SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3968 (semi-fitted pull-over top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1171 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/04 7:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
Yes, I have been thinking of sewing up the sleeves although they will be a bit slim. One idea I had was to insert a piece of trim or an inverted pleat of the same fabric (if I have enough). Or Cattgirl's idea of going sleeveless. It is still too snug around the bust (-5 lbs. would take care of that).
2/11/04 10:07 AM
Cattgirl said...
Judy is on to something here. The color looks great on you as well as the drape of the neckline, but the open sleeves don't seem to work as well. Do you think it would work without the sleeves? Excellent work on the blouse, by the way. It doesn't seem that the instruction problems hindered you at all.
2/11/04 8:49 AM
Judy Williment said...
Would it help if you sewed up the sleeve slits? The colour is so good it seems a shame to waste the top.
2/11/04 3:59 AM
Ann Smith said...
I do love that color and it goes with so many of the garments I've been sewing lately. I agree that the fit problem is a matter of drape. If the charmeuse didn't have the lycra, I think it would work better.
2/11/04 2:03 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
My initial reaction to this photo, before reading your review was "that looks very nice!" I agree with Elona, the color is spectacular, and I also like the overall shape of this shirt on you. Paired with your long skirt for a monochromatic look, along with the vertical lines on the sleeves, it looks becoming. I can see what you are looking at as far as fit, which seems to be caused by the fabric, as you suggested. I wonder if this pattern wouldn't be better suited to a drapy knit? BTW your reviews are always a treat. Your sense for what colors suit you is fantastic!
2/10/04 8:41 PM
Elona said...
Ann, can't tell much about the fit, but wowza, that color is dynamite on you!
2/10/04 8:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Butterick 7096 (Vintage)

photo
by: sugarduck

Review
Megan Nielsen MN1001

photo
by: WhiteMouse

Review
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now