SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 167033-1000 (LBD (Givenchy inspired))

Viewed 2453 times 
Reviewed by:elainemay
photo

 
 
About elainemaystarstarstar
Member since: 2/4/09
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/24/09 2:57 PM
Last Updated:10/28/09 0:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 39 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
97 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
freja71 said...
So beautiful. Love the back.
3/2/10 9:55 AM
VivianZ said...
Beautiful dress, great workmanship!
11/17/09 9:32 AM
kiddo said...
Congratulations!!! Brilliante! The whole design and sewing looks effortlessly elegant.
11/17/09 8:50 AM
kiddo said...
Congratulations!!! Brilliante! The whole design and sewing looks effortlessly elegant.
11/17/09 8:42 AM
Tez said...
Beautiful! Congratulations on your win.
11/13/09 10:32 AM
Paticia La Forte said...
Wow! Just amazing, you did a wonderful job!
11/12/09 8:41 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Congrats on your win - that is one *amazing* dress!
11/12/09 12:50 PM
FirecrackerKTM said...
Wow. Congrats on winning the contest. Your dress is lovely and so are all the outfits you put together.
11/12/09 11:24 AM
Meredith P said...
Just more kudos. Beautifully done, and yes, Dan is a lovely accessory. Thanks for making the pattern available on your blog, which I love BTW.
11/11/09 11:47 AM
selvage said...
Amazing work, looks like a designer dress worth thousands. The dress is beautiful on you.
11/10/09 7:23 PM
Mimi O said...
Beautiful dress and LOVE all the views you took to show how versatile the LBD can be!!!
11/10/09 7:35 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Congrats! Your dress was absolutely perfect!
11/10/09 3:24 AM
Tailypo said...
Oh my gosh, that is a beautiful piece of work. Design, construction, fit, choice of fabric, shaping and details -- just A+ work.
11/9/09 11:42 PM
Heidi Ho said...
That dress rocks!!! It is soooo classy. I must say I like it even better that the original which inspired it. And it fits you perfectly!!
11/9/09 11:10 PM
BeeJ said...
Marvelous!!! Gets my vote.
11/9/09 8:23 PM
jonesyb said...
LBD = Audrey Hepburn to me, too. :) This dress is BEAUTIFUL!!! I'm so very impressed - excellent job!
11/9/09 6:26 PM
elily00 said...
Beautiful job elaine! I'm sure I commented on burdastyle also, but you really got it right with this dress! It is fantastic. The fit is absolutely perfect, and the style is fabulous also. Just beautiful. You deserve to win this one :)
11/9/09 6:21 PM
mesewlot said...
Beautiful dress! I love the cut and design. That fact that it's so versatile doesn't hurt either! Great job!
11/9/09 5:52 PM
cindy-lou said...
FANTASTIC dress!
11/9/09 5:39 PM
Beach Wolf said...
Fabulous. Everyone thinks of Audrey Hepburn when they think of the LBD. Yours is more of little-black dressy than hers. The perfect update. Fabulous blog. I'm so happy I can fit into the same size!
11/7/09 0:40 AM
Beach Wolf said...
Fabulous. Everyone thinks of Audrey Hepburn when they think of the LBD. Yours is more of little-black dressy than hers. The perfect update. Fabulous blog. I'm so happy I can fit into the same size!
11/7/09 0:40 AM
Beach Wolf said...
Fabulous. Everyone thinks of Audrey Hepburn when they think of the LBD. Yours is more of little-black dressy than hers. The perfect update. Fabulous blog. I'm so happy I can fit into the same size!
11/7/09 0:39 AM
Beach Wolf said...
Fabulous. Everyone thinks of Audrey Hepburn when they think of the LBD. Yours is more of little-black dressy than hers. The perfect update. Fabulous blog. I'm so happy I can fit into the same size cause your coffee date dress is perfect too!
11/7/09 0:38 AM
GwenH said...
What a beautiful dress and it fit's you perfectly!
11/2/09 2:03 PM
stashblaster said...
You look stunning in your LBD. This is perfection. You have designed this dress for so many functions. This is so classic you can wear this for years. Bravo!
11/1/09 11:02 AM
Athene said...
You look absolutely exquisite. A beautiful fit on your LBD and love your sense of style.
10/31/09 11:19 PM
PegL said...
Absolutely gorgeous LBD!! You look fabulous in it!
10/30/09 8:16 PM
QuickFade said...
Gorgeous! So sweet to share the pattern! As a full busted woman, this style wouldn't work for me, but I still love it! And, I love the versatility!
10/30/09 10:53 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Absolutely lovely. That back neckline is beautiful. Great job!
