SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 7845 (inspiration only) (Little Black Dress)

Viewed 1062 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 118 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/09 4:03 PM
Last Updated:10/30/09 4:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
60 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Bert62 said...
Not my favorite dress. I wonder if it hangs differently with different fabrics. I have the book and "the tunic dress" is my least favorite. Have you made that cute sec'y skirt?
9/10/10 5:10 PM
Fredette said...
I love the pics!! Gave me quite the chuckle! I wanted to see the looks on the workers faces after 'Cathy' sashayed by!
11/22/09 2:03 PM
brrmm said...
Oh my giddy aunt!! Cathy is SUCH a style icon, isn't she? What a fantastic role model. My heart sank for her when she didn't ring the doorbell. But a gals gotta keep some mystery hey? She's just too gorgeous in that LBD and I wish I could vote for it. Great job Peter - so loved the NYC story. Thank you.
11/10/09 6:01 PM
MissCelie said...
Peter, I about fell out over the storyline. That's hillarious. Love the ruffles.
11/10/09 9:00 AM
Carolyn C said...
There have been times I've put on an outfit, my make-up, done my hair, shown up, and thought, "I shaved my legs for this?" But this time, Peter, it was well worth "Cathy's" time to shave the legs. Cute dress, hot gams, and, um does "Cathy" work out?
11/10/09 1:19 AM
Laura O said...
Fantastic! My fiance Hans' cousin Helga visited us at Halloween and she too looked stunning in the outfit I made for her (I reviewed it too). Aren't they lucky we sew??? Love your reviews!
11/9/09 9:06 PM
beth5646 said...
Peter you are absolutely the MOST!!!! I wish you were my neighbor...
11/9/09 7:22 PM
bananaoil said...
Wow, a pattern review AND a story. The bar is set too high! I loved it, thanks.
11/9/09 6:31 PM
cgHipp said...
"...complete with turkey" is officially the funniest thing I've ever read on PR! Loved the review AND the dress!
11/9/09 5:23 PM
lara900 said...
Peter, I love this review, and vow, Cathy's photoshoot is absolutely great!!!! I admire her courage! -- thanks to Val from Oz for pointing me to this review!
11/7/09 3:40 AM
MichelleE said...
That's brilliant and Cathy rocks that dress!! Thanks for adding a little spiciness to PR!
11/6/09 7:18 PM
Elnoramarie said...
This has to be one of the most creative explainations of the LBD I've ever seen. I too grew up on the TV ladies and using them as your inspiration was priceless. Thanks for your humor and insight into creating the perfect LBD.
11/3/09 5:59 PM
MaryDB said...
Well the dress is great and you look totally fabulous in it. And four rolls of nice fabric in the trash? Honey, you can dine out on that for years! (I did once find a working old Singer with manual on the curb, and someone I know once found a Featherweight in the alley, but no fabric...yet). Thanks for the review!
11/2/09 11:38 AM
juchal said...
Great job Peter. How does Cathy get such lovely toned arms? :)
11/2/09 11:13 AM
yummymummy38 said...
love the dress and the storyboard. much more interesting than this season's project runway (the other PR that I usually love). thanks for making my day, do thank Cathy for me...
11/2/09 7:36 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks so much, everybody, and a big hug from Cathy, who seems to think this could lead to a modeling career. (Any agents out there?)
11/1/09 9:34 PM
Scheryka said...
Peter, u r hilarious. I was rolling. LOVE your LBD with ruffles. PS. Tell your identical cousin she done an absolute great job.
11/1/09 3:21 PM
JEF said...
Wonderful review!! Thank you so much; you made my day!
11/1/09 9:59 AM
lisa m said...
You and Cathy are two pairs of matching bookends,different as night and day. Thanx for the review.
11/1/09 1:34 AM
digs57 said...
It's SO Tootsie meets Victor Victoria - Julie Andrews is all over those photos!
10/31/09 11:12 PM
Athene said...
Great work on the ruffles - Wonderful storyline and fabulous photos to brighten my day - I love it and I think I am jealous - Cathy has nicer legs than I do.
10/31/09 11:08 PM
no7262 said...
LOVE IT! Nora :)
10/31/09 8:31 PM
crystalwoods said...
Fabulous dress, fun review and great slideshow! :) Thanks for sharing
10/31/09 7:02 PM
mimstwo said...
Such fun...I enjoyed the review and now I really need to sit down at my machine. Great job and all those wonderful ebay finds (sewing machines)
10/31/09 5:38 PM
AnneM said...
LOL Great dress & review. I can't believe you found fabric on the STREET. Geesh. That ruffle on the dress is really cute; I don't usually like ruffles. But you know, it works for 'Cathy'.
10/31/09 3:58 PM
sew2little said...
Peter, I looked at your profile to see if it mentioned your profession--screenwriter or comedy writer spring to mind! Great dress, fab arms, and incredible verve! (Obviously, I live in a very dreary neighborhood, as I have NEVER encountered a bolt of fabric on trash day.)
10/31/09 2:32 PM
TracyB said...
Terrific review, terrific guy, the best story teller ever.
10/31/09 2:12 PM
cindyann said...
That is priceless! You had a great deal of fun with this one. Nice work on the dress!
10/31/09 10:15 AM
fourkid said...
Peter, you are a reality show - LOL. We are so privileged to be here at your genesis - "We knew you when..." As for the interfacing woes you have encountered - I have been there! I took the PR on-line class on interfacing and learned so much - I have never turned back to the junk again! The huge selection of samples was worth the cost of the class alone.
10/31/09 9:46 AM
