SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4914 (Maggy London Dress)

20 more reviews
Viewed 776 times 
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 85
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/29/09 9:58 PM
Last Updated:11/11/09 4:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DorothyK said...
This is a nice pattern - very flattering on you.
11/13/09 12:53 PM
mochimo said...
You look lovely in this dress!
11/13/09 10:16 AM
becca a said...
Thank you all for the kind comments. I really appreciate the time you take to write a comment and the encouragement you give.
11/12/09 7:12 AM
Barbara V said...
It certainly "should make you happy!" All of your adjustments make this a perfect fit and very flattering on you. Great job! Very pretty!
11/12/09 0:24 AM
MaryDB said...
Very nice dress, and your alterations are right-on. I, too have made this one, and now have trouble with a drooping midriff piece. I think you've got the right idea. Nice work.
11/11/09 11:52 PM
Raye Ann said...
the finished product is beautiful on you! the alterations for length throught the torso and hem took this from matronly to lovely.
11/11/09 11:17 PM
marec said...
terrific review and what an improvement from the muslin. You look terrific in this dress.
11/11/09 10:36 PM
Ann B. said...
Thanks for the enjoyable, detailed review. The dress looks great and we'd never guess it took some doing to get it that way. Hope you get a lot of wear from it.
11/11/09 9:17 PM
becca a said...
Thank you for the suggestion Alibi. I am not very creative with accessorizing, and appreciate the suggestion.
11/11/09 8:29 PM
Christas said...
This looks very nice on you! Your adjustments look perfect!
11/11/09 8:25 PM
alibi said...
I really like how the dress looks on you. I was thinking a mid-tone necklace or scarf would balance the dark values of the dress and your hair with the lighter skin tones.
11/11/09 7:19 PM
Opals Passions said...
Nice dress and its a great fit on you...
11/11/09 6:41 PM
Heatherrique said...
It's really a sleek dress on you!
11/11/09 6:31 PM
becca a said...
Edited 11/11 Sewing for fun and Kelly I took your advice and shortened the dress to just below the knee in my final version in real fabric. Thanks for the suggestion.
10/30/09 3:44 PM
becca a said...
Thank you all for your kind comments; I really appreciate them. I think I may make the dress again with a slightly shorter mid section and skirt ending just below the knee, in a plainer fabric because this one overwhelms me with its busyness.
10/30/09 3:28 PM
Kelly D. said...
I agree with everyone else who says the dress looks really nice on you, but I also agree with you that it needs to be shorter. I looked at the other dresses you've made for yourself and I can see that the just below the knee length is very flattering on you. I hope you shorten the skirt and wear this dress because it does fit you so well and the bodice looks really nice on you!
10/30/09 10:50 AM
sewing for fun said...
I think the dress is very nice on you - it just needs to be shortened to the right length for you. The fabric and design/fit is very pretty and feminine!!
10/30/09 10:47 AM
Carolyndh said...
Believe it or not I agreed with Aixoise and Woolygal. When I saw your photo before reading the review I thought, "Nice dress, very flattering."
10/30/09 9:36 AM
Woolygal said...
I think you're being too hard on yourself. It looks very nice on you.
10/30/09 6:35 AM
Aixoise said...
I actually think the dress looks quite good on you. The fit seems just right. Maybe it's one of those that you have to hide in the closet for a few days and then come back to for a second appraisal. Let us know what you decide.
10/30/09 0:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Other Gertie's Keyhole Blouse

photo
by: julliams

Review
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now
Other Lena Merrin Patterns

photo
by: velosewer

Review