SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2009-112 

15 more reviews
Viewed 383 times 
Reviewed by:pterion
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About pterionstarstar
Member since: 11/29/04
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/09 11:03 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
I love your creative use of the coverstitch for decorative seaming.... so cute!
10/26/09 11:12 PM
SandraB said...
I like your top very much. I love your decorative top stitching.
10/26/09 11:21 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great color and coverstitch detail! I love it!!!!This is so much cuter than the magazine version with the mismatched stripes.
10/27/09 0:04 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely top! I'd like a top like this for myself. :)
10/27/09 0:21 AM
Tiner W said...
Nice-looking top! The scoop neck is flattering!
10/27/09 7:25 AM
Renren said...
Yes, I like it, too. Where do we place our orders? Seriously, if I saw this in an LLBean catalog, I would order it. The coverstitch makes the perfect decorative stitching. Thanks for hint about "helper" fabric placement at the ends of the seams.
10/27/09 8:08 AM
Catbird said...
I really like this top! The coverstitching makes such a difference and accentuates the style lines beautifully. It looks great!
10/27/09 8:30 AM
moushka said...
The top looks perfect on you - great fit, great colour, jazzy topstitching.
10/27/09 9:19 AM
Nancy K said...
A simple top made better with your decorative stitching. I am going to have to try that soon. It's also a very pretty color. I have to agree with you about FFRPs solution to broad or narrow shoulders, which is my problem, in raglan sleeves. Last time I made a raglan sleeve (my tan linen jacket) I used the method in Fitting and Pattern Alteration a Multi-Method Approach by Liechty, Pottberg, and Rasband. They have you add to the front seam on the body at the sleeve(narrow is reversed) and then added to the sleeve seam that meets it, and at the neckline. Much better fit without a bump on the shoulder seam.
10/27/09 9:25 AM
Nancy K said...
A simple top made better with your decorative stitching. I am going to have to try that soon. It's also a very pretty color. I have to agree with you about FFRPs solution to broad or narrow shoulders, which is my problem, in raglan sleeves. Last time I made a raglan sleeve (my tan linen jacket) I used the method in Fitting and Pattern Alteration a Multi-Method Approach by Liechty, Pottberg, and Rasband. They have you add to the front seam on the body at the sleeve(narrow is reversed) and then added to the sleeve seam that meets it, and at the neckline. Much better fit without a bump on the shoulder seam.
10/27/09 9:25 AM
marec said...
Terrific style, color and coverstitching detail. Really nice top.
10/27/09 9:28 AM
Sigrid. said...
The topstitching makes all the difference. From a nice basic top it's a special top. Well done and great inspiration.
10/27/09 10:15 AM
sewbehind said...
Very cute! Love the coverstitching too. Your adjustments look great.
10/27/09 10:18 AM
barbcl said...
Very pretty and a great color!
10/27/09 11:46 AM
Barbara V said...
Maybe there are several other reviews already, but yours is unique with the attractive coverstitch detail. I appreciated the tip on starting and stopping this stitch. Cute top.
10/27/09 7:36 PM
cmarie12 said...
This is a great basic top and will serve you well in your new wardrobe!
10/27/09 10:13 PM
katharin said...
Great top! I wish my serger could do an overstitch. I agree that Burda necklines are too low. This one looks great on you though.
10/28/09 7:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Other Tessuti Lily Linen Dress

photo
by: Renata

Review
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now