Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8087 (Pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 688 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/16/09 6:07 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $7.46 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $7.46  List Price: $9.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sara The Slayer said...
They look great! Extremely flattering.
10/16/09 6:13 AM
mars418 said...
ClaireEmily, Great job on your first pair of pants. I've also been on a mission to find a slacks pattern that will fit better than most RTW. The Burda's seem to work well for an 'athletic' bum and of the 3 Burdas I've tried, 7746 is my fav--in fact have a pair finished except for the hem. Great job and can't wait to see more!
10/16/09 7:44 AM
Bsts said...
Your pants look great. You took time and made a awesome effort to get them to fit wonderfully. Me? Never been able to get a pair of pants to fit. I am going to follow your lead and try again.
10/16/09 7:54 AM
Kellie R. said...
Congratulations! I dislike pants for the same reasons that you do... and still have not attempted to sew a pair! Yours look great!
10/16/09 9:32 AM
Renren said...
Fantastic pants and a great fit. Glad you persevered. For a first pair of pants you chose what I would consider to be a more difficult pattern (pocket flaps, contoured waistband, fly zipper, yoke pockets) and you have done an excellent job.
10/16/09 10:37 AM
MamaSewing said...
They look great on you, good job!
10/16/09 11:07 AM
FreyaStark said...
They look pretty good for a first effort - the back pockets are cute - and I'm sure you'll find the next pair easier. Burda pants patterns have a good reputation so another one, with less wide legs, might suit you better.
10/16/09 5:18 PM
marec said...
Congratulations on perfecting pants fitting. :-)
10/16/09 7:20 PM
meesa said...
I'm threatening to make my own pair of pants for the first time. I have this pattern as well as a KS. I think you are right that this pattern is best for a fluid, but your version turned out very nice on you!
10/16/09 8:02 PM
Mary Nanna said...
nice job - they look great..very impressive! re front fitting issues - it looks to me that you may need to curve your front waist down about an inch tapering from the side to centre front. (I have to do that myself, so it's an alteration I'm familiar with..) Another issue I have with pants is that my figure is not suited to drop waistbands - I need my trousers to sit on the waistline to get them to sit properly with a belt - even when I've done every alteration under the sun I find the front has a tendency to drop adn I find myself in a constant state of hitchin' - even with a belt. I think my "shelf" just pulls everything down! There's no doubt that pants that sit an inch or two below waist are more flattering but they are also more uncomfortable for me.
10/17/09 5:57 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Thanks four your comments everyone! Mary Nanna, I think you are right that the tilting the waistline down at the front would be a helpful adjustment, I'll do that next time. Also I think not adding belt loops was a mistake as I also find that all pants slip down at the front and maybe a belt is the only remedy! =)
10/18/09 7:28 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Drafted from RTW NA
photo
Review by katib on 2/24/09
Read Review

Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-101 Blouse
photo
Review by Skaapie on 3/1/12
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3278 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 3278 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7321 Pattern
Burda 7321 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us