Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5923 (Misses' Dresses) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 699 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:merryshannon
photo
About merryshannonstar
CO USA
Member since: 6/30/09
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/27/09 5:23 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Andreahg said...
beautiful dress!
10/27/09 6:12 PM
lynnewill said...
Love this dress! You did a lovely job and I will be adding it to my list for sure! Thanks for posting.
10/27/09 6:13 PM
Shari B said...
Love the plaid! You did a wonderful job. I will be adding this to my list.
10/27/09 6:37 PM
lizpalmer said...
That's a great dress. I don't know why I have overlooked this pattern. I look forward to seeing what you do next.
10/27/09 6:59 PM
Lori V said...
This is wonderful.
10/27/09 7:11 PM
Christas said...
Wow! This looks SO nice! I am on a "pattern diet", and you have made me want to get off of it long enough to buy this pattern!
10/27/09 7:48 PM
Raye Ann said...
so cute! i love the use of the plaid. i was tempted by this pattern, thank you for the review!
10/27/09 8:30 PM
Boo97 said...
Love plaid. Great work!
10/27/09 8:58 PM
MaryDB said...
Love the plaid! You did a great job with this dress.
10/27/09 9:00 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Really cute dress! The chocolate and cherry fabric is fantastic.
10/27/09 9:16 PM
cmarie12 said...
This is a really beautiful interpretation of the pattern! Lovely!
10/27/09 10:07 PM
pammieh said...
I love you review! thanks!
10/27/09 10:34 PM
jillnjosh said...
It looks lovely. Someone in the blogosphere said that the shoulder straps were wide and had a tendency to fall off her shoulders. Did you find that to be an issue?
10/28/09 5:19 AM
Woolygal said...
Fabulous job - very professional.
10/28/09 7:00 AM
barbcl said...
Your dress is very good looking, with a nice holiday flair. I'm sure it looks fabulous on.
10/28/09 10:49 AM
merryshannon said...
jillnjosh: The shoulder straps are set pretty wide -- angled toward the outer corners of the shoulders. I have fairly wide shoulders (plus I like the retro-style squarish shape it gives to the neckline) and I wear it over a turtleneck, so no bra strap issues and not really any trouble with them falling off. BUT, if you plan to make this to be worn alone, and especially if you have narrower shoulders, it would be a good idea to alter the pattern to pull the straps in a bit closer to the center front so that they cover bra straps better and rest more securely on your shoulders. :)
10/28/09 4:03 PM
Lana E said...
Love it~ Fantastic job on your dress
10/29/09 1:03 PM
drsue said...
Fabulous job, it looks great!
10/29/09 7:34 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Mad for plaid! Great jumper! Luv the color.
10/31/09 0:28 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a great dress! You did a wonderful job!
10/31/09 6:26 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice! Love plaid.
10/31/09 8:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2005-117 Moto jacket
photo
Review by HawkeMorni... on 4/30/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5415
photo
Review by Anniinbc on 12/20/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Library Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Library Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3506 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3506 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us