SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4712 (Men's Shirt)

7 more reviews
Viewed 274 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/21/09 10:35 AM
Last Updated:10/21/09 10:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
Look at the PERFECT match of those stripes on the pockets. :o) EVERY stitch is exact and precise. No wonder Michael loves his new shirt. Who wouldn't? :o) I wish I had a fabric dive around here (other than the sewing room, I mean).
10/24/09 4:35 AM
RLL said...
Another job well done!!! And I am glad Michael finally got something out of this. Now he will want more and you can justify more fabric purchases : ) or in your case, machine purchases lol.
10/22/09 5:16 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks everyone for your kind words and birthday wishes! It's funny, in a way I find it EASIER to make a patterned shirt like this: you always know when you're cutting on the grain and it's easy to keep all your stitching straight. For anyone making shirts, Margaret Islander's Shirtmaking DVD really de-mystifies the process. David Coffin is another, perhaps more famous, shirt-master, but I find his book/DVD a little intimidating and his approach a bit fastidious. About interfacing, yes, I will try something stiffer next time, esp. for the collar band. It's definitely a whole world unto itself and I'm learning by trial and error what works and what doesn't.
10/22/09 10:00 AM
HLT said...
Great review & conclusion!! Love the tips that I will reference when I make my DH a shirt.
10/22/09 9:37 AM
JEF said...
Really nice shirt - very inspiring.
10/22/09 9:26 AM
Sewing Chick said...
Love the shirt. Michael is a lucky guy! I'm about to make my fiancee some shirts and you have provided me with some inspiration. By the way, you may want to edit the pattern info provided. When it pulls up, it's a baby dress! Thanks for the review, Peter. You always do a beautiful job.
10/22/09 8:48 AM
voet said...
Another nice job, Peter. Michael must be very happy with his birthday present. Regarding the interfacing, I like to use Shirt Tailor for the top collar, cuffs and button placket when I make a shirt out of cotton shirting. It gives a nice pressed look.
10/22/09 8:06 AM
fourkid said...
NIce shirt - I liked the dark buttons! I totally understand using what is at hand - I do it all the time - on the knit interefacing - you could try an extra layer to help get it firmer. PR does an on-line interfacing class calls that is great - with lots of samples - I found it opened up whole new possiblities for me in sewing.
10/22/09 3:07 AM
knitmachinequeen said...
Great job!
10/22/09 1:59 AM
AnitaJ said...
Great shirt! What a nice birthday gift for Michael, plus a nice gift for you too - I gotta learn how to make my gifts work like that. Have fun with your new machine!
10/21/09 10:41 PM
Sewing Joe said...
Another beautiful job!
10/21/09 9:35 PM
Rhoda K said...
What a beautiful shirt! Happy b'day Michael and a great job, as always Peter.
10/21/09 8:01 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Happy Birthday, Michael!! Your shirt looks GREAT on ya!
10/21/09 7:56 PM
FreyaStark said...
A very nice job. Well done.
10/21/09 4:40 PM
Dee2 said...
Beautiful shirt--love the fabric & your wonderful attention to detail. What a great collection of machines!
10/21/09 1:14 PM
sew obsessed said...
Another great shirt! Thanks for a thorough review. Glad to see you are now an Advanced Beginner:-)
10/21/09 12:49 PM
Gloria W said...
I am in awe of your pattern matching ability. The pockets and sleeve plackets just disappear! (And of course I love the photos)
10/21/09 11:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Simplicity 2621

photo
by: julmfoster

Review
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

More Info
Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

More Info
Simplicity 2455

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review