SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5252 (MISSES/MEN'S UNLINED VEST AND)

22 more reviews
Viewed 316 times 
Reviewed by:NC Carol
Friend of PR

About NC Carolstar
WA United States
Member since: 6/8/06
Reviews: 6 (patterns: 6)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/09 3:10 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Vests    
Available for sale on PR: $16.25 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.25 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past

vintage sewing patterns

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics

Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
NC Carol said... (10/20/09 9:40 AM) Reply
You guys are so kind! I am wearing it around and it's just right for an outer layer these days. I love the color, I do. I just keep fantasizing about buying that Kwik Sew pattern that Immelu told me about and trying again! I should really sew up more from my stash, though, and not buy any more fleece...
grey ann said... (10/19/09 6:02 PM) Reply
I think it fits like most fleece jackets do. It may be meant for the wearer to have on heavier tops under it. It looks like it fits, though, bec. the sleeves are the proper length, and hem length is proportionate for your body. I think the pockets and zip look professional!
JEF said... (10/19/09 5:13 PM) Reply
I think it looks really nice. Honestly, it doesn't look too bulky or boxy. You're right - it's not fitted but it's not at the boxy extreme. It's just at the right boxy amount for a comfy fleece jacket.
NC Carol said... (10/18/09 6:31 PM) Reply
Immelu, that Kwik Sew pattern looks just perfect! Thanks so much!
Immelu said... (10/18/09 5:59 PM) Reply
It looks good though! I made kwik sew 3297 awhile ago and love it! It's fairly close fitting and doesn't feel all bulky. review is here:
pammieh said... (10/18/09 3:37 PM) Reply
I've never sewn with fleece - glad you posted this review - I have links to all kinds of technical fabrics - you inspire me - even though you dislike the fit - I love how you put it together - and great for hiking! You're right I have some new polartec stuff from Patagonia and the fits is slim and long and not boxy. Still, great review and good to know what to look for in a pattern.
sewcrazy53 said... (10/18/09 3:31 PM) Reply
Good Job!! I think the fit is NOT bad. Maybe I live in the good cold north, and I think it would look good with an extra sweater underneath for extra warmth. It was cold this mornng - 32 F degrees.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Class Details

Online Class
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Class Details

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Pattern Details