SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5336 

3 more reviews
Viewed 724 times 
Reviewed by:LisaRM
photo

 
 
About LisaRMstar
LA USA
Member since: 9/30/08
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/20/09 9:28 PM
Last Updated:10/23/09 6:03 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
That looks very svelte, and MUCH better tham the pattern sketch. I think that collar looks rather modern, I have seen several patterns like that. One thing that you might do to make it more traditional is to bring the apex of collar outwards towards the point of the collar. That sleeve cap fullness is a common problem, I often have to pin out the fullness, then resew it. The jacket that I am working on now I had to take and extra inch out. I love the fabric, wool is nice to work with. BTW, is that your kitchen? Wow!
10/20/09 10:10 PM
carolynw said...
Lisa I think you are missing one step - the bottom edge of the collar should be joined into the lapel - hope the instructions help you see what I mean. For the extra puffiness in the sleeve head - try folding out about 1/4" in the sleeve cap - it usually helps. Looks very nice and am sure you will get a lot of use out of it.
10/21/09 4:02 PM
Re Becca said...
Yeah, that is what I meant. The apex (point where the collar meets the lapel) should move out towards the point of the lapel. Your changes look much better.
10/22/09 8:39 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your jacket looks very nice, and you did a great job. When I was learning to sew jackets, I found two books were very helpful: Jackets for Real People by Palmer/Pletsch and the Easy Guide to Sewing Jackets by Cecilia Podolak. You can buy used copies of both books on amazon.
10/23/09 6:07 PM
Re Becca said...
Nice collar!
10/23/09 6:52 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice and professional looking!
10/23/09 7:03 PM
eugenia123 said...
That's a really nice, classic jacket - it looks great.
10/24/09 6:49 AM
Andreahg said...
Your jacket looks much nicer than the drawing! I've never sewn a jacket and I've looked at this pattern several times for my first, but yours has given me to courage to go ahead!
10/25/09 10:37 AM
StellaTB said...
great looking jacket! Thanks for the tips. I am modifying this pattern for use as a riding jacket. I was happy to read your comment that the pattern sketch doesn't do the jacket justice.
12/2/11 8:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 73986-1004

photo
by: Silknmore

Review
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now