Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5336 - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 715 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:LisaRM
photo
About LisaRMstar
LA USA
Member since: 9/30/08
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/20/09 9:28 PM
Last Updated:10/23/09 6:03 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
That looks very svelte, and MUCH better tham the pattern sketch. I think that collar looks rather modern, I have seen several patterns like that. One thing that you might do to make it more traditional is to bring the apex of collar outwards towards the point of the collar. That sleeve cap fullness is a common problem, I often have to pin out the fullness, then resew it. The jacket that I am working on now I had to take and extra inch out. I love the fabric, wool is nice to work with. BTW, is that your kitchen? Wow!
10/20/09 10:10 PM
carolynw said...
Lisa I think you are missing one step - the bottom edge of the collar should be joined into the lapel - hope the instructions help you see what I mean. For the extra puffiness in the sleeve head - try folding out about 1/4" in the sleeve cap - it usually helps. Looks very nice and am sure you will get a lot of use out of it.
10/21/09 4:02 PM
Re Becca said...
Yeah, that is what I meant. The apex (point where the collar meets the lapel) should move out towards the point of the lapel. Your changes look much better.
10/22/09 8:39 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your jacket looks very nice, and you did a great job. When I was learning to sew jackets, I found two books were very helpful: Jackets for Real People by Palmer/Pletsch and the Easy Guide to Sewing Jackets by Cecilia Podolak. You can buy used copies of both books on amazon.
10/23/09 6:07 PM
Re Becca said...
Nice collar!
10/23/09 6:52 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice and professional looking!
10/23/09 7:03 PM
eugenia123 said...
That's a really nice, classic jacket - it looks great.
10/24/09 6:49 AM
Andreahg said...
Your jacket looks much nicer than the drawing! I've never sewn a jacket and I've looked at this pattern several times for my first, but yours has given me to courage to go ahead!
10/25/09 10:37 AM
StellaTB said...
great looking jacket! Thanks for the tips. I am modifying this pattern for use as a riding jacket. I was happy to read your comment that the pattern sketch doesn't do the jacket justice.
12/2/11 8:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Oliver + S LC002WS
photo
Review by wenznz on 7/20/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern
Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5464
photo
Review by QuiltSewSe... on 2/20/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3500 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3500 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9471 Pattern
Burda 9471 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us