Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 3968 (semi-fitted pull-over top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1170 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/04 7:42 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Ann, can't tell much about the fit, but wowza, that color is dynamite on you!
2/10/04 8:25 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
My initial reaction to this photo, before reading your review was "that looks very nice!" I agree with Elona, the color is spectacular, and I also like the overall shape of this shirt on you. Paired with your long skirt for a monochromatic look, along with the vertical lines on the sleeves, it looks becoming. I can see what you are looking at as far as fit, which seems to be caused by the fabric, as you suggested. I wonder if this pattern wouldn't be better suited to a drapy knit? BTW your reviews are always a treat. Your sense for what colors suit you is fantastic!
2/10/04 8:41 PM
Ann Smith said...
I do love that color and it goes with so many of the garments I've been sewing lately. I agree that the fit problem is a matter of drape. If the charmeuse didn't have the lycra, I think it would work better.
2/11/04 2:03 AM
Judy Williment said...
Would it help if you sewed up the sleeve slits? The colour is so good it seems a shame to waste the top.
2/11/04 3:59 AM
Cattgirl said...
Judy is on to something here. The color looks great on you as well as the drape of the neckline, but the open sleeves don't seem to work as well. Do you think it would work without the sleeves? Excellent work on the blouse, by the way. It doesn't seem that the instruction problems hindered you at all.
2/11/04 8:49 AM
Ann Smith said...
Yes, I have been thinking of sewing up the sleeves although they will be a bit slim. One idea I had was to insert a piece of trim or an inverted pleat of the same fabric (if I have enough). Or Cattgirl's idea of going sleeveless. It is still too snug around the bust (-5 lbs. would take care of that).
2/11/04 10:07 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Sewing Workshop Cowl Top Cowl Top
photo
Review by Shona on 3/19/05
Read Review

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 302 Pattern
Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3386 Jackets (OOP)
photo
Review by fractal on 1/29/12
Read Review

Butterick 5969 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5969 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5211 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5211 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us