Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2636 Khaliah Ali (Plus Size / Plus Sz Petite Pan) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1005 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:Bonny Dune
photo
About Bonny Dunestar
Member since: 1/21/03
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 10
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/29/09 10:20 PM
Last Updated:6/28/10 8:37 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kayseri said...
Great looking shirt. I'd say this has a rolled collar; usually these have a curve rather than a point. Thanks for the detailed review.
10/29/09 11:08 PM
Aunt Gail said...
A VERY HELPFUL review indeed! I think I like Image #3894 best for your general shot. And thank you especially for the pix and explanation on the two piece back. ** I so agree with you re the ALI patterns. These are truly designed for us plumper gals and what works best for us. And YAY-YAY_Yay! for a C and DD built in pattern. You made a muslin in plaid (Brave gal) and it fit perfectly! Welcome to the reviews--I hope to read lots more of your work!
10/29/09 11:36 PM
Christas said...
Excellent review! Your new top looks wonderful on you!
10/29/09 11:50 PM
jilly cooper said...
Thank you, your review has plenty of detail about why the Khaliah Ali patterns are flattering for plus sizes, I like the info you included and agree that they are the details that can make or break a design being flattering or not. I am in search of a Khaliah Ali pattern thanks to your thoughtful and thorough review:)
10/30/09 1:51 AM
o3b said...
I am having that very same love-affair with the KA patterns! I've been trying to get myself to do a review on two of them, but haven't gotten it done yet (no time to get pics w/DH). I had planned to start with the same comment you did. For this pattern, I was looking at it the other day, and really seeing it more of a jacket style, but ease of a single top. However, your pics inspired me to also think of it as a top, which is really still the same thing, yet has a subtle difference. Thanks for the inspiration on that! I love all your photos and descriptions and very much agree with you on how Simplicity is selling these short. You should add "Khaliah" to your pattern description if you can - I always look for that, but don't look at all Simplicity patterns reviewed.
10/30/09 3:06 AM
Rebecca D said...
I like this shirt a lot on you. And thanks for such a helpful review.
10/30/09 6:36 AM
Woolygal said...
Excellent job both on the top and the review. It's easy to see your delight with the pattern. Great.
10/30/09 6:51 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
This a really great shirt & it fits you so well! I like the design lines of KA patterns and am disappointed when they are not available in the Misses size range. Excellent review!
10/30/09 7:30 AM
Annette Wright said...
That IS a sophisticated pattern. The back is terrific. Your top looks great on you. Awesome job. I'd like to find something with a similar back now.
10/30/09 7:33 AM
carolynw said...
This pattern should be in your keep forever stash (TNT) it looks really marvellous on you - great review. I am another one on the Kaliah Alli band but am not a real plus size - her patterns do fit my mature figure with extra fluff our little sisters don't know anything about LOL
10/30/09 7:57 AM
Andreahg said...
I've avoided this pattern because of the back pleats. I thought it would draw attention to the bubble butt, but it looks great on you. I will be rethinking this one.
10/30/09 8:01 AM
no7262 said...
It looks great! I will have to wait untill my skills are a little better to try this one. I will keep it in mind! Nora :)
10/30/09 8:42 AM
Mini said...
That looks wonderful. I agree that the Khalia Ali line is great - the patterns so well-drafted and stylish, and they fit me with almost no changes. There really is nothing else quite like them. I hadn't considered this one because the back detail didn't seem flattering in the drawing, but you have proved that it is! WIll try this pattern soon.
10/30/09 9:11 AM
taffee said...
good information. thanks.
10/30/09 9:47 PM
Cuffs said...
Wow, I didn't know that about the Khali Ali patterns. Thank you so much for the review. I'm also plus sized, and now will definitely get this pattern. It's so flattering on you! It fits perfectly and the style looks better on you than the pattern envelope version, which I previously looked at but passed up. I also like your choice of "muslin" fabric. Very classy, which can be difficult to pull off in plus sizes. It looks fitted and comfortable at the same time.
11/1/09 0:54 AM
Sherril Miller said...
OK, so I just pulled out the pattern and looked up the reviews. Your review is enough to convince me I have to make this pattern. Your top is fantastic!
11/20/09 4:45 PM
Bonny Dune said...
Thank you everyone for the kind words. I am flattered that you think my silly review is helpful. I have a second shirt cut out and I will probably update this review after I get it made.
11/30/09 11:43 AM
4u2cme said...
I have the pattern in my collection and I wondered if I'd still need a FBA. You convinced me to pull it out & try the shirt. I like the details. I also like the pants.
12/21/09 9:38 AM
KathySews said...
You give me hope. I am so tired of altering with so-so results. I am going to try some Ali patterns - especially this one.
12/29/09 9:31 AM
canei said...
Great job, this looks great on you. I got this today for .99, can't beat that price.
1/20/10 6:17 PM
Janfan123 said...
Like your review and the photos too. It looks good on you and gives me hope that my other Khaliah pattern will work when I get to sewing it. Great review and thanks.
1/26/10 10:54 AM
brnsuga45 said...
Thank you for this review, the collar on this blouse is kicking me, making me think I am stupid so far the rest of the blouse is a dream and very easy to put together, I went ahead and sewed the sleeves up and they fit my quite ample arms. I will try again later.
3/13/10 7:42 PM
brissie71 said...
I'm impressed by both your beautifully flattering shirt AND your wonderfully helpful and thoughtful review. Thanks!
6/29/10 6:13 AM
marycds said...
I plan to get this pattern now. Thanks.
7/2/10 0:03 AM
DonnaC said...
I went out and bought this pattern yesterday, based on this review. Can't wait to try one for myself. Bubble butts unite!
8/13/10 12:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Simplicity 2316
photo
Review by RockNRoll on 10/28/10
Read Review

Vogue 8711 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8711 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5759 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5759 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2900
photo
Review by Diana M on 12/5/04
Read Review

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us