SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1120 (MISSES' DRESS)

13 more reviews
Viewed 1176 times 
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/09 2:45 PM
Last Updated:11/2/09 0:55 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
unfinishedprojects said...
You nailed the concept of the LDB! You'll look great on any occasion!
10/31/09 3:14 PM
bluenines said...
Great LBD !
10/31/09 3:23 PM
Leora said...
Great pattern, love this style. Your dress is so pretty!
10/31/09 3:41 PM
JuneHawk said...
It is absolutely amazing! I LOVE IT and you wear it very well. This pattern is in my stash and I will DEFINITELY be making it after my surgery. I LOVE IT!
10/31/09 3:57 PM
homejewel said...
BRAVO!!!! I can't believe the diverse looks you were able to obtain with this one dress. Amazing! I might have to put this one on my wish list now!
10/31/09 4:02 PM
EleanorSews said...
You are too chic! I love the way this dress fits and your accessorized options for wear are wonderful. You truly have the LBD concept to a "t".
10/31/09 4:22 PM
mary in FL said...
Wonderful! Stunning!
10/31/09 5:02 PM
marec said...
Hey, this *will* take you almost anywhere...even high tea. Darling dress and wonderful accessories.
10/31/09 6:15 PM
Nancy K said...
great LBd. You look chic and comfortable, a great combination
10/31/09 7:43 PM
Raye Ann said...
Mary! What a fantastic LBD! I agree with the others that you have done a superb job of styling it to create versitile looks for every occasion. Bravo! It is very flattering on you and fits very nicely.
10/31/09 7:53 PM
no7262 said...
Love all the looks you got! The Jacket that you are wearing in the Formal wedding picture, did you make that too? Beautiful! Nora :)
10/31/09 8:23 PM
Athene said...
Definitely fabulous LBD. Great photos of so many different looks.
10/31/09 10:05 PM
jannw said...
Your wardrobe sounds like mine!! Great dress and pictures..like the idea of using piping around the neckline
11/1/09 0:16 AM
Sheila457 said...
An Awesome LBD and the love versatility of the dress and the various event shots. You look great. Thank you for the lovely compliment on my cardigan.
11/1/09 4:13 AM
LollyVee said...
Oooh so stylish. Absolutely love this dress on you. The fabric and the fit are gorgeous! You won't have to jettison this one out in a hurry!
11/1/09 6:12 AM
Texastopaz said...
Your review has given me the pattern for my LBD! I've been looking for a pattern that is comfortable and appropriate for my needs--too many funerals to attend recently--that isn't too low-cut, suitable for a matching jacket, details with the pleating, and flattering to my "just below plus size" body size. I will buy the pattern because of your detailed review. Thanks!
11/1/09 6:31 AM
CarolynGM said...
This one is good for a decade, at least. Beautiful look and so versatile. Love the pattern you chose.
11/1/09 6:49 AM
Nata said...
The dress is awesome, Mary. I think you made it true LBD: so very versatile.
11/1/09 7:56 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Your dress is beautifully done,and I just love the way you have shown how you'll wear it for different occasions.
11/1/09 8:37 AM
becca a said...
Thanks for showing this versatile dress. Yours looks so much better than Vogue's. It is a beautiful dress!
11/1/09 9:05 AM
DorothyK said...
Wow. Now that's a little black dress! You do look very chic in that dress. But don't wait another decade for another one. It never hurts to have two in the closet and there are lots of patterns out there. :)
11/1/09 9:29 AM
Frogstitcher said...
I love your dress. It's very flattering on you.
11/1/09 9:34 AM
Christas said...
EXCELLENT review! Your new LBD looks so nice on you! Thanks for adding all of the pics. This is such a versatile dress.
11/1/09 9:43 AM
valerie sews said...
Your dress is both chic and versatile. Thank you for the hint about doing some inner piping - I've had trouble with other dresses with neckline pleats.
11/1/09 3:11 PM
dingyadi said...
that looks terrific,love it
11/1/09 4:29 PM
Em's Summer said...
WOW-O-WOW!!! What a GREAT dress, Mary!!! You look very pretty in it, and very sassy, too! I love all of the different looks you're getting with just this one dress! Terrific job! Prepare yourself because when others see you in it, they'll all say that you're very chic!
11/1/09 4:44 PM
Paris75008 said...
Wow, you sure are versatile with your looks. You look so chic in all the outfits. Your dress is just stunningly beautiful and looks much better on you than it does on Vogue's model. You really have shown just how versatile one LBD can be. Enjoy wearing it for the next decade!
11/2/09 4:24 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
I loved your narrative -- walk thru the fashion decades... fun read. Good looking dress two, in my NSHO you might squeek an extra half decade out of this one.
11/2/09 7:48 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Love this dress (and so does cousin Cathy), especially the beautifully pleated neckline. Beautiful with -- and, imo, especially without -- accessories.
11/2/09 8:52 AM
annie11 said...
Mary, This is just stunning on you. I love your review, and all of your styling changes have convinced me to go get this pattern today!
11/2/09 9:18 AM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful dress and a great and fun review!
11/2/09 10:38 AM
sewbehind said...
Lovely versatile LBD. You will feel comfortable always.
11/2/09 11:16 AM
lmg said...
Yup this pattern rocks. And you look terrific in it.
11/2/09 4:41 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Brilliant dress and so versatile. Great review too.
11/3/09 7:39 AM
Lainy said...
You inspired me to make up this pattern. Do you think it could work in a soft cotton?
11/7/09 8:16 PM
MaryDB said...
Lainy, yes it would work in a soft cotton, and would be especially cute with the pockets. It would loose the sassy factor, though, I think.
11/8/09 9:48 AM
AnneM said...
Great version, and I just love your pictures showing the flexibility. I'm particularly fond of your New Year's picture, with the festive and WARM look.
11/9/09 8:21 PM
pieraci2 said...
I just bought this pattern. I plan on sewing it in black, also. Thank you for the tips...much appreciated....
12/3/09 7:21 AM
mstress130 said...
Thanks so much for the extra pictures showing the versatility of the dress--it was so helpful to see them!
1/8/10 11:05 AM
julliams said...
Fabulous dress. I'm just about to make it but don't know what size to cut. I have made 2 vogue dresses before and ended up having to cut two sizes smaller to get the right fit. Is this the same? On the back I am a 14 top and 16 bottom but just last week I made a DKNY that had me in a 12 that I felt was too big on me and it was a fitted style. Thanks - julliams@yahoo.com.au
3/6/10 2:58 AM
pojones said...
Mary, I have been lurking around the site for several months and this is my first Rate this Review. Just couldn't let it go by, thanks to you. You look stunning in all views and I really enjoyed the way you made this dress look different with each add-on item. You are a perfect size and the dress was made for you. Thanks for the "style" show !!!! Without your review, I would never have purchased this pattern.... !!!!!!!
4/3/10 1:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

New Look 6643

photo
by: prosthetic...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern

SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now