appleC said...
What a wonderful review! Cute dress, chic model, and great project pictures. Your storytelling will never go out of style!
10/31/09 9:35 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
P-NYC you are, in my book, up for Review of the Year! The photo shoot was the highlight of my morning Caribou Coffee / Net time. I once got a nice Elna Super from the curb, but my town has those awful 96 gallon cans now so finding treasures is nearly impossible -- Great snag on ROLLS of fabric. Wonderful fun! Thank you!!!!
10/31/09 8:44 AM
Lynnelle said...
Peter! Fab.U.Lous! I heart Cathy. You must give us an update in the future. =) What a great dress, too. You're making me one, right? =)
10/31/09 8:35 AM
sweetviolets said...
You are a hoot!
10/31/09 4:25 AM
marec said...
Darling, Cathy started out looking quite fresh but by the end of the photo shoot,er, I mean day, she was in dire need of a wax job. She did look fetching in your LBD, even with the 5oclock shadow.
10/31/09 1:24 AM
DoggyGirl said...
Peter, you have such glam relatives - dear Cathy *definitely* has Audrey Hepburn vibes! So chic! So pulled together! All she needs is a long cigarette holder and a cat named Cat....
10/31/09 0:18 AM
pterion said...
I wish I were as chic as Cathy. Perhaps with the right LBD...If she is still in town for PR Day in NYC, bring her along! ;-)
10/30/09 11:46 PM
sew obsessed said...
OMG this is better than pay per view:-) Peter, I always enjoy your reviews!
10/30/09 11:44 PM
j222b said...
When I lived in NYC (1960s) I was always finding great stuff on the street & lugging it home. LOL. I never found any fabric, though. I love your little black dress.
10/30/09 11:39 PM
birdmcfarland said...
This made my evening.
10/30/09 9:32 PM
katharin said...
The A-line black dress is fabulous and so chic how your identical cousin Cathy styles it up with a red necktie-scarf. I love the photo-novella of her day in NY!
10/30/09 9:11 PM
jannw said...
Great dress and entertaining review..enjoyed every minute off it
10/30/09 8:46 PM
nancy2001 said...
Oh how funny! And what a surprisingly lovely dress on your dear cousin Cathy, who by the way bears a strong resemblence to a certain Corporal Klinger on Mash.
10/30/09 8:38 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great review - love your dress. Cathy is quite the looker!
10/30/09 8:14 PM
Peter in NYC said...
I think to find fabric on the street you really need to live in NYC and walk dogs twice a day.
10/30/09 7:32 PM
Peter in NYC said...
First of all, Cathy would like to thank you from the bottom of her broken heart and if she ever gets in tonight she may do so herself. Yes, yes, great legs, great arms; she's quite the glamour girl and believe me she knows it: that hat is a Large, if you know what I mean. Elainemay, you were one of my inspirations for this project so I owe you a debt of gratitude. After what this dress has been through today you may not want it, but you should definitely sew yourself an A-line soon. Cuffs, the pattern inspiration was vintage but the pattern itself is not -- it's a tunic, so it's designed to be worn over something else. Val, thanks for validating my obscure (alas) references. I don't feel so old! Thanks again, everyone!
10/30/09 7:31 PM
Cuffs said...
I really liked the muslin with the blue flowers. Very delicate. Thanks for the review. I've often wondered how typical dress patterns would fit a masculine body. I'm stunned that a small fit you, a vintage small at that! Didn't you have to make the shoulders bigger? Anyway, you looked great!
10/30/09 7:12 PM
ladybegood said...
Great LBD! I love your design changes. And what a great model... Cathy really knows how to make love to the camera doesn't she?!
10/30/09 7:05 PM
carolynw said...
Peter you have me laughing so hard my sides hurt - I adore your little black dress and must tell you - I think Cathy has G-R-E-A-T- GAMS!! Love her shades too - so here is another one who wants to be your cousin
10/30/09 6:53 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Enjoyed your review! Chic LBD! I love the ruffle.
10/30/09 6:48 PM
valerie sews said...
Oh Peter thankyou so much for posting this review. What a hoot! I adored The Patty Duke Show when I was a kid. (Strange how your cousin Cathy has knees just like yours!)shhhh
10/30/09 6:40 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Gosh, I wish I had arms like Cathy!
10/30/09 6:33 PM
mendospot said...
You are hilarious!
10/30/09 6:22 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
Why can't I ever find fabric on the street?
10/30/09 6:00 PM
Paris75008 said...
Oh, that's just a riot. "Cathy" is a great model and the dress is a smasher!
10/30/09 5:48 PM
Elle Emm said...
Cathy has a great set of pins!
10/30/09 5:35 PM
Aixoise said...
Your LBD is a smash! Great way to learn new skills. My best to Cathy - she's awesome!
10/30/09 5:24 PM
racehorse said...
That's great--I love the ruffles. Also, can I be your cousin? :)
10/30/09 5:19 PM
Andreahg said...
This tunic/dress is fantastic! What a great idea to expand your skills.
10/30/09 5:08 PM
stretch queen said...
love the ruffle. Cathy is a lucky woman :) good tip about the interfacing. Thanks .
10/30/09 4:53 PM
elainemay said...
OMG. Three things. 1) I want the dress. 2) Cathy is quite the looker. 3) This is officially my favorite PR review ever. Oh, and one more-- PM me. I *have to* do an article about you on my blog!
10/30/09 4:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Simplicity 5338

photo
by: SewEccentr...

Review
Butterick 4609

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now