
9/16/07 12:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2010-118 Blouses
photo
Review by dingyadi on 12/28/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2174 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2174 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used A Twinset Tweaks
photo
Review by Georgene on 8/20/05
Read Review

Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern
Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us