SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1209 (Monaco Shell)

18 more reviews
Viewed 1296 times 
Reviewed by:Penny Carlson
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Penny Carlsonstar
FL USA
Member since: 12/30/01
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/02 1:24 PM
Last Updated:7/28/02 3:59 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
sorry this pattern did not work for you, but thanks for your honest opinion. What if you use a bit stiffer knit next time. I think for funnel necks the stiffer the knit is, the better the neckline will be. I am curious to see what others think of this.
4/29/02 1:30 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, I didn't do the funnel neck; I used View A, the V neck.
4/29/02 5:59 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Penny, how disappointing! I have made the funnel neck version and I am loving it more and more, but I haven't yet tried the other. Thnx for the heads-up cuz I don't own a strapless bra ;)
4/29/02 6:50 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Also, Deepika, I found that the funnelneck worked best in a really stretchy knit. I used slinky the 2nd time I made it and was much happier than the first time, which I made in a very stable knit.
4/29/02 6:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I was sorry to hear your experience with this pattern as it is currently one of my favorites! I'm not sure a matte jersey is stable enough to hold the neckline in shape. I made view A out of a medium weight cotton knit and the neckline holds its shape very nicely and looks great on.. Hope this helps.
4/29/02 7:11 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Ann, when you made it, how wide did the neckline finish up? Would my straps show? 'cause I wear an industria-strength bra!
4/30/02 2:39 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Penny, I'm sorry you were disappointed with this pattern. Like Diane E, I also used a
5/2/02 4:00 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Penny, I'm sorry you were disappointed with this pattern. Like Diane E, I also used a "stiffer" knit...a cotton interlock...and didn't have the problem with a "droopy" front. Next time, I would try using a knit with a little more body and save the matte jersey for the funnel neck.
5/2/02 4:01 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I'm glad you didn't give up, the first choice of fabric doesn't allways work. It must be stunning.
7/28/02 7:11 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Butterick 5775

photo
by: style insp...

Review
McCall's 6436

photo
by: Jamye

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Buy Now
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Buy Now