Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1209 (Monaco Shell) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1296 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Penny Carlson
photo
Friend of PR
About Penny Carlsonstar
FL USA
Member since: 12/30/01
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/02 1:24 PM
Last Updated:7/28/02 3:59 PM
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
sorry this pattern did not work for you, but thanks for your honest opinion. What if you use a bit stiffer knit next time. I think for funnel necks the stiffer the knit is, the better the neckline will be. I am curious to see what others think of this.
4/29/02 1:30 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, I didn't do the funnel neck; I used View A, the V neck.
4/29/02 5:59 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Penny, how disappointing! I have made the funnel neck version and I am loving it more and more, but I haven't yet tried the other. Thnx for the heads-up cuz I don't own a strapless bra ;)
4/29/02 6:50 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Also, Deepika, I found that the funnelneck worked best in a really stretchy knit. I used slinky the 2nd time I made it and was much happier than the first time, which I made in a very stable knit.
4/29/02 6:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I was sorry to hear your experience with this pattern as it is currently one of my favorites! I'm not sure a matte jersey is stable enough to hold the neckline in shape. I made view A out of a medium weight cotton knit and the neckline holds its shape very nicely and looks great on.. Hope this helps.
4/29/02 7:11 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Ann, when you made it, how wide did the neckline finish up? Would my straps show? 'cause I wear an industria-strength bra!
4/30/02 2:39 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Penny, I'm sorry you were disappointed with this pattern. Like Diane E, I also used a
5/2/02 4:00 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Penny, I'm sorry you were disappointed with this pattern. Like Diane E, I also used a "stiffer" knit...a cotton interlock...and didn't have the problem with a "droopy" front. Next time, I would try using a knit with a little more body and save the matte jersey for the funnel neck.
5/2/02 4:01 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I'm glad you didn't give up, the first choice of fabric doesn't allways work. It must be stunning.
7/28/02 7:11 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

McCall's 5634
photo
Review by fabeins on 4/26/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Winter PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Winter PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2700
photo
Review by Diana M on 2/17/09
Read Review

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1373 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1373 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1474 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5-6-6X )
Simplicity 1474 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5-6-6X )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us