Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4712 (Men's Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 270 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/21/09 10:35 AM
Last Updated:10/21/09 10:54 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gloria W said...
I am in awe of your pattern matching ability. The pockets and sleeve plackets just disappear! (And of course I love the photos)
10/21/09 11:49 AM
sew obsessed said...
Another great shirt! Thanks for a thorough review. Glad to see you are now an Advanced Beginner:-)
10/21/09 12:49 PM
Dee2 said...
Beautiful shirt--love the fabric & your wonderful attention to detail. What a great collection of machines!
10/21/09 1:14 PM
FreyaStark said...
A very nice job. Well done.
10/21/09 4:40 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Happy Birthday, Michael!! Your shirt looks GREAT on ya!
10/21/09 7:56 PM
Rhoda K said...
What a beautiful shirt! Happy b'day Michael and a great job, as always Peter.
10/21/09 8:01 PM
Sewing Joe said...
Another beautiful job!
10/21/09 9:35 PM
AnitaJ said...
Great shirt! What a nice birthday gift for Michael, plus a nice gift for you too - I gotta learn how to make my gifts work like that. Have fun with your new machine!
10/21/09 10:41 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Great job!
10/22/09 1:59 AM
fourkid said...
NIce shirt - I liked the dark buttons! I totally understand using what is at hand - I do it all the time - on the knit interefacing - you could try an extra layer to help get it firmer. PR does an on-line interfacing class calls that is great - with lots of samples - I found it opened up whole new possiblities for me in sewing.
10/22/09 3:07 AM
voet said...
Another nice job, Peter. Michael must be very happy with his birthday present. Regarding the interfacing, I like to use Shirt Tailor for the top collar, cuffs and button placket when I make a shirt out of cotton shirting. It gives a nice pressed look.
10/22/09 8:06 AM
Sewing Chick said...
Love the shirt. Michael is a lucky guy! I'm about to make my fiancee some shirts and you have provided me with some inspiration. By the way, you may want to edit the pattern info provided. When it pulls up, it's a baby dress! Thanks for the review, Peter. You always do a beautiful job.
10/22/09 8:48 AM
JEF said...
Really nice shirt - very inspiring.
10/22/09 9:26 AM
HLT said...
Great review & conclusion!! Love the tips that I will reference when I make my DH a shirt.
10/22/09 9:37 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks everyone for your kind words and birthday wishes! It's funny, in a way I find it EASIER to make a patterned shirt like this: you always know when you're cutting on the grain and it's easy to keep all your stitching straight. For anyone making shirts, Margaret Islander's Shirtmaking DVD really de-mystifies the process. David Coffin is another, perhaps more famous, shirt-master, but I find his book/DVD a little intimidating and his approach a bit fastidious. About interfacing, yes, I will try something stiffer next time, esp. for the collar band. It's definitely a whole world unto itself and I'm learning by trial and error what works and what doesn't.
10/22/09 10:00 AM
RLL said...
Another job well done!!! And I am glad Michael finally got something out of this. Now he will want more and you can justify more fabric purchases : ) or in your case, machine purchases lol.
10/22/09 5:16 PM
Annette1 said...
Look at the PERFECT match of those stripes on the pockets. :o) EVERY stitch is exact and precise. No wonder Michael loves his new shirt. Who wouldn't? :o) I wish I had a fabric dive around here (other than the sewing room, I mean).
10/24/09 4:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Burda 8294
photo
Review by Jane S on 10/27/10
Read Review

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern
Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Home Sweet Home Pillow
photo
Review by Sew Nanny on 12/12/08
Read Review

Vogue 1240 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )
Vogue 1240 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4027 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4027 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us