SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2009-119 (Sleeveless Dress with Pleats)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1027 times 
Reviewed by:elainemay
photo

 
 
About elainemaystarstarstar
Member since: 2/4/09
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/09 4:17 PM
Last Updated:10/18/09 4:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
46 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
Very smart and distinctive. Well done.
10/18/09 4:26 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Wonderful dress. I can see where this will become a dress you go to often.
10/18/09 4:28 PM
lmg said...
My top pick for this issue. Yes very smart and you did a marvelous job. I would need to draft some elbow length sleeves though....
10/18/09 4:32 PM
kimmielovesparis said...
Beautiful dress! The fit is bang on. Great job.
10/18/09 4:35 PM
Amanda S. said...
Okay, so I did not give this one a second look in the magazine. BUT, I love yours!!! I do love a pleat that's stitched flat against the lower abdomen. I think that's very flattering. Great job on this smart little dress!
10/18/09 5:00 PM
Christas said...
This is GORGEOUS. I thought it looked interesting in the magazine, but yours makes me want to sew it. Your fit is perfect, as is the fabric..... excellent sewing!
10/18/09 5:02 PM
Kay Y said...
Fabulous! I just looked at this issue today and this dress was my favorite. You have done a fabulous job! BTW perhaps you leave a few cm unsewn at the bottom of the panel seam so that you can do the hem before completing the seam - this keeps the inward pleat very sharp and flat, although it looks as though you had no trouble with it in your wool fabric.
10/18/09 5:12 PM
cabinbaby said...
This was my favorite thing in the magazine. I will be sewing this in November after Halloween costumes, Wardrobe Contest, and a few other projects. I LOVE LOVE LOVE your version. It's so flattering on you.
10/18/09 5:20 PM
Twinset said...
Beautiful and well made, really. Love it with your red shoes!
10/18/09 5:33 PM
Nancy K said...
A beautiful dress with meticulous details. You're right, the fit is perfection. May I suggest Sew Exciting's Professiona sheer interfacing next time. It is a really great light weight interfacing.
10/18/09 5:41 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Not only is this dress sophisticated and clearly well-crafted, it looks stunning on you, truly. And I appreciate the lovely photography too. Great job!
10/18/09 5:52 PM
sewbehind said...
I love everything about this dress. The fit, the style, the look. Gorgeous.
10/18/09 6:38 PM
Raye Ann said...
fabulous dress and impeccable fit. thank you for the great review!
10/18/09 6:46 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Beautiful!! Both you and the dress!! Very understated. Also would look lovely with accessories. Very couture looking--WOW!!
10/18/09 7:11 PM
Catbird said...
This is wonderful. I love the combination of feminine form with 'businesslike' fabric. You've done it to perfection. Great job and great review!
10/18/09 7:51 PM
SandraB said...
Lovely, lovely dress. It fits you perfectly.
10/18/09 7:54 PM
MarianS said...
I love this dress! I don't know how it would look on my size 14 - 16 figure, but I want one.
10/18/09 8:23 PM
lamstu said...
Beautiful fit and excellent workmanship. You are ready for the boardroom in this dress.
10/18/09 8:28 PM
DorothyK said...
Stunning dress - beautifully made. Looks great on you.
10/18/09 8:32 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a wonderfully striking dress. Your construction is fantastic!
10/18/09 9:28 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Oh, so gorgeous, and classy! It looks truly professional in construction, and the fit is superb! MarianS - I really think this would look great on a fuller figure too.
10/18/09 10:23 PM
Elke said...
Beautiful dress...looks fabulous on you!
10/18/09 10:37 PM
cgHipp said...
This looks fabulous - so beautifully done!
10/18/09 10:40 PM
sew2little said...
This is lovely on you--very chic.
10/19/09 0:31 AM
lara900 said...
I love your dress, very pretty, elegant -- and those pleats are really perfect, stitched halfway down.
10/19/09 0:40 AM
Sharonspils said...
It looks stunning on you and you have done a wonderful job. Thank you for a very informative review, I have ths one on my wish list.
10/19/09 2:07 AM
Paris75008 said...
Absolutely stunning. You look beautiful in that classic dress and it's made perfectly. I have this issue and your lovely dress makes me want to have a go at this one.
10/19/09 4:11 AM
alviana said...
absolutely beautiful... this is one of my must-sew pattern and urs are very inspirational
10/19/09 5:01 AM
Lalena said...
Your dress is stunning! I don't know if I'd make one in a floral, however--all those beautiful pleats might be lost in patterned fabric. What about a light color solid for spring? Great job.
10/19/09 7:15 AM
apple annie said...
Great looking dress, perfectly executed with a flawless fit. Love your shoes!!!
10/19/09 8:24 AM
apple annie said...
Great looking dress, perfectly executed with a flawless fit. Love your shoes!!!
10/19/09 8:25 AM
Julia C said...
Beautiful dress! Very classic.
10/19/09 9:37 AM
nicegirl said...
That is so much cuter than the Burda version! The line drawing had promise but I wasn't sure how it would look in real life, but I totally love yours! Thank you for the review (and the mention of the enigmatic picture with the wooden spoon--I mean, really, what is that?).
10/19/09 10:36 AM
CynthiaSue said...
ooh thats why it looks so good, "I graded down to a 32"!! lol. It looks stunning on you!
10/19/09 11:58 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Very lovely. :)
10/19/09 12:26 PM
MichelleE said...
Fabulous job. It looks very elegant on you.
10/19/09 2:27 PM
becca a said...
Wow! Your dress looks so much better than Burda's picture. Great dress. I might have to try this pattern after all.
10/19/09 5:54 PM
Awi said...
Love it love it love it - WOW!
10/19/09 6:11 PM
Sew Shy said...
Absolutely stunning!
10/20/09 5:38 PM
MarijaSLO said...
I read their German instructions too and don't understand those few centimeters as well. They can't be because of the tightness of the skirt, since the skirt has pleats. When I make mine, I will keep in mind to make the lining for the bodice. This half solutions they always suggest, tend to make the dress bulky in the upper part of the bodice. Your dress looks great, I envy you for having it. :)
10/21/09 5:41 AM
taffee said...
You do beautiful work.
10/22/09 5:20 PM
cindyann said...
Lovely!! So perfect for your figure.
10/25/09 10:22 AM
aimeejessica said...
thanks for all the help in your review!
10/25/09 4:18 PM
RachelEsq said...
Absolutely stunning dress.
10/26/09 1:44 PM
Heatherrique said...
You captured the glamour of Audrey H., the elegance of Michelle Yeoh, and the mystique of Tippi Hedren in this stunning dress! AMAZING!
11/1/09 9:51 AM
pammieh said...
Adorable!! I think you should up your skill level - to me you're an expert:) (I'm a beginner:)).
11/19/09 4:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8409

photo
by: mkruszewsk...

Review
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now