SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8473 (MISSES' JACKET AND DRESS)

7 more reviews
Viewed 987 times 
Reviewed by:unfinishedprojects
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About unfinishedprojectsstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 8/26/07
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/09 3:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sondra Leigh said...
This is absolutely stunning. Both looks are fantastic!
10/30/09 3:29 PM
ladybegood said...
Thanks so much for the review! I love the lines of this pattern, but was unsure about how it would look on a pear shape. I'll have to check it out now. Your dress looks even better that the one on the envelope!
10/30/09 3:37 PM
michou68 said...
Wow, this is a gorgeous dress.
10/30/09 4:27 PM
elainemay said...
So elegant, and such unique details. I wish I had the body for this dress!
10/30/09 4:35 PM
Andreahg said...
This is a beautiful dress!
10/30/09 5:03 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
Fabulous dress & excellent review!
10/30/09 5:42 PM
avancleve said...
This turned out wonderful! Great job.
10/30/09 5:49 PM
Wino said...
Beautiful dress!
10/30/09 6:42 PM
SewAck said...
I have this pattern, and loved seeing it made up in black - thanks for the inspiration!
10/30/09 7:04 PM
jannw said...
Beautiful dress..love the seams ..very elegant..it does look better than the pattern envelope.
10/30/09 9:05 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Beautiful dress and great job accessorizing!
10/30/09 10:08 PM
Athene said...
I love your dress - this is one of my favorite Vogue patterns - I have not made it yet, but so nice to see you had great results and thank you for all the helpful tips ie. no FBA and cut forward armholes that may need more coverage.
10/30/09 10:17 PM
SusiM said...
Beautiful dress, and very helpful review. Thanks for pointing out those little, but important peculiarities about the pattern.
10/31/09 0:46 AM
LollyVee said...
Your dress is beautiful. Love the cut and finish of this pattern. Excellent craftmanship. Would love to see you in it with those stunning accessories!
10/31/09 7:49 AM
rachel5000 said...
BEAUTIFUL!!!!
10/31/09 4:09 PM
no7262 said...
It is beautiful! You did such a nice job! I am sure you look amazing in it! Nora :)
10/31/09 9:05 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful dress, both day and night.
11/1/09 6:43 AM
loti said...
What a great contest, I like your day and night. Nice dress!
11/1/09 10:24 AM
marec said...
Beautiful LBD, and such attention to detail. Really nice.
11/1/09 10:24 AM
JuneHawk said...
Beautiful dress! This pattern is in my stash and seeing yours done in black has inspired me. I'm going to make it in January! As for the symbols, I just ignore them. I only buy patterns when they are on sale (Vogues at $3.99) so I just buy what I like and make muslins. Worst case scenario the muslin doesn't flatter and I'm out less than 5 bucks. I say if you think it looks good on you and others do too, a little symble is meaningless!
11/2/09 10:55 AM
juchal said...
I love this LBD! Great details.
11/2/09 11:54 AM
morzel said...
Beautiful dress! This will be a great LBD for every occassion!
11/5/09 10:51 AM
Em's Summer said...
Thanks for pointing this pattern out to me! Your dress is gorgeous! Love it!
11/9/09 6:24 PM
AnneM said...
This is a 'basic' LBD that really isn't basic. The unique seams are subtle enough that the dress won't get old, and interesting ehough to bring it out of the usual. Looks like you did a fantastic job on the dress also.
11/9/09 8:24 PM
selvage said...
A gorgeous classic. Nicely done! You're right, this style is super-flattering for a curvy shape--triangle or hourglass.
11/10/09 7:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Burda 7866

photo
by: slmstyle

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Buy Now
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now