SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8087 (Pants)

7 more reviews
Viewed 727 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo

 
 
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/16/09 6:07 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $7.46 $9.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $7.46 $9.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireEmily said...
Thanks four your comments everyone! Mary Nanna, I think you are right that the tilting the waistline down at the front would be a helpful adjustment, I'll do that next time. Also I think not adding belt loops was a mistake as I also find that all pants slip down at the front and maybe a belt is the only remedy! =)
10/18/09 7:28 AM
Mary Nanna said...
nice job - they look great..very impressive! re front fitting issues - it looks to me that you may need to curve your front waist down about an inch tapering from the side to centre front. (I have to do that myself, so it's an alteration I'm familiar with..) Another issue I have with pants is that my figure is not suited to drop waistbands - I need my trousers to sit on the waistline to get them to sit properly with a belt - even when I've done every alteration under the sun I find the front has a tendency to drop adn I find myself in a constant state of hitchin' - even with a belt. I think my "shelf" just pulls everything down! There's no doubt that pants that sit an inch or two below waist are more flattering but they are also more uncomfortable for me.
10/17/09 5:57 PM
meesa said...
I'm threatening to make my own pair of pants for the first time. I have this pattern as well as a KS. I think you are right that this pattern is best for a fluid, but your version turned out very nice on you!
10/16/09 8:02 PM
marec said...
Congratulations on perfecting pants fitting. :-)
10/16/09 7:20 PM
FreyaStark said...
They look pretty good for a first effort - the back pockets are cute - and I'm sure you'll find the next pair easier. Burda pants patterns have a good reputation so another one, with less wide legs, might suit you better.
10/16/09 5:18 PM
MamaSewing said...
They look great on you, good job!
10/16/09 11:07 AM
Renren said...
Fantastic pants and a great fit. Glad you persevered. For a first pair of pants you chose what I would consider to be a more difficult pattern (pocket flaps, contoured waistband, fly zipper, yoke pockets) and you have done an excellent job.
10/16/09 10:37 AM
Kellie R. said...
Congratulations! I dislike pants for the same reasons that you do... and still have not attempted to sew a pair! Yours look great!
10/16/09 9:32 AM
Bsts said...
Your pants look great. You took time and made a awesome effort to get them to fit wonderfully. Me? Never been able to get a pair of pants to fit. I am going to follow your lead and try again.
10/16/09 7:54 AM
mars418 said...
ClaireEmily, Great job on your first pair of pants. I've also been on a mission to find a slacks pattern that will fit better than most RTW. The Burda's seem to work well for an 'athletic' bum and of the 3 Burdas I've tried, 7746 is my fav--in fact have a pair finished except for the hem. Great job and can't wait to see more!
10/16/09 7:44 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
They look great! Extremely flattering.
10/16/09 6:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

New Look 6150

photo
by: craftsanct...

Review
Vogue Patterns V8379

photo
by: truebias

Review
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

Buy Now