SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5104 (Venetian Vest)

5 more reviews
Viewed 450 times 
Reviewed by:pterion
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About pterionstarstar
Member since: 11/29/04
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/09 11:36 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lamstu said...
A very nice vest. Great fabric. I think you made a good choice to modify it to your final version.
10/27/09 4:09 AM
Rebecca D said...
Great looking piece. It's very versatile and lovely and I suspect you'll get a lot of use out it.
10/27/09 6:34 AM
Tiner W said...
I love your vest! The modifications you made definitely improve it! I'll bet that hand-picking on the black, slippery fabric was loads of fun!
10/27/09 7:19 AM
Renren said...
So beautiful. I like it both ways--before and after the band change and alteration. Okay, I'm confused though. If you had 6 inches of ease and then you trimmed a little less than an inch from each side, wouldn't that take you down to 4 inches, not 2 inches of ease? Or are there 4 side seams? And besides being a masochist, why would you hand pick velvet at the armholes? Is it because the machine stitch topstitching would somehow not be good on velvet? I'm just curious about these things. Your vest and your review are very well done. I love vests and this one has lots of style. Love the burnout velvet.
10/27/09 8:00 AM
Catbird said...
This is a beautiful vest! I find that Loes Hinse patterns can be a bit voluminous, but you did a good job resizing it so that it's in proportion. It's casual and elegant at the same time, which I love.
10/27/09 8:38 AM
moushka said...
I've never paid much attention to this vest but your version is lovely. Reminds of several pieces of burnout velvet I have lingering in my stash. You've given me a great idea on how to use them. Great review. Thank you
10/27/09 9:15 AM
marec said...
Wow, the burnout is a perfect choice for this style. I like the vest, especially with the change you made to the band. Great piece to your wardrobe plan.
10/27/09 9:24 AM
DorothyK said...
Very nice vest. It looks great on you. I love the fabric.
10/27/09 9:48 AM
pterion said...
Thanks for all the kind comments! Renren, I took about an inch from the front and from the back at both sides, so in other words two inches on either side for a total of 4". Hope that's clear. As far as why not topstitch - I didn't want the velvet to be mashed down where I topstitched. Plus I looked it up in Sandra Betzina's "Fabric Savvy" and she says never to topstitch velvet...and who am I to contradict Sandra Betzina? ;-)
10/27/09 10:39 AM
barbcl said...
Beautiful vest!
10/27/09 11:45 AM
Renren said...
Thank you so much for responding, Pterion. You are right--I would not want to be the one to contradict SB. And of course, the arithmetic on the side seams, I didn't allow for the front piece and the back piece (duh). But I did read your review carefully, so I guess that makes up for my lapses (?). Thanks again.
10/27/09 12:59 PM
j222b said...
I love LHinse. I have this pattern, but have not used it. Hope your review gets me going on this vest-it's so pretty on you.
10/27/09 2:48 PM
ITAdmin said...
It looks great, and perfect with the top.
10/27/09 4:20 PM
Nancy K said...
It's great on you. I think that it will be really versatile in your wardrobe. Great fabric.
10/27/09 8:59 PM
QuiltersFan said...
I just purchased this pattern. Wonderful to see your vest. Looks great. Thanks for the tips in the review.
10/27/09 9:42 PM
Cultured Purl said...
I am going to purchase this pattern based on your review, and help in sizing it down, now I get to use a burn out velvet I have in my stash The bad thing tho is how many can one make this to justify the cost of the pattern? I do wish the short vest were more fitted) but maybe that can be solved by adding long darts in the back??),,,,is worth a try! Yours is LOVELY and fits well,, and if you can believe it I have a green knit the exact same color as your knit,,Yes I do see a whole oufiit forming now, Thanks for reviewing and sharing, this made my day! A nice outfit to wear to dinner w/friends and be totally comfortable! Clothes that are clasy and comfortable are wonderful!
5/14/11 7:11 PM
Cultured Purl said...
I forgot to add that I am always on the lookout for vests for playing with my Celitc group( play violin) I need the arm non restricted for ease of playing, and of COURSE the green stood right out for me! I do believe I would get several uses out of this I cannot worry about constrictive clothing when playing in 9/8 time!
5/14/11 7:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

McCall's 8358

photo
by: lauramae

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1005

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now