SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1209 (Monaco Shell)

18 more reviews
Viewed 1297 times 
Reviewed by:Penny Carlson
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Penny Carlsonstar
Member since: 12/30/01
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/02 1:24 PM
Last Updated:7/28/02 3:59 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
I'm glad you didn't give up, the first choice of fabric doesn't allways work. It must be stunning.
7/28/02 7:11 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Penny, I'm sorry you were disappointed with this pattern. Like Diane E, I also used a "stiffer" knit...a cotton interlock...and didn't have the problem with a "droopy" front. Next time, I would try using a knit with a little more body and save the matte jersey for the funnel neck.
5/2/02 4:01 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Penny, I'm sorry you were disappointed with this pattern. Like Diane E, I also used a
5/2/02 4:00 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Ann, when you made it, how wide did the neckline finish up? Would my straps show? 'cause I wear an industria-strength bra!
4/30/02 2:39 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I was sorry to hear your experience with this pattern as it is currently one of my favorites! I'm not sure a matte jersey is stable enough to hold the neckline in shape. I made view A out of a medium weight cotton knit and the neckline holds its shape very nicely and looks great on.. Hope this helps.
4/29/02 7:11 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Also, Deepika, I found that the funnelneck worked best in a really stretchy knit. I used slinky the 2nd time I made it and was much happier than the first time, which I made in a very stable knit.
4/29/02 6:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Penny, how disappointing! I have made the funnel neck version and I am loving it more and more, but I haven't yet tried the other. Thnx for the heads-up cuz I don't own a strapless bra ;)
4/29/02 6:50 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, I didn't do the funnel neck; I used View A, the V neck.
4/29/02 5:59 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
sorry this pattern did not work for you, but thanks for your honest opinion. What if you use a bit stiffer knit next time. I think for funnel necks the stiffer the knit is, the better the neckline will be. I am curious to see what others think of this.
4/29/02 1:30 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8934

photo
by: Mimsy Boro...

Review