SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2009-112 

15 more reviews
Viewed 385 times 
Reviewed by:pterion
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About pterionstarstar
Member since: 11/29/04
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/09 11:03 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katharin said...
Great top! I wish my serger could do an overstitch. I agree that Burda necklines are too low. This one looks great on you though.
10/28/09 7:50 PM
cmarie12 said...
This is a great basic top and will serve you well in your new wardrobe!
10/27/09 10:13 PM
Barbara V said...
Maybe there are several other reviews already, but yours is unique with the attractive coverstitch detail. I appreciated the tip on starting and stopping this stitch. Cute top.
10/27/09 7:36 PM
barbcl said...
Very pretty and a great color!
10/27/09 11:46 AM
sewbehind said...
Very cute! Love the coverstitching too. Your adjustments look great.
10/27/09 10:18 AM
Sigrid. said...
The topstitching makes all the difference. From a nice basic top it's a special top. Well done and great inspiration.
10/27/09 10:15 AM
marec said...
Terrific style, color and coverstitching detail. Really nice top.
10/27/09 9:28 AM
Nancy K said...
A simple top made better with your decorative stitching. I am going to have to try that soon. It's also a very pretty color. I have to agree with you about FFRPs solution to broad or narrow shoulders, which is my problem, in raglan sleeves. Last time I made a raglan sleeve (my tan linen jacket) I used the method in Fitting and Pattern Alteration a Multi-Method Approach by Liechty, Pottberg, and Rasband. They have you add to the front seam on the body at the sleeve(narrow is reversed) and then added to the sleeve seam that meets it, and at the neckline. Much better fit without a bump on the shoulder seam.
10/27/09 9:25 AM
Nancy K said...
A simple top made better with your decorative stitching. I am going to have to try that soon. It's also a very pretty color. I have to agree with you about FFRPs solution to broad or narrow shoulders, which is my problem, in raglan sleeves. Last time I made a raglan sleeve (my tan linen jacket) I used the method in Fitting and Pattern Alteration a Multi-Method Approach by Liechty, Pottberg, and Rasband. They have you add to the front seam on the body at the sleeve(narrow is reversed) and then added to the sleeve seam that meets it, and at the neckline. Much better fit without a bump on the shoulder seam.
10/27/09 9:25 AM
moushka said...
The top looks perfect on you - great fit, great colour, jazzy topstitching.
10/27/09 9:19 AM
Catbird said...
I really like this top! The coverstitching makes such a difference and accentuates the style lines beautifully. It looks great!
10/27/09 8:30 AM
Renren said...
Yes, I like it, too. Where do we place our orders? Seriously, if I saw this in an LLBean catalog, I would order it. The coverstitch makes the perfect decorative stitching. Thanks for hint about "helper" fabric placement at the ends of the seams.
10/27/09 8:08 AM
Tiner W said...
Nice-looking top! The scoop neck is flattering!
10/27/09 7:25 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely top! I'd like a top like this for myself. :)
10/27/09 0:21 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Great color and coverstitch detail! I love it!!!!This is so much cuter than the magazine version with the mismatched stripes.
10/27/09 0:04 AM
SandraB said...
I like your top very much. I love your decorative top stitching.
10/26/09 11:21 PM
Christas said...
I love your creative use of the coverstitch for decorative seaming.... so cute!
10/26/09 11:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Other Gertie\'s Sultry Sheath

photo
by: rosiewedne...

Review
Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2012-1

photo
by: Quickie

Review
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

Buy Now