10/30/09 6:38 AM
Paris75008 said...
Pure perfection - both you and that lovely dress. I just love your accessorizing and your sense of style. Enjoy wearing it. It's simply stunning!
10/30/09 6:18 AM
animaldream said...
Wow! How beautiful. I love all your clothes. They are great!
10/30/09 4:17 AM
Sharonspils said...
Absolutely stunning
10/28/09 11:56 PM
mylittleelephant said...
I like the ways you wear, I now finally know what fuss is about "LBD", great job!
10/28/09 1:13 PM
Erica B. said...
Gorgeous dress!
10/28/09 11:20 AM
bouddhaman said...
Lovely, just lovely. I bet you love wearing it .
10/28/09 9:41 AM
Barbara V said...
Such a beautiful dress. Fantastic fit and workmanship! Thank you for sharing the pattern.
10/28/09 9:33 AM
michalklimer said...
Wow, what an amazing dress!
10/28/09 9:02 AM
Sigrid. said...
Gorgeous.
10/28/09 8:02 AM
craftygamma said...
Great dress & so versatile! Wish I could wear something like this. Sigh...maybe for my daughter. Very thorough review.
10/28/09 7:48 AM
purplebouquet said...
Fantastic. Great fit, both on your figure and personality. I learned a lot of how to style a LBD differently. Way to go! Claudia
10/26/09 5:53 PM
SpinningJenny said...
Your dress is fabulous on you! You have a real knack for selecting styles and fabrics that work well together, and suit you perfectly. Although the back is gorgeous, I really think that the winning detail is the length you have chosen! P.S. Your blog is a great read.
10/26/09 5:34 AM
Boo97 said...
What can I say but it's fabulous!
10/25/09 8:04 PM
Kgrrl said...
Self-drafted? You've done an amazing job!
10/25/09 6:42 PM
Nancy K said...
Great dress and a fun to read review.
10/25/09 6:04 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Bravo!! What a perfect LBD. Gorgeously designed, impeccably fitted and constructed, and beautifully accessorized. I want to slap the judges of Project Runway with black opera gloves, wave this dress at them and scream *THIS IS WHAT "HOME SEWN" LOOKS LIKE*!!
10/25/09 4:46 PM
crystalwoods said...
What a fabulous dress you have created! I just love all the ways you have created different looks with accessories! Just fabulous.
10/25/09 3:40 PM
emeraldjul said...
Stunning. Fabulous design, fit and construction...looks incredible on you!
10/25/09 3:07 PM
carnelian said...
Skilled.Chic. Brava.
10/25/09 3:03 PM
Leora said...
Perfect!
10/25/09 2:33 PM
Em's Summer said...
The back is stunning! I love this dress! You did a wonderful job!
10/25/09 2:27 PM
got2sew said...
Absolutely stunning. I love how it is so basic but so alluring as well. Great job!
10/25/09 2:21 PM
LollyVee said...
'THAT DRESS' is stunning!! Love the back and the fit is perfect...Dan seems suitably impressed too!!!
10/25/09 1:51 PM
nellc said...
Gorgeous dress!
10/25/09 12:54 PM
Catbird said...
You have totally captured the Audrey Hepburn style. This is understated but undeniably elegant and the fit is absolutely perfect. And not only that, but you managed to make a stunning LBD that is also versatile and can work beautifully in different settings! I LOVE the back. You've done an outstanding job!
10/25/09 12:35 PM
Annette Wright said...
Absolutely beautiful. I can't wait to check out your blog.
10/25/09 11:50 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Awestruck here... you look very polished, sophisticated and fabulous in your LBD! Just lovely thank you for posting!
10/25/09 11:17 AM
Jali said...
I love that your LBD is simple, elegant and versatile. Great work, stunning dress!
10/25/09 11:02 AM
Jacqui315 said...
Love it!!! This is the LBD I've always wanted to make.
10/25/09 10:57 AM
lynnewill said...
Everybody's comments are on the mark. Lovely dress, its versatility makes it a very chic wardrobe staple. Thank you for sharing your talent
10/25/09 10:25 AM
cindyann said...
Perfection! In every way this dress is just fantastic and your styling for each occasion is spot on.
10/25/09 10:18 AM
Linda E. said...
Love the dress you did a great job on it and the accessories look great with it. The tall dark handsome one looks really nice with it.
10/25/09 9:46 AM
valerie sews said...
You have created a beautiful, trully versatile dress that suits you perfectly. Love your 'loveliest accessory' too!
10/25/09 7:51 AM
Sic said...
Wow, gorgeous.
10/25/09 5:21 AM
jilly cooper said...
beautiful. that back is elegant and stunning, well done!!! You have an amazing ability to match the fabric to the garment.
