SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5591 (Misses Skirts & Sash)

25 more reviews
Viewed 429 times 
Reviewed by:A Beginners Needle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About A Beginners Needlestar
CA USA
Member since: 9/3/09
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/09 7:28 PM
Last Updated:10/3/13 7:18 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewmytime said...
Congrats on your first project...This is a wonderfully made skirt...
10/18/09 7:37 PM
lyndle said...
This skirt looks cool! It might be worth seeing if you can take it in as it looks really nice on you.
10/18/09 8:13 PM
servantofclio said...
Be sure to stay-stitch the waist--it's easy for that curved edge to stretch out! The skirt looks great, though.
10/18/09 11:54 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Your skirt looks terrific! I think I will try this one.
10/19/09 9:15 AM
fourkid said...
This is beautiful. You did a great job! You could take it in without taking the waistband off. Just do some neat darts through the band ending a short way into the skirt. . You can finish them to look nice even if you were to tuck in your shirt. A quick fix could make this a very wearable addition to your wardrobe.
10/19/09 10:39 AM
Stitchcakes said...
I'm pretty beginnerish when it comes to actual stitching, but I can tell you that from what I've read on PR and what I've experienced from my own few patterns, the contemporary big 4 patterns run big most of the time. I completed a Vogue top into which I fit the 16 measurements *perfectly*...so I cut a 14 and it worked out great! It really doesn't hurt at the beginner stage to be stitching up some quick and dirty fitting muslins until you get a feel for pattern sizing...Cute skirt, BTW!
10/19/09 1:01 PM
Amanda107 said...
pretty - just bought the pattern - thanks for the info!
4/9/10 8:19 PM
PammyC said...
Cute!
10/4/13 2:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Vogue Patterns 1225

photo
by: Marge99

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
Burda 7447

photo
by: Lori V

Review