Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4914 (Maggy London Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 772 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/29/09 9:58 PM
Last Updated:11/11/09 4:53 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
I actually think the dress looks quite good on you. The fit seems just right. Maybe it's one of those that you have to hide in the closet for a few days and then come back to for a second appraisal. Let us know what you decide.
10/30/09 0:14 AM
Woolygal said...
I think you're being too hard on yourself. It looks very nice on you.
10/30/09 6:35 AM
Carolyndh said...
Believe it or not I agreed with Aixoise and Woolygal. When I saw your photo before reading the review I thought, "Nice dress, very flattering."
10/30/09 9:36 AM
sewing for fun said...
I think the dress is very nice on you - it just needs to be shortened to the right length for you. The fabric and design/fit is very pretty and feminine!!
10/30/09 10:47 AM
Kelly D. said...
I agree with everyone else who says the dress looks really nice on you, but I also agree with you that it needs to be shorter. I looked at the other dresses you've made for yourself and I can see that the just below the knee length is very flattering on you. I hope you shorten the skirt and wear this dress because it does fit you so well and the bodice looks really nice on you!
10/30/09 10:50 AM
becca a said...
Thank you all for your kind comments; I really appreciate them. I think I may make the dress again with a slightly shorter mid section and skirt ending just below the knee, in a plainer fabric because this one overwhelms me with its busyness.
10/30/09 3:28 PM
becca a said...
Edited 11/11 Sewing for fun and Kelly I took your advice and shortened the dress to just below the knee in my final version in real fabric. Thanks for the suggestion.
10/30/09 3:44 PM
Heatherrique said...
It's really a sleek dress on you!
11/11/09 6:31 PM
Opals Passions said...
Nice dress and its a great fit on you...
11/11/09 6:41 PM
alibi said...
I really like how the dress looks on you. I was thinking a mid-tone necklace or scarf would balance the dark values of the dress and your hair with the lighter skin tones.
11/11/09 7:19 PM
Christas said...
This looks very nice on you! Your adjustments look perfect!
11/11/09 8:25 PM
becca a said...
Thank you for the suggestion Alibi. I am not very creative with accessorizing, and appreciate the suggestion.
11/11/09 8:29 PM
Ann B. said...
Thanks for the enjoyable, detailed review. The dress looks great and we'd never guess it took some doing to get it that way. Hope you get a lot of wear from it.
11/11/09 9:17 PM
marec said...
terrific review and what an improvement from the muslin. You look terrific in this dress.
11/11/09 10:36 PM
Raye Ann said...
the finished product is beautiful on you! the alterations for length throught the torso and hem took this from matronly to lovely.
11/11/09 11:17 PM
MaryDB said...
Very nice dress, and your alterations are right-on. I, too have made this one, and now have trouble with a drooping midriff piece. I think you've got the right idea. Nice work.
11/11/09 11:52 PM
Barbara V said...
It certainly "should make you happy!" All of your adjustments make this a perfect fit and very flattering on you. Great job! Very pretty!
11/12/09 0:24 AM
becca a said...
Thank you all for the kind comments. I really appreciate the time you take to write a comment and the encouragement you give.
11/12/09 7:12 AM
mochimo said...
You look lovely in this dress!
11/13/09 10:16 AM
DorothyK said...
This is a nice pattern - very flattering on you.
11/13/09 12:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Hollywood 1787
photo
Review by Nick D on 9/13/11
Read Review

Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8379 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Maychi on 3/15/09
Read Review

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2853 Pattern( Size SML-XLG )
McCalls 2853 Pattern( Size SML-XLG )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us