SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5591 (Misses Skirts & Sash)

26 more reviews
Viewed 450 times 
Reviewed by:A Beginners Needle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About A Beginners Needlestar
CA USA
Member since: 9/3/09
Reviews: 22 (patterns: 20)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/09 7:28 PM
Last Updated:10/3/13 7:18 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PammyC said... (10/4/13 2:47 AM) Reply
Cute!
Amanda107 said... (4/9/10 8:19 PM) Reply
pretty - just bought the pattern - thanks for the info!
Stitchcakes said... (10/19/09 1:01 PM) Reply
I'm pretty beginnerish when it comes to actual stitching, but I can tell you that from what I've read on PR and what I've experienced from my own few patterns, the contemporary big 4 patterns run big most of the time. I completed a Vogue top into which I fit the 16 measurements *perfectly*...so I cut a 14 and it worked out great! It really doesn't hurt at the beginner stage to be stitching up some quick and dirty fitting muslins until you get a feel for pattern sizing...Cute skirt, BTW!
fourkid said... (10/19/09 10:39 AM) Reply
This is beautiful. You did a great job! You could take it in without taking the waistband off. Just do some neat darts through the band ending a short way into the skirt. . You can finish them to look nice even if you were to tuck in your shirt. A quick fix could make this a very wearable addition to your wardrobe.
ColorMeHome said... (10/19/09 9:15 AM) Reply
Your skirt looks terrific! I think I will try this one.
servantofclio said... (10/18/09 11:54 PM) Reply
Be sure to stay-stitch the waist--it's easy for that curved edge to stretch out! The skirt looks great, though.
lyndle said... (10/18/09 8:13 PM) Reply
This skirt looks cool! It might be worth seeing if you can take it in as it looks really nice on you.
sewmytime said... (10/18/09 7:37 PM) Reply
Congrats on your first project...This is a wonderfully made skirt...
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Papercut Patterns 1004

photo
by: lah119

Review
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Pattern Details