SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4914 (Maggy London Dress)

20 more reviews
Viewed 775 times 
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/29/09 9:58 PM
Last Updated:11/11/09 4:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
I actually think the dress looks quite good on you. The fit seems just right. Maybe it's one of those that you have to hide in the closet for a few days and then come back to for a second appraisal. Let us know what you decide.
10/30/09 0:14 AM
Woolygal said...
I think you're being too hard on yourself. It looks very nice on you.
10/30/09 6:35 AM
Carolyndh said...
Believe it or not I agreed with Aixoise and Woolygal. When I saw your photo before reading the review I thought, "Nice dress, very flattering."
10/30/09 9:36 AM
sewing for fun said...
I think the dress is very nice on you - it just needs to be shortened to the right length for you. The fabric and design/fit is very pretty and feminine!!
10/30/09 10:47 AM
Kelly D. said...
I agree with everyone else who says the dress looks really nice on you, but I also agree with you that it needs to be shorter. I looked at the other dresses you've made for yourself and I can see that the just below the knee length is very flattering on you. I hope you shorten the skirt and wear this dress because it does fit you so well and the bodice looks really nice on you!
10/30/09 10:50 AM
becca a said...
Thank you all for your kind comments; I really appreciate them. I think I may make the dress again with a slightly shorter mid section and skirt ending just below the knee, in a plainer fabric because this one overwhelms me with its busyness.
10/30/09 3:28 PM
becca a said...
Edited 11/11 Sewing for fun and Kelly I took your advice and shortened the dress to just below the knee in my final version in real fabric. Thanks for the suggestion.
10/30/09 3:44 PM
Heatherrique said...
It's really a sleek dress on you!
11/11/09 6:31 PM
Opals Passions said...
Nice dress and its a great fit on you...
11/11/09 6:41 PM
alibi said...
I really like how the dress looks on you. I was thinking a mid-tone necklace or scarf would balance the dark values of the dress and your hair with the lighter skin tones.
11/11/09 7:19 PM
Christas said...
This looks very nice on you! Your adjustments look perfect!
11/11/09 8:25 PM
becca a said...
Thank you for the suggestion Alibi. I am not very creative with accessorizing, and appreciate the suggestion.
11/11/09 8:29 PM
Ann B. said...
Thanks for the enjoyable, detailed review. The dress looks great and we'd never guess it took some doing to get it that way. Hope you get a lot of wear from it.
11/11/09 9:17 PM
marec said...
terrific review and what an improvement from the muslin. You look terrific in this dress.
11/11/09 10:36 PM
Raye Ann said...
the finished product is beautiful on you! the alterations for length throught the torso and hem took this from matronly to lovely.
11/11/09 11:17 PM
MaryDB said...
Very nice dress, and your alterations are right-on. I, too have made this one, and now have trouble with a drooping midriff piece. I think you've got the right idea. Nice work.
11/11/09 11:52 PM
Barbara V said...
It certainly "should make you happy!" All of your adjustments make this a perfect fit and very flattering on you. Great job! Very pretty!
11/12/09 0:24 AM
becca a said...
Thank you all for the kind comments. I really appreciate the time you take to write a comment and the encouragement you give.
11/12/09 7:12 AM
mochimo said...
You look lovely in this dress!
11/13/09 10:16 AM
DorothyK said...
This is a nice pattern - very flattering on you.
11/13/09 12:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

HotPatterns Bad Witch/Good Witch Hat

photo
by: SewMentalM...

Review
Kwik Sew 3455

photo
by: norsk

Review
Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now