Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2680 (Women's City Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1025 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:sarahinlafayette
photo
About sarahinlafayettestar
CA USA
Member since: 7/17/08
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/19/09 2:31 PM
Last Updated:10/20/09 11:36 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
stretch queen said...
Thank you. I have the pattern out and have the fabric but have been hesitating because of size issues. Could you tell me how many inches you would go up from your measurements (say for hips/bust) so the coat isn't so snug fitting. I recently made a Y jalie sweetheart top and have done the z for the coat but am thinking maybe I need to go to a AA. Any thoughts. Thanks.
10/19/09 3:17 PM
Leora said...
I really like your short version. Good work on making that technical fabric turn out a beautiful coat! I really like the look of your collars and think I'll pull this pattern out. Thanks for the inspiration!
10/19/09 3:19 PM
Heatherbelle said...
Hi there, I have made this coat before and just love it. Your versions are great! The pockets are odd but stitching through them with the button/buttonhole does hold them nice and flat. I am going to make another one and will add a bit to the seam allowances from waist down but I do love this coat. Nice work on yours again.
10/19/09 4:36 PM
nicegirl said...
You have really made the most of this pattern! It's a very nice looking jacket.
10/19/09 5:54 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Did you use power stretch as recommended for the grey version? Great fabric in use, but I'm also finding it needs very different techniques from regular fleece.
10/20/09 6:55 AM
sarahinlafayette said...
Thanks everybody for your comments. Stretch Queen - I'd go with the larger size. It's easy to fit this coat a little smaller after it's made. And fuzzygalore, I forget whether this was Powerstretch or powershield - they kind of overlap in some versions. I love the idea of these technical fabrics, but they are really a challenge for me to use in real-life garments!
10/20/09 11:44 AM
Dynamo said...
Great coats. I'm so impressed with anyone sewing coats! I think my favourite is the one that caused you the most trouble ... that second coat is fabulous. Love them all though.
10/20/09 12:39 PM
Robin Denning said...
Wonderful review. Thanks for the details on sewing with different fabrics. I have often wondered whether fleece would work in a 3/4 length coat. Does sitting make it stretch out? I guess that would depend on the recovery of the knit. Your coats and jacket look great.
10/24/09 9:19 PM
StashPanache said...
Thank you. Good Review. It answered several questions I had. I am thinking of buying this pattern to replace my favorite 3/4 LLBean winter jacket. It is made from a single layer of fleece which is very warm. It looks like berber on the inside but is smooth on the outside and does not stretch out when I sit. I would like to make another coat out of this, as soon as I find out what you call it. And, btw, the sleeve on my LLBean coat is cut in more than one piece. Since I have never made myself anything from Jalie, I think I will make a quick muslin to test for size. I love your suit jacket. Looks beautiful!
12/20/09 3:34 PM
LizBa said...
All three of these look beautiful. I especially like the colors of the light grey one. Thanks for the warning about fabric types!
1/7/11 11:50 AM
lyndle said...
Fantastic review! I'm planning to use a similar fabric to your second coat, so thanks for the warning! When you extended the facing on coat 2, did it add much bulk? I like the idea but am wondering about using some sort of lining fabric for that.
4/15/14 4:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

New Look 6463 Misses' Skirts
photo
Review by Riversmock... on 10/13/13
Read Review

Butterick 6009 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 6009 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 2003 Cooper
photo
Review by Lori V on 1/15/14
Read Review

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us