SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2525 (Steampunk Mary Poppins)

7 more reviews
Viewed 495 times 
Reviewed by:heathercampbell29
photo

 
 
About heathercampbell29star
Member since: 5/23/08
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/27/09 5:35 PM
Last Updated:11/2/09 2:46 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
10/27/09 6:15 PM
marec said...
Wow, this is great! Can you use any of the pieces after Halloween? Nice work.
10/27/09 7:11 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
marec, I'm going to have to say no to wearing it after halloween. It's pretty costumey and at age 40, I don't think I can get away with it unless I was going to a scifi convention or something. Maybe the dress could be worn, but it sort-of looks like a slip or a nightie.
10/27/09 7:56 PM
jannw said...
Ypu got a wonderful result from this pattern and your fabric choices really make this costume stand out..great job
10/27/09 8:28 PM
IIbis said...
Fabulous! Love the colors! Your costume looks wonderful! Just finished two of these myself, one requiring FBA. I did notice the jacket was big on the girl's shoulders but, like you, I was done altering a costume.
10/27/09 10:29 PM
pterion said...
Really impressive costume! I agree that it sure would be nice if some of it could be adapted for non-Halloween use. It's too cool to be stowed in a closet.
10/27/09 10:39 PM
Mufffet said...
Nifty costume!
10/28/09 10:03 AM
shannie said...
A review like yours is exactly why I joined pattern review! Thank you so much for breaking down all the yardages! I have this pattern and now I know what to expect! Even with the poor instructions your costume turned out AMAZING! I love your choices of fabric and trims! What an accomplishment! Thanks so much for the in-depth review!
10/28/09 12:27 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
I just want to be clear that the actual pattern is quite well drafted, the pieces fit together well and I had no problems sewing it up. I just think they could have used a couple more pages of instructions, some more photos or drawings and the back of the envelope needs to be clearer about your fabric requirements. It wasn't hard to sew at all once you figured out what pieces to cut of what fabric.
10/28/09 1:39 PM
Heatherrique said...
So fun and fierce, Heather! I can imagine you wearing the bolero with black slacks and boots, ready for a rock conert!
11/2/09 8:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 0000

photo
by: SavageCoco

Review
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Buy Now