Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2525 (Steampunk Mary Poppins) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 488 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:heathercampbell29
photo
About heathercampbell29star
Member since: 5/23/08
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/27/09 5:35 PM
Last Updated:11/2/09 2:46 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
10/27/09 6:15 PM
marec said...
Wow, this is great! Can you use any of the pieces after Halloween? Nice work.
10/27/09 7:11 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
marec, I'm going to have to say no to wearing it after halloween. It's pretty costumey and at age 40, I don't think I can get away with it unless I was going to a scifi convention or something. Maybe the dress could be worn, but it sort-of looks like a slip or a nightie.
10/27/09 7:56 PM
jannw said...
Ypu got a wonderful result from this pattern and your fabric choices really make this costume stand out..great job
10/27/09 8:28 PM
IIbis said...
Fabulous! Love the colors! Your costume looks wonderful! Just finished two of these myself, one requiring FBA. I did notice the jacket was big on the girl's shoulders but, like you, I was done altering a costume.
10/27/09 10:29 PM
pterion said...
Really impressive costume! I agree that it sure would be nice if some of it could be adapted for non-Halloween use. It's too cool to be stowed in a closet.
10/27/09 10:39 PM
Mufffet said...
Nifty costume!
10/28/09 10:03 AM
shannie said...
A review like yours is exactly why I joined pattern review! Thank you so much for breaking down all the yardages! I have this pattern and now I know what to expect! Even with the poor instructions your costume turned out AMAZING! I love your choices of fabric and trims! What an accomplishment! Thanks so much for the in-depth review!
10/28/09 12:27 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
I just want to be clear that the actual pattern is quite well drafted, the pieces fit together well and I had no problems sewing it up. I just think they could have used a couple more pages of instructions, some more photos or drawings and the back of the envelope needs to be clearer about your fabric requirements. It wasn't hard to sew at all once you figured out what pieces to cut of what fabric.
10/28/09 1:39 PM
Heatherrique said...
So fun and fierce, Heather! I can imagine you wearing the bolero with black slacks and boots, ready for a rock conert!
11/2/09 8:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Burda 7636
photo
Review by angela80 on 11/19/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4290 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )
McCalls 4290 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4669
photo
Review by SewLil on 8/16/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver   S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Paper Pattern
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us