10/25/09 2:50 AM
FreyaStark said...
It's stunning. Well done.
10/25/09 2:20 AM
Sewlovelier said...
Beautiful work and the fit is perfection! I love how you drafted the back. Thanks for sharing the process.
10/24/09 11:19 PM
CynthiaSue said...
wow, gulp, i wish i had you skills:) Truly couture elegance.
10/24/09 10:59 PM
Amanda S. said...
It's gorgeous!
10/24/09 10:32 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is a stunning dress. You've done such a fabulous job taking a classica and giving it chic styling through the back. Just great all around!
10/24/09 10:26 PM
Raye Ann said...
beautiful beyond belief. absolutely fabulous! it is the definition of LBD- highly versatile and very elegant.
10/24/09 10:19 PM
DorothyK said...
Stunning. You did a great job and it looks perfect on you.
10/24/09 10:16 PM
becca a said...
What a stunning dress. You look beautiful in it. You have achieved perfect fit and an interesting variation on the sheath dress. I love the back!
10/24/09 9:53 PM
Bunsnpigs said...
Absolutely fabulous! WOW!
10/24/09 9:44 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Wow -- another super-elegant, beautifully crafted dress. It looks great on you.
10/24/09 9:29 PM
rbrunson said...
Wow! Love it. great job!
10/24/09 9:06 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Madamoiselle, tu es vraiment tellement une jolie femme!! Miss, you are really a pretty lady!! Very French style of dressing and accessorizing!! Bravo!! Bravo!!
10/24/09 8:56 PM
marec said...
oh, that is a *nice* dress...
10/24/09 8:30 PM
MaryDB said...
Bravo! Absolutely top-notch. You look great, and so does the dress.
10/24/09 8:29 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Knock-out LBD! This sort of dress (and your chic look, wearing it) is exactly what comes to my mind when I think of the quintessential little black dress. :)
10/24/09 8:02 PM
Kay Y said...
Just gorgeous! I too think you have the back down perfectly, and adore the fit. Wear it often, with that man!
10/24/09 7:52 PM
AnneM said...
Love, love, love the dress. Great style.
10/24/09 7:47 PM
sew obsessed said...
WOW! I have always loved that LBD. I agree, Givenchy would be proud! When I read about the contest I imagined this dress and you have captured it beautifully.
10/24/09 7:46 PM
jannw said...
Beautiful...and so wearable
10/24/09 7:09 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Your dress is divine! I absolutely adore the back, but I also like how when you cover it up the dress becomes very conservative. The perfect LBD because it is so versatile. Nice job!
10/24/09 6:54 PM
CarolynGM said...
Elegant, classy, and what a stunning fit. Great job.
10/24/09 6:05 PM
JAS said...
You've done Audrey proud, that is a perfect LBD. Tall, dark, and hansome is always a perfect accessory.
10/24/09 5:57 PM
ksk in bkln said...
That is gorgeous. You did a brilliant job.
10/24/09 5:47 PM
EleanorSews said...
Wow! What a lovely dress! You have done such a great job of creating this dress and it does fit you like a glove. You can't get much more on target for LDB.
10/24/09 5:47 PM
Mufffet said...
What lovely work. Beautiful on you as well.
10/24/09 4:54 PM
Mary W said...
great dress
10/24/09 4:47 PM
Christas said...
This is a lovely dress. Wow! AND.... that back is simply outstanding ....... GORGEOUS!!!
10/24/09 4:40 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Very nice!
10/24/09 4:36 PM
janlorraine said...
I love the length; it makes the dress much more elegant in my opinion than above the knee, and more comfortable as well. Bravissima!
10/24/09 4:00 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Givenchy would be proud! You've particularly drafted the back bodice pieces to be in *perfect* proportion to your slim, small boned back, and the effect is marvelous. And using your black wool was inspired to make this LBD so extremely versatile. Very lovely, Lily
10/24/09 3:58 PM
eleda said...
Elainemay, your LBD is beautiful. I like how you added different "accessories" to show how the LBD can funtion in just about any locale.
10/24/09 3:51 PM
Andreahg said...
WOW! that is a stunning dress!
10/24/09 3:36 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful! You nailed that one!
10/24/09 3:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

New Look NL 6126

photo
by: Alethias

Review
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Buy Now