SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 8498 Vintage (dress in two lenghts)

1 more reviews
Viewed 311 times 
Reviewed by:Miss33
photo

 
 
About Miss33star
GERMANY
Member since: 4/9/09
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/1/09 8:11 AM
Last Updated:11/1/09 8:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
waltzqueen said...
Very nice dress in my favorite color. I wore similar dresses in junior high school. I thought they were great then, and I still think so. You've done a beautiful job!
11/2/09 2:22 PM
KatyBean said...
Simplicity reissued this pattern. The new number is 3833 - I bought it and have been looking to make this long-sleeved version, just haven't found the right fabric. Yours looks really cute and is a great inspiration!
11/1/09 11:32 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Beautiful and it looks very up-to-the-minute, not vintage at all. Great job!
11/1/09 12:44 PM
Rhoda K said...
I love the style and color. Always in style as well.
11/1/09 12:37 PM
Elona said...
Certain details that were standard on those old patterns, like the back neck and elbow darts, gave them such a body-conscious and pretty line. Your dress is lovely.
11/1/09 11:51 AM
Barbara V said...
So fun to read about your experience with this vintage pattern along with comments from others who remember it. It is a great pattern with beautiful lines and yours turned out well especially in that color. Very nice!
11/1/09 11:05 AM
mendospot said...
Thank you for your review. I have lots of old patterns and this is one of them. It helps to see it made up as I have a hard to envisioning these old patterns in the modern day.
11/1/09 10:45 AM
sewtime said...
Beautiful dress! Love the simplicity of the lines and love the color of the fabric.
11/1/09 10:41 AM
marec said...
Somewhere there is a picture of me at age ?13 wearing a similar style and looking oh so sophisticated. :-) Love your dress and the attention to detail you have shown in both construction and the review. Thanks for a trip down memory lane.
11/1/09 9:44 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
11/1/09 9:37 AM
MaryDB said...
What a beautiful dress - it caught my eye right away in the Gallery. My sister made a formal gown (the long view) out of this pattern in gold fabric for a formal dance circa 1966. I agree it's a great pattern. So nice to see it made up again; you did a great job with it.
11/1/09 9:37 AM
DorothyK said...
I agree about the timelessness. It's a lovely pattern and it looks great in the fabric you used. I love the detail in the back.
11/1/09 8:59 AM
kidmd said...
Beautiful dress! The shape and color are lovely.
11/1/09 8:34 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
I ADORE this colour! A classic dress but the clean lines, reads "modern". I would love this dress. Great job.
11/1/09 8:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-114

photo
by: Merche

Review
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

More Info
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

More Info