Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2009-112 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 382 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:pterion
photo
Friend of PR
About pterionstarstar
Member since: 11/29/04
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/09 11:03 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
I love your creative use of the coverstitch for decorative seaming.... so cute!
10/26/09 11:12 PM
SandraB said...
I like your top very much. I love your decorative top stitching.
10/26/09 11:21 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great color and coverstitch detail! I love it!!!!This is so much cuter than the magazine version with the mismatched stripes.
10/27/09 0:04 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely top! I'd like a top like this for myself. :)
10/27/09 0:21 AM
Tiner W said...
Nice-looking top! The scoop neck is flattering!
10/27/09 7:25 AM
Renren said...
Yes, I like it, too. Where do we place our orders? Seriously, if I saw this in an LLBean catalog, I would order it. The coverstitch makes the perfect decorative stitching. Thanks for hint about "helper" fabric placement at the ends of the seams.
10/27/09 8:08 AM
Catbird said...
I really like this top! The coverstitching makes such a difference and accentuates the style lines beautifully. It looks great!
10/27/09 8:30 AM
moushka said...
The top looks perfect on you - great fit, great colour, jazzy topstitching.
10/27/09 9:19 AM
Nancy K said...
A simple top made better with your decorative stitching. I am going to have to try that soon. It's also a very pretty color. I have to agree with you about FFRPs solution to broad or narrow shoulders, which is my problem, in raglan sleeves. Last time I made a raglan sleeve (my tan linen jacket) I used the method in Fitting and Pattern Alteration a Multi-Method Approach by Liechty, Pottberg, and Rasband. They have you add to the front seam on the body at the sleeve(narrow is reversed) and then added to the sleeve seam that meets it, and at the neckline. Much better fit without a bump on the shoulder seam.
10/27/09 9:25 AM
Nancy K said...
A simple top made better with your decorative stitching. I am going to have to try that soon. It's also a very pretty color. I have to agree with you about FFRPs solution to broad or narrow shoulders, which is my problem, in raglan sleeves. Last time I made a raglan sleeve (my tan linen jacket) I used the method in Fitting and Pattern Alteration a Multi-Method Approach by Liechty, Pottberg, and Rasband. They have you add to the front seam on the body at the sleeve(narrow is reversed) and then added to the sleeve seam that meets it, and at the neckline. Much better fit without a bump on the shoulder seam.
10/27/09 9:25 AM
marec said...
Terrific style, color and coverstitching detail. Really nice top.
10/27/09 9:28 AM
Sigrid. said...
The topstitching makes all the difference. From a nice basic top it's a special top. Well done and great inspiration.
10/27/09 10:15 AM
sewbehind said...
Very cute! Love the coverstitching too. Your adjustments look great.
10/27/09 10:18 AM
barbcl said...
Very pretty and a great color!
10/27/09 11:46 AM
Barbara V said...
Maybe there are several other reviews already, but yours is unique with the attractive coverstitch detail. I appreciated the tip on starting and stopping this stitch. Cute top.
10/27/09 7:36 PM
cmarie12 said...
This is a great basic top and will serve you well in your new wardrobe!
10/27/09 10:13 PM
katharin said...
Great top! I wish my serger could do an overstitch. I agree that Burda necklines are too low. This one looks great on you though.
10/28/09 7:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Kwik Sew 3694 Tops
photo
Review by Steffie on 1/29/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1687 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1687 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6864 Pattern
New Look 6864 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5171
photo
Review by KamiSue2 on 9/2/11
Read Review

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us