Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1135 (Chado Ralph Rucci Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 785 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:lizpalmer
photo
About lizpalmerstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 11/16/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/1/09 12:11 PM
Last Updated:11/1/09 12:28 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
Wow - what a gorgeous dress! I admire your persistance in working your way through this. How about modeling it for us?
11/1/09 12:22 PM
no7262 said...
This is so beautiful! You did such a nice job! Nora :)
11/1/09 1:07 PM
ElizabethDee said...
such a treat to read your review and see your detailed pictures on your flickr page. beautiful pattern, beautiful work -- hope you enjoy wearing it even more than you enjoyed sewing it.
11/1/09 1:10 PM
Kay Y said...
I'm so interested to see this made up. Good work! I too would love a picture of you wearing it.
11/1/09 2:06 PM
eugenia123 said...
What an amazing dress! It was clearly a lot of work but definitely worth it. Your construction looks wonderful.
11/1/09 2:20 PM
Barbara V said...
You are a very "adventurous seamstress"! Your dress is stunning and well constructed. Do enjoy wearing it! Great review too.
11/1/09 2:48 PM
Catbird said...
This is an exceptional review and it was so much fun to journey with you through the making of this dress. You really got to me with the description of it as vintage-1940s-Madame Vionnet. I went straight to dreamland. My only gentle complaint is the same as the others who mentioned this: We'd love to see it on you! Something this unusual makes me wish to see it on a human form, so I hope you'll consider adding some new shots to this wonderful review. Thank you -- this was a joy to read.
11/1/09 3:43 PM
lizpalmer said...
Thank you all - I promise I will make myself presentable enough to post some photos of me wearing the dress in the next few days.
11/1/09 3:57 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Congratulations on making such a beautiful and complex dress.
11/1/09 4:02 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
Bravo . . . a job VERY well done! I admire your tenaciousness in tackling such an ambitious project, and am very glad to see the beautiful end result!
11/1/09 4:11 PM
lmg said...
Wow! What a great dress and review. Looks very vintage and couture.
11/1/09 4:22 PM
cmarie12 said...
It is kewl to see this IRL. You did an amazing job on the dress! So glad the experience was a positive one for you!
11/1/09 5:29 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love this pattern, so I'm thrilled to see someone make it and review it. It looks lovely in the pictures, but I can't wait to see it on you.
11/1/09 5:31 PM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely beautiful and what a challenge!
11/1/09 6:11 PM
Patti B said...
I had just read Marcy Tilton's newsletter where she talks about this lovely dress -- and here it is. Beautiful sewing. Can't wait to see it on you too.
11/1/09 6:27 PM
ALY said...
Lovely dress from what I can see in your photos. I had the pattern and the fabric picked out, but hesitated to start this project until I had seen the dress on a real person in a non black color. What with the spiraling tucks and the belt also attached in an upward spiral, I was curious if it looked stange when worn.
11/1/09 7:14 PM
celkalee said...
stunning detail. I suspect the photo;s barely do it justice.
11/1/09 9:59 PM
Athene said...
Lovely attention to detail and wonderful results. When I initially saw this pattern I didn't want to buy it as I had a somewhat similar vintage reproduction Vogue 1011 with a straight hem for wovens. But now after seeing your review I really want to buy this pattern for knits. Thank you for all the great photos showing your careful attention to detail.
11/2/09 0:13 AM
Michele19 said...
Beautiful, congratulations on your achievment you've made a beautiful dress that looks so functional and comfortable that you will want to live in it! Thank you for the excellent and helpful review too!
11/2/09 5:37 AM
fryman said...
you brave soul, You! Terrific.
11/2/09 9:31 AM
Erica B. said...
You did a fabulous job on this dress!
11/2/09 9:56 AM
Margie T said...
Stunning!
11/2/09 5:32 PM
Karine said...
Very impressive! You really did a beautiful job. I hope you love wearing your beautiful dress.
11/2/09 5:34 PM
Ann Smith said...
I just found this review of your incredible dress. I would love to make it but I'm a bit afraid because of all the alterations I need to make. You inspire me.
8/20/10 3:50 PM
AuntieShel said...
OMG, thank you for this very detailed review of this pattern. I loved how you talked about the journey of making this dress and how you sewed slower at the end cuz you didn't want to journey to be over. I had not seen this when you reviewed it, was just checking now to see if it had been reviewed. This is a fabulous dress. Not sure it will be right for me, since I am two different sizes on top and bottom, but so want to try it out. Beautiful dress!! Wonderful review!!
9/9/10 8:30 AM
DorothyK said...
I just noticed this review and am so glad I did. What an amazing job! I will definitely rely on your notes if I ever attempt this pattern. Thank you for the excellent review.
11/3/10 11:57 AM
Gendun said...
Gorgeous, and your work is wonderful, too. :) ! I would LOVE to see this dress on you! Pretty please?
1/13/13 3:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Vogue Patterns 9820
photo
Review by Vintage Ta... on 12/9/13
Read Review

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Amy Butler AB021WT
photo
Review by Ellenatlga on 4/29/08
Read Review

McCalls 6494 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG )
McCalls 6494 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5321 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 5321 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us