SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8087 (Pants)

7 more reviews
Viewed 705 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo

 
 
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/16/09 6:07 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $7.46 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $7.46 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sara The Slayer said...
They look great! Extremely flattering.
10/16/09 6:13 AM
mars418 said...
ClaireEmily, Great job on your first pair of pants. I've also been on a mission to find a slacks pattern that will fit better than most RTW. The Burda's seem to work well for an 'athletic' bum and of the 3 Burdas I've tried, 7746 is my fav--in fact have a pair finished except for the hem. Great job and can't wait to see more!
10/16/09 7:44 AM
Bsts said...
Your pants look great. You took time and made a awesome effort to get them to fit wonderfully. Me? Never been able to get a pair of pants to fit. I am going to follow your lead and try again.
10/16/09 7:54 AM
Kellie R. said...
Congratulations! I dislike pants for the same reasons that you do... and still have not attempted to sew a pair! Yours look great!
10/16/09 9:32 AM
Renren said...
Fantastic pants and a great fit. Glad you persevered. For a first pair of pants you chose what I would consider to be a more difficult pattern (pocket flaps, contoured waistband, fly zipper, yoke pockets) and you have done an excellent job.
10/16/09 10:37 AM
MamaSewing said...
They look great on you, good job!
10/16/09 11:07 AM
FreyaStark said...
They look pretty good for a first effort - the back pockets are cute - and I'm sure you'll find the next pair easier. Burda pants patterns have a good reputation so another one, with less wide legs, might suit you better.
10/16/09 5:18 PM
marec said...
Congratulations on perfecting pants fitting. :-)
10/16/09 7:20 PM
meesa said...
I'm threatening to make my own pair of pants for the first time. I have this pattern as well as a KS. I think you are right that this pattern is best for a fluid, but your version turned out very nice on you!
10/16/09 8:02 PM
Mary Nanna said...
nice job - they look great..very impressive! re front fitting issues - it looks to me that you may need to curve your front waist down about an inch tapering from the side to centre front. (I have to do that myself, so it's an alteration I'm familiar with..) Another issue I have with pants is that my figure is not suited to drop waistbands - I need my trousers to sit on the waistline to get them to sit properly with a belt - even when I've done every alteration under the sun I find the front has a tendency to drop adn I find myself in a constant state of hitchin' - even with a belt. I think my "shelf" just pulls everything down! There's no doubt that pants that sit an inch or two below waist are more flattering but they are also more uncomfortable for me.
10/17/09 5:57 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Thanks four your comments everyone! Mary Nanna, I think you are right that the tilting the waistline down at the front would be a helpful adjustment, I'll do that next time. Also I think not adding belt loops was a mistake as I also find that all pants slip down at the front and maybe a belt is the only remedy! =)
10/18/09 7:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

New Look 6421

photo
by: myraminx

Review
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Buy Now
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now