SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 8125 (vintage dress)

Viewed 644 times 
Reviewed by:julie w
photo

 
 
About julie wstar
WA Australia
Member since: 12/25/06
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/17/09 8:07 AM
Last Updated:5/9/14 6:50 PM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by julie w

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: This is a vintage wrap dress pattern that is made up of a front piece and a back piece. The front is wraped and tied at the back and the back overlaps the front and is tied.

This patter has now been re released in the summer 2014 release under pattern number 1356. Click Here

Pattern Sizing:16-18

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes, apart from my small alteration, more later.

Were the instructions easy to follow?There is really nothing to this pattern but the instructions were detailed and well written.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked that it went together very well and was an easy gratifying project. I was doing exams at the time so just picked it up for a few minutes here and there as relax time.

Fabric Used: This dress is reversable so one side is a quilting cotton and the other side is a lightweight poplin.This is the reverse side

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:I made this straight out of the envelope as the only fitting is a french dart. After completion The front neck gaped a bit and will need some contouring so as a fix to this version I put in three little tucks. I quite like how this modernised the dress so I'm not sure if I will do this next time or if I will contour it. Here is a close up of the tucks The pattern calls for ribbon to tie at the back but I used self fabric.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?I will make this again once I come across two co-ordinating fabrics that will work.

Conclusion: A great dress for lazy summer Sundays that is easy to make and easy to wear. I also think this would work well for a travel wardrobe.
Here is a photo of how it ties at the back
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
charliegirl127 said...
This is so cute! I can't wait to get my hands on the re-release.
5/10/14 9:16 AM
JTink said...
I'm so glad to have found this. Your dress turned out so pretty. I want to try the re-release version.
5/4/14 6:07 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a cool vintage dress! Love it!
10/29/09 8:21 PM
eugenia123 said...
What a beautiful dress. That's a great pattern - really interesting construction. I love the two different fabrics you have used.
10/18/09 1:58 PM
mary in FL said...
I remember that pattern, too! Yours turned out great!
10/17/09 10:35 PM
julie w said...
Thankyou ladybegood, I've fixed the links.
10/17/09 5:59 PM
ladybegood said...
Thanks for the review! I've been hunting for this pattern to complete my wrap dress collection. By the way, the photo links in your review don't work. I think you have an extra "http//" in them.
10/17/09 12:03 PM
MaryDB said...
That's a really pretty dress! I remember the pattern when it came out - thanks for the review.
10/17/09 11:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Figgy's Nituna

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

More Info
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

More Info