SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5591 (Misses Skirts & Sash)

25 more reviews
Viewed 424 times 
Reviewed by:A Beginners Needle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About A Beginners Needlestar
CA USA
Member since: 9/3/09
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/09 7:28 PM
Last Updated:10/3/13 7:18 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewmytime said...
Congrats on your first project...This is a wonderfully made skirt...
10/18/09 7:37 PM
lyndle said...
This skirt looks cool! It might be worth seeing if you can take it in as it looks really nice on you.
10/18/09 8:13 PM
servantofclio said...
Be sure to stay-stitch the waist--it's easy for that curved edge to stretch out! The skirt looks great, though.
10/18/09 11:54 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Your skirt looks terrific! I think I will try this one.
10/19/09 9:15 AM
fourkid said...
This is beautiful. You did a great job! You could take it in without taking the waistband off. Just do some neat darts through the band ending a short way into the skirt. . You can finish them to look nice even if you were to tuck in your shirt. A quick fix could make this a very wearable addition to your wardrobe.
10/19/09 10:39 AM
Stitchcakes said...
I'm pretty beginnerish when it comes to actual stitching, but I can tell you that from what I've read on PR and what I've experienced from my own few patterns, the contemporary big 4 patterns run big most of the time. I completed a Vogue top into which I fit the 16 measurements *perfectly*...so I cut a 14 and it worked out great! It really doesn't hurt at the beginner stage to be stitching up some quick and dirty fitting muslins until you get a feel for pattern sizing...Cute skirt, BTW!
10/19/09 1:01 PM
Amanda107 said...
pretty - just bought the pattern - thanks for the info!
4/9/10 8:19 PM
PammyC said...
Cute!
10/4/13 2:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2008-116

photo
by: olgarosita

Review
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Buy Now