Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6429 (Misses' Knit Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 672 times 56 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:RuthieSews
photo
About RuthieSewsstarstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/1/06
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/09 6:07 AM
Last Updated:11/1/09 1:01 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Flying Seamstress said...
Really lovely dress, Ruthie! You've inspired me to finish mine which has been in the UFO pile for a year (gathered section placement!). I really like your applied band as well. Great sewing/fitting & great review!
10/31/09 7:20 AM
Annette Wright said...
That fabric is lovely, it definitely is a standout. I have a similar pattern, I might give it a go as a dress. Very pretty, I like it a lot.
10/31/09 9:28 AM
Rebecca D said...
I think the material is very attractive and the wide neckband is an improvement over the pattern instructions. I am going to steal this idea. It looks lovely on you.
10/31/09 10:17 AM
NC Carol said...
Looks great. Thanks for the info about the gathers
10/31/09 11:10 AM
marec said...
So pretty! Your use of the applied band is so smart-looks wonderful. The fabric is perfect for the holidays.
10/31/09 11:16 AM
Dee2 said...
Your dress is beautiful. I like the band around the neckline--very clever & an improvment IMO over the pattern instruction.
10/31/09 11:34 AM
Patti B said...
Very nice! I especially like your addition of the band on the neckline. This dress tended to be a little low cut for me so this is a great solution that I'll copy in the future.
10/31/09 12:12 PM
mary in FL said...
I like this dress on you!
10/31/09 1:47 PM
Em's Summer said...
This looks great on you!
10/31/09 1:51 PM
Karendee said...
Lovely dress,Ruthie! Looks great on you!
10/31/09 4:01 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Gorgeous dress which looks lovely on you. I could see you making this in several different knits. I love the fabric you chose for this version though.
10/31/09 6:38 PM
tess said...
Really lovely dress Ruthie, can I ask where you got the fabric from, always on the lookout for new uk fabrics!
11/1/09 7:55 AM
Barbara V said...
Very pretty dress and nice fit. Looking forward to seeing your animal print version!
11/1/09 2:36 PM
Robin Denning said...
This dress was worth every minute- it looks great on you!
11/1/09 6:41 PM
Athene said...
Lovely dress and fabric.
11/2/09 0:19 AM
Kbenco said...
What a beautiful dress, and you look fantastic in it.
11/2/09 1:13 AM
lamstu said...
Nice dress. I just finished making this pattern myself - interesting to read your take on it. I like the belt on you too.
11/2/09 7:50 AM
fryman said...
nice job. the belt is attractive-you might want to consider a contoured shaped belt, which is flattering for most figures.
11/2/09 9:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Simplicity 2282
photo
Review by Irene Bull... on 4/1/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Pristine Swing Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Pristine Swing Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4109
photo
Review by oliveoyl45 on 4/7/07
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7037 Pattern
Burda 7037 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Tank Dress Group
Loes Hinse Tank Dress Group

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us