SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5591 (Misses Skirts & Sash)

25 more reviews
Viewed 444 times 
Reviewed by:A Beginners Needle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About A Beginners Needlestar
CA USA
Member since: 9/3/09
Reviews: 22 (patterns: 20)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/09 7:28 PM
Last Updated:10/3/13 7:18 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PammyC said... (10/4/13 2:47 AM) Reply
Cute!
Amanda107 said... (4/9/10 8:19 PM) Reply
pretty - just bought the pattern - thanks for the info!
Stitchcakes said... (10/19/09 1:01 PM) Reply
I'm pretty beginnerish when it comes to actual stitching, but I can tell you that from what I've read on PR and what I've experienced from my own few patterns, the contemporary big 4 patterns run big most of the time. I completed a Vogue top into which I fit the 16 measurements *perfectly*...so I cut a 14 and it worked out great! It really doesn't hurt at the beginner stage to be stitching up some quick and dirty fitting muslins until you get a feel for pattern sizing...Cute skirt, BTW!
fourkid said... (10/19/09 10:39 AM) Reply
This is beautiful. You did a great job! You could take it in without taking the waistband off. Just do some neat darts through the band ending a short way into the skirt. . You can finish them to look nice even if you were to tuck in your shirt. A quick fix could make this a very wearable addition to your wardrobe.
ColorMeHome said... (10/19/09 9:15 AM) Reply
Your skirt looks terrific! I think I will try this one.
servantofclio said... (10/18/09 11:54 PM) Reply
Be sure to stay-stitch the waist--it's easy for that curved edge to stretch out! The skirt looks great, though.
lyndle said... (10/18/09 8:13 PM) Reply
This skirt looks cool! It might be worth seeing if you can take it in as it looks really nice on you.
sewmytime said... (10/18/09 7:37 PM) Reply
Congrats on your first project...This is a wonderfully made skirt...
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 5114 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Simplicity 2874

photo
by: autumnnn

Review