SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4914 (Maggy London Dress)

20 more reviews
Viewed 774 times 
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/29/09 9:58 PM
Last Updated:11/11/09 4:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
I actually think the dress looks quite good on you. The fit seems just right. Maybe it's one of those that you have to hide in the closet for a few days and then come back to for a second appraisal. Let us know what you decide.
10/30/09 0:14 AM
Woolygal said...
I think you're being too hard on yourself. It looks very nice on you.
10/30/09 6:35 AM
Carolyndh said...
Believe it or not I agreed with Aixoise and Woolygal. When I saw your photo before reading the review I thought, "Nice dress, very flattering."
10/30/09 9:36 AM
sewing for fun said...
I think the dress is very nice on you - it just needs to be shortened to the right length for you. The fabric and design/fit is very pretty and feminine!!
10/30/09 10:47 AM
Kelly D. said...
I agree with everyone else who says the dress looks really nice on you, but I also agree with you that it needs to be shorter. I looked at the other dresses you've made for yourself and I can see that the just below the knee length is very flattering on you. I hope you shorten the skirt and wear this dress because it does fit you so well and the bodice looks really nice on you!
10/30/09 10:50 AM
becca a said...
Thank you all for your kind comments; I really appreciate them. I think I may make the dress again with a slightly shorter mid section and skirt ending just below the knee, in a plainer fabric because this one overwhelms me with its busyness.
10/30/09 3:28 PM
becca a said...
Edited 11/11 Sewing for fun and Kelly I took your advice and shortened the dress to just below the knee in my final version in real fabric. Thanks for the suggestion.
10/30/09 3:44 PM
Heatherrique said...
It's really a sleek dress on you!
11/11/09 6:31 PM
Opals Passions said...
Nice dress and its a great fit on you...
11/11/09 6:41 PM
alibi said...
I really like how the dress looks on you. I was thinking a mid-tone necklace or scarf would balance the dark values of the dress and your hair with the lighter skin tones.
11/11/09 7:19 PM
Christas said...
This looks very nice on you! Your adjustments look perfect!
11/11/09 8:25 PM
becca a said...
Thank you for the suggestion Alibi. I am not very creative with accessorizing, and appreciate the suggestion.
11/11/09 8:29 PM
Ann B. said...
Thanks for the enjoyable, detailed review. The dress looks great and we'd never guess it took some doing to get it that way. Hope you get a lot of wear from it.
11/11/09 9:17 PM
marec said...
terrific review and what an improvement from the muslin. You look terrific in this dress.
11/11/09 10:36 PM
Raye Ann said...
the finished product is beautiful on you! the alterations for length throught the torso and hem took this from matronly to lovely.
11/11/09 11:17 PM
MaryDB said...
Very nice dress, and your alterations are right-on. I, too have made this one, and now have trouble with a drooping midriff piece. I think you've got the right idea. Nice work.
11/11/09 11:52 PM
Barbara V said...
It certainly "should make you happy!" All of your adjustments make this a perfect fit and very flattering on you. Great job! Very pretty!
11/12/09 0:24 AM
becca a said...
Thank you all for the kind comments. I really appreciate the time you take to write a comment and the encouragement you give.
11/12/09 7:12 AM
mochimo said...
You look lovely in this dress!
11/13/09 10:16 AM
DorothyK said...
This is a nice pattern - very flattering on you.
11/13/09 12:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1224

photo
by: jenleeC

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2010-118

photo
by: Anne Cherr...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Buy Now