SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> 0000 

147 more reviews
Viewed 290 times 
Reviewed by:vespabelle
photo

 
 
About vespabellestar
OR USA
Member since: 9/18/03
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/09 1:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DoggyGirl said...
This is so awesome - your daughter makes a great Rosie!
11/20/09 1:07 PM
waltzqueen said...
A terrific costume and I really enjoyed all the history. Great work!
11/17/09 11:06 AM
Princess Aurora said...
A+++ I think she could do a report on what she learned and go dressed as Rosie! I am sure she would get an A+! Fantastic job!
11/13/09 5:50 PM
Vintage Joan said...
I love this! I also love the thoughtful research that went into this costume, and the fact that your daughter has started on the path to a love of history. :) Kudos to both of you!
11/10/09 10:44 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks cute!
11/3/09 7:11 PM
colorkitten said...
I love this costume! I would be thrilled if my daughter wanted to be "rosie" when she's older. (At which time I will swipe shamelessly from your ideas!) Awesome job!
11/3/09 7:22 AM
arianamaniacs said...
That is just too adorable. Plus it was a learning experience for the both of you. She's so cute!
11/2/09 2:27 PM
ClaireEmily said...
That is such an amazing costume idea, and I love all the background history. It sounds like you have an amazing daughter too!
11/1/09 5:07 PM
sew2little said...
What a great costume--a liberated alternative to a princess! It may be a little young for your daughter, but the story CinderEdna is a liberated version of Cinderella that makes even grown up girls happy! It's worth looking for. Your local library should have it.
10/31/09 2:18 PM
Em's Summer said...
Cute costume! You did a great job! And how wonderful that your DD knows about Rosie the Riveter!
10/31/09 2:03 PM
avancleve said...
This is the best idea for a costume ever! I love it!
10/31/09 12:48 PM
Heatherrique said...
How FUN and CUTE! It takes your ingenuity, skill, and talent to take several patterns and various accessories to create a darling costume. Your daughter is an adorable ray of sunshine.
10/31/09 12:18 PM
AnneM said...
Excellent job. What a great costume idea. You really achieved the look.
10/31/09 10:09 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Marvelous! Love the use of so many vintage patterns -- brilliant. Your daughter looks adorable.
10/31/09 5:59 AM
Cheryl Macy said...
How cool that she chose Rosie the Riveter as her costume! She's learning about history and establishing strong female role models for herself. The costume is perfect, Mom.
10/30/09 10:39 PM
Keyboard Carol said...
This is an adorable costume and your daughter's beautiful smile adds an extra special touch to the photos. I just wanted to comment that I have an elderly friend who is 91 years old and was one of these women riveting on planes in factories. I'll have to print a photo of this for her to see. She has three grown daughters and I'm sure she would be pleased to see this photo. You did a fantastic job on creating a very special costume of a very special time in America's history.
10/30/09 10:38 PM
okie2thdoc said...
I could tell exactly what she was for Halloween. Fantastic costume- hope she has fun.
10/30/09 7:48 PM
FreyaStark said...
Well done! She looks just like the We Can Do It photo. Did you know Folkwear has a Rosie the Riveter pattern? (Of course the sizing might be too big for your daughter.)
10/30/09 6:13 PM
Raye Ann said...
I love the story and process, and the costume is more than fabulous! Very inspiring. Don't be surprised if this will go down in her memory of the best costume she ever had. It sounds like she was really invested in the research and design!
10/30/09 5:53 PM
Frosty772 said...
She looks great and very proud of her costume!! You did a wonderful job putting it together!!
10/30/09 5:38 PM
Vivienne said...
That is just so cute! Thanks for the background info too.
10/30/09 3:32 PM
Physics Girl said...
Your daughter's costume is fabulous!
10/30/09 1:55 PM
Sondra Leigh said...
That's a brilliant costume. Well done.
10/30/09 1:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

New Look 6421

photo
by: myraminx

Review
Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Buy Now
Butterick 5510

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review

Pattern