SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2680 (Women's City Coat)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1067 times 
Reviewed by:sarahinlafayette
photo

 
 
About sarahinlafayettestar
CA USA
Member since: 7/17/08
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/19/09 2:31 PM
Last Updated:10/20/09 11:36 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lyndle said...
Fantastic review! I'm planning to use a similar fabric to your second coat, so thanks for the warning! When you extended the facing on coat 2, did it add much bulk? I like the idea but am wondering about using some sort of lining fabric for that.
4/15/14 4:04 PM
LizBa said...
All three of these look beautiful. I especially like the colors of the light grey one. Thanks for the warning about fabric types!
1/7/11 11:50 AM
StashPanache said...
Thank you. Good Review. It answered several questions I had. I am thinking of buying this pattern to replace my favorite 3/4 LLBean winter jacket. It is made from a single layer of fleece which is very warm. It looks like berber on the inside but is smooth on the outside and does not stretch out when I sit. I would like to make another coat out of this, as soon as I find out what you call it. And, btw, the sleeve on my LLBean coat is cut in more than one piece. Since I have never made myself anything from Jalie, I think I will make a quick muslin to test for size. I love your suit jacket. Looks beautiful!
12/20/09 3:34 PM
Robin Denning said...
Wonderful review. Thanks for the details on sewing with different fabrics. I have often wondered whether fleece would work in a 3/4 length coat. Does sitting make it stretch out? I guess that would depend on the recovery of the knit. Your coats and jacket look great.
10/24/09 9:19 PM
Dynamo said...
Great coats. I'm so impressed with anyone sewing coats! I think my favourite is the one that caused you the most trouble ... that second coat is fabulous. Love them all though.
10/20/09 12:39 PM
sarahinlafayette said...
Thanks everybody for your comments. Stretch Queen - I'd go with the larger size. It's easy to fit this coat a little smaller after it's made. And fuzzygalore, I forget whether this was Powerstretch or powershield - they kind of overlap in some versions. I love the idea of these technical fabrics, but they are really a challenge for me to use in real-life garments!
10/20/09 11:44 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Did you use power stretch as recommended for the grey version? Great fabric in use, but I'm also finding it needs very different techniques from regular fleece.
10/20/09 6:55 AM
nicegirl said...
You have really made the most of this pattern! It's a very nice looking jacket.
10/19/09 5:54 PM
Heatherbelle said...
Hi there, I have made this coat before and just love it. Your versions are great! The pockets are odd but stitching through them with the button/buttonhole does hold them nice and flat. I am going to make another one and will add a bit to the seam allowances from waist down but I do love this coat. Nice work on yours again.
10/19/09 4:36 PM
Leora said...
I really like your short version. Good work on making that technical fabric turn out a beautiful coat! I really like the look of your collars and think I'll pull this pattern out. Thanks for the inspiration!
10/19/09 3:19 PM
stretch queen said...
Thank you. I have the pattern out and have the fabric but have been hesitating because of size issues. Could you tell me how many inches you would go up from your measurements (say for hips/bust) so the coat isn't so snug fitting. I recently made a Y jalie sweetheart top and have done the z for the coat but am thinking maybe I need to go to a AA. Any thoughts. Thanks.
10/19/09 3:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2174

photo
by: Nanax4